We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage Rental - Excellent”
Review of Frewin House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ramelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frewin House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramelton
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night, the main house was booked out so we stayed in the cottage. It was charming, spotless clean & private and would be ideal for a couple with small kids in cots. It really was a private cottage in the middle of the woods and the service from Regina and her family was second to none. The breakfast was delicious and perfectly cooked with a choice of... well... basically anything you like! Top class, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Old, world charm combined with such warm hospitality, set in the most peaceful of settings - perfect for those who appreciate 'standards'! No 5* hotel could compete with the atmosphere offered up by Frewin and the Coyles who own such a devine property.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you have no other reason to visit this pretty little town in County Donegal...go to Frewin for the homemade bread.... Owner, hostess and sublime breadmaker, Regina Coyle also gives an easy and cheerful welcome. A former Victorian rectory turned family house, turned B&B it's a gentle stopover if you're touring one of Ireland's most beautiful counties.
Dinner is optional, and costs extra...but is worth every penny...and of course you get bread to accompany it...while breakfast offers everything you can wish for with that bread again straight from the oven.
The rooms are lovely - the beds comfortable and the bedlinen is the stuff many of us dream about

Room Tip: there are only four rooms, all of them look-out onto the gardens...and all are truly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I cannot think of enough positive comments to make about this outstanding family run premises.I recently passed through Ramelton with 18 ladies on our way to Portsalon.We stopped off at Frewin house for afternoon tea and Regina and her family had laid on the most amazing display of home cooked and baked goods. Regina, her husband and her daughter could not have been more welcoming, and their magnificent rectory provided the perfect backdrop for our 1920's themed gathering. The building itself is oozing with character, yet feels like a home from home as soon as you enter. The gourmet sandwiches, the fluffy victoria sponge, the crumbliest scones and the fruit filled tarts were second to none. We had way too much to eat, and there was still loads left over. From the initial contact with Regina, looking to book afternoon tea, to the warm and inviting reception we received, I cannot speak highly enough of her accommodating, kind and friendly nature. We were all blown away by it all, and many promises were made to return with loved ones and stay some weekend. I personally cannot wait. (photos to follow)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent 3 nights here over Easter. Everything was wonderful. Frewin House is the consummate retreat; cosy rooms full of books and interesting old artefacts. Regina is the perfect hostess, helpful and welcoming but not intrusive. The bedroom was gorgeous and very comfortable. Breakfast was a beautiful spread of fresh fruit, home-made bread and jams, and food cooked to order. We arrived home to a roaring fire every evening in the fabulous living room. We had dinner in Frewin House on our last night, which was a delicious 4-course meal. The nearby Glenveigh Park is a beautiful place to spend a day in, or a drive around the peninsula to Portsalon Beach is equally stunning. I left feeling completely spoiled and totally refreshed. I can't recommend this place highly enough for a romantic, relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: "Glas" is a beautiful big room with a private library attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent a wonderful night in serene surroundings at Frewin House. We were looking for a romantic, relaxing evening and that is what we got. Regina greeted us warmly and once we were shown our lovely bedroom we enjoyed afternoon tea in the library in front of a roaring fire. We were the only guests staying that night. In the evening we were served a delicious 5 course meal in the beautiful dining room lit entirely by candles! The meal was enhanced by the old Irish cutlery, crockery and glassware. Everywhere in the house were interesting antiques and books. If you are looking for a quiet night or two in beautiful surroundings, with a superb (optional) dinner, a great breakfast and the best of hosts, then Frewin House is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank way2go07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My boyfriend took me to Frewin house for a couple of days during the summer and it was fantastic! Regina was amazing and made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was possibly the best breakfast I have ever had! The B&B is in a very quiet area and is ideal if you are looking for a short quiet and relaxing break. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramelton
3.3 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
416 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
399 reviews
13.5 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frewin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frewin House

Address: Frewin Rectory Road, Ramelton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ramelton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramelton
Price Range: £49 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house bed & breakfast accommodation. Frewin is a former rectory and located outside the picturesque village of Ramelton in County Donegal, which is on the Wild Atlantic Way. Frewin comprises 4 double bedrooms, with sitting room, library and dining room for guests plus 2 person self catering cottage in the garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frewin Hotel Ramelton
Frewin House Ramelton, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing