We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an experience to be remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frewin House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ramelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frewin House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramelton
Dublin
1 review
“an experience to be remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Its not often you get the chance to experience a taste of life in the past accompanied with understated profesional service from the present. Frewin is an extraordinary house, full of functional antiquities , unusual features and a wonderful welcome. Congratulations Regina .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthpastor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

This restored rectory on the edge of Ramelton is an obvious labour of love for owners Thomas and Regina. A fondness for antiques, art and books is evident throughout the house. We had a tastefully decorated room with ensuite bathroom and sitting room well-stocked with books. Downstairs there is another library, sitting room and dining room. Breakfast was delicous and the tea we were welcomed with after a days walking was also a lovely touch.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oweydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Wonderful warm welcome followed by tea and treats in front of an open fire in their booked filled library! A book lovers dream! Room was lovely with huge antique bath, with a view out over hills and water. Breakfast in the stunning dining room was amazing, with various fruit dishes on, delicious full breakfasts, porridge, various teas and coffee on offer. The scrambled egg was simply divine and we all sat at one large table which meant we got to chat with fellow guests! Garden was lovely with lot's of mature trees with lovely daffodils. Had interesting conversations with both Thomas and Regina and the provided so much information on the history and culture of the local area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cailin-alainn-rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

Highly recommended! We arrived on a rainy afternoon to a warm welcome and cozy fire. Frewin is beautifully restored and charming without being precious. Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotless. Regina is a lovely hostess, very helpful and knowledgeable about what the area has to offer. Breakfast was as good as you will find. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avoidthebedspread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
326 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2007

My husband and i stayed here in May. Regina greeted us warmly and showed us up to our room. We had windows that looked out over the beautiful garden and yard. Everything was clean and elegant, lovely old antiques,bright cheery rooms, very quiet. Regina made us tea and put out some homemade treats.

The area is very pretty and she recommended a wonderful restaurant by the water.

Breakfast was complete with fruit, eggs, toast coffee etc served in a wonderful dining room on beautiful china.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, comfortable, elegant, good food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2007

I cannot recommend Frewin House highly enough. A beautiful old rectory, lovingly restored and filled with quirky antiques where you're welcomed like a friend, fed delicious and plentiful food, and find a hot water bottle tucked into your bed on a cold night... Some of the most beautiful scenery in Ireland just up the road... Visit and see for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramelton
3.1 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 2 in Rathmullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frewin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frewin House

Property: Frewin House
Address: Frewin Rectory Road, Ramelton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ramelton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house bed & breakfast accommodation. Frewin is a former rectory and located outside the picturesque village of Ramelton in County Donegal, which is on the Wild Atlantic Way. Frewin comprises 4 double bedrooms, with sitting room, library and dining room for guests plus 2 person self catering cottage in the garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frewin Hotel Ramelton
Frewin House Ramelton, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing