We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice victorian house”
Review of Ardeen House

Ardeen House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardeen House
Ranked #1 of 5 Ramelton B&B and Inns
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice victorian house”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have stayed here two nights.
Anne was a helpful host (our tip for dining in Bridge's Bar was very good).
Ardeen house is an old victorian house, with it's pro's and contra's. In the morning, the heating started at 7 o'clock, but this was a litle too late for warming up the bathroom.
All rooms were wonderful decorated.
Breakfast was very good, and the home made scones were delicious.
This was the most expensive B&B, we have done this year on our Donegal -roundtrip. In comparison with the other B&B's, the price/quality -ratio was a little overrated. But, please don't misunderstand me, we have enjoyed our stay here in Ramelton.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank postiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and we were very pleased with our extremely comfortable ensuite room in this lovely home which is located in a quiet area of Ramelton with great views looking out to the river.

Ann and Bert are very gracious and attentive people and the breakfasts they served were delicious. If you are ever in the Ramelton area, make sure you book a room at this delightful B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My husband and I have been staying with Anne & Bert Campbell for over 25years. We visit Ramelton for weekend breaks three or four times a year both winter and summer. We have never been disappointed. The rooms, decorated it traditional style with a country twist, are so comfortable. Anne makes her own scones and cakes and greets guests on arrival with a big pot of tea/coffee and these 'goodies'. In the winter, this is served in her comfy drawing roon beside a roaring fire with glorious views over Lough Swilly. Bert, usually the breakfast cook, is quite flexible regarding serving time. We usually just negotiate this the night before. Breakfast is yummy! Really all the choices you could want complimented by such delights as Anne's own orchard poached plums, homemade preserves, tiny scones and wheaten bread. Village life is easily accessible from Ardeen. A few of our favourites are Conway's Bar - great atmosphere, music & Guinness; The Mirabeau Steak House - kind of 70's nostalga food but fabulous steaks! James McDaid's Wine Bar - again, querky, time-warp 'feel' - but excellent music chosen by James himself - real LPs played - hommage to 60's, 70's, 80's and of course, the Bridge Bar for fabulous bar food and live music. What a great way to spend a few days or even much longer!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterygirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, south africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Beautiful guest house. Fantastic rooms, very comfortable. The breakfasts are to die for. Great place to stay if u want to explore Donegal, nothing is more than an hour away. Anne and Burt were very knowledgeable of the area and gave advice on what to see etc.
I stayed for 10 days amd would recommend it to anyone traveling to Northern part of Eire.

Marius

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marius11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

lovely B & B-clean, handy to town, very nice owners, fantastic breakfast-hope to return very very soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

A real gem. We stayed here on our first night in Donegal and what an excellent start it was. In fact we liked this place so much that we returned for our last night having been very disappointed with Trip Advisor's No 1 Harvey's Point (see our review) and we could not have been more pleased with this decision. This is a Band B with style and sophistication. The rooms are very well designed with an appealing mix of antique furniture and modern soft furnishings. All mod cons are available - good en suites, hairdryers, etc. Our hosts, Anne and her husband, were delightful - warm and helpful. On arrival, there were tea and home cooked goodies in front of a peat-stoked open fire in the lovely drawing room with views over the river. The breakfast was delicious with such special treats as poached plums and home cooked wheaten bread. The dining room has a lovely feel with Irish poetry placemats and beautiful silver pieces finishing it off beautifully. All in all a lovely Irish experience! Great value too. We would also recommend the Bridge Inn in Ramelton for a charming traditional Irish pub (they are harder to find than you might think) with good bar food.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

My first stay at Ardeen House was in Sept. 2005 and traveled back again in Sept. 2008. Ann and Burt are such gracious hosts, it feels like home. The town is small and wonderful and the folks at the Bridge Bar treat you like family after just a couple of visits.
I will definitely return to Ramelton just to stay at Ardeen House and visit nearby Glenveagh.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramelton
0.0 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lennon Lodge
Lennon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ramelton
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeen House

Property: Ardeen House
Address: Ramelton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ramelton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ramelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ardeen House Ramelton, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing