We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Return Again For Sure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carey's Viking House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kincasslagh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Will Return Again For Sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Viking on a Groupon Deal. Last time we enjoyed it that much when we purchased this one we also booked for an additional two nights at the normal rate of 70 euro per night, which is for two people including breakfast. On arrival Maire again checked us in and the welcome friendly with her recognising us from last year. We were given an end room at the back and had no complaints and knew this when booking. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spotless and the electric power shower, great! My only gripe was the bed seemed to be sinking in the middle a tad, but didn't stop me from sleeping. The room was cleaned every day even when we left it late for the staff to do so. WiFi unfortunately wasn't available in the room and appeared to be accessible only downstairs, though wasn't a problem.
We ate in the hotel on the Friday and had the Fish Friday Deal consisting off battered fish and chips followed by apple pie and custard though we asked for ice-cream instead. Fish was cooked perfectly and the apple pie received plaudits from she who must be obeyed. The only downside was for dessert, we had to be moved from the small dining room to the larger, which was packed with kids for a school fundraising project. However, as the food was good we had no complaints. Staff as usual were great and apologised for us having to move.
The bar was good craic and packed for the World Cup Final on Sunday and off course the beer was good.
Pauline and her staff make the hotel what it is, a charming welcoming place to stay with all the comforts of home and spotless too. If room standards and hospitality are maintained, this wee gem in Donegal will be here for a long time to come. We will look forward to our next visit for sure!
Sorry I missed your call to the room Pauline to say goodbye. Hope to see you soon. Trevor and Alison.


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank theblackwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    47
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
122
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for 2 nights with my family and had a marvellous stay. All the staff were extremely friendly from the moment we arrived. The afternoon tea was a nice touch as well, which we enjoyed in beautiful sunshine overlooking the bay.
The setting of the hotel is stunning and you enjoy beautiful walks along the beach and on the surrounding roads.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent. Huge portions and a good variety of items on the menu. Breakfast was also very good with lots of variety and very attentive service.
I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My fiance and I stayed here May 2014 for 2 nights. We have never stayed this far west in Ireland and looking forward to our visit. We weren't disappointed the hotel, Pauline, her staff, the area, the views and food were excellent! The hotel is small but makes it up with the homely atmosphere. A beautiful part of Donegal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

If you want somewhere for stunning views, great food/drink, peace & quiet this is the spot. A drive to the golf club house on Cruit Island is well worth a visit for fantastic views. Its only 12euro for a taxi to Dungloe if your looking for more bars to have a drink it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
352 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a lovely stay in the Viking. A small hotel with a big welcome. Our room was nice size and very clean with a small tv. Didn't worry us but very limited channels if that is what you like. We had sea view and it is spectacular, anytime of day. Bar is very homely and day we stayed was beautiful so we took our drinks outside where there are tables and great views. Had dinner in evening and thoroughly enjoyed it with a nice wine. Breakfast was served to table and a good choice was available. We would have liked to stay a 2nd night but had booked in another area. Only downside if there is one is that roads are a little dangerous to walk and hotel is outside village.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungiven
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights - this hotel was excellent, friendly staff & service & the food was so good ... Before we booked we had asked for a sea view room & that's exactly what we got. Would definitely recommend this hotel & although it was out of the village that's what we wanted, peace & quiet & the views were so lovely overlooking the sea

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet76Dungiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

very good hotel, very clean and excellent staff, great food. comfortable rooms. great base for sight
seening. great views from front rooms. we stayed to 2 nights and were very pleased with the whole experence

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clifford b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kincasslagh
2.7 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
7.0 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
20.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
24.4 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carey's Viking House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carey's Viking House Hotel

Property: Carey's Viking House Hotel
Address: Kincasslagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Kincasslagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kincasslagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carey's Viking House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our 12 bedroom family run hotel situated near the scenic village of Kincasslagh. Formerly owned by International singing sensation Daniel O'Donnell who is native to the area, the hotel boasts stunning panoramic coastal views, overlooking Keadue Strand and the beautiful Cruit Island.With a public bar, excellent restaurant and live entertainment all year round, Carey's is the ideal location for a luxurious break in the gaeltacht area of Donegal. Located by the sea, in one of the most beautiful and scenic regions of Ireland, the Rosses in North West Donegal, Kincasslagh has wonderful beaches, including the blue flag beach at Carrickfinn, sea views, mountain walks, and plays host to the highly successful 'Donegal Shore Festival' and other local festivals like 'Burtonport ' and the 'Mary From Dungloe festival'. If are visiting Donegal in July of this year do not miss the fantastic events as part of the Errigal Arts festivalFor the golfers among you, the hotel is adjacent to Cruit island Golf Club, a stunning and challenging links course. There are also several other golf courses nearby including Gweedore, Cloughaneely, Falcarragh, Dunfanaghy and Narin & Portnoo.Donegal International airport is only a five minute drive from the Viking house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Carey's Viking House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carey's Viking House Hotel County Donegal/Kincasslagh, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing