We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation”

The Old Parochial House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Parochial House B&B
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

No complaints


This accommodation is of a high standard through and through.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated and furnished. Service is friendly and efficient. Breakfast is of a high standard. Overall good value. Very close to An Grainin Hotel which is where we were wedding guests. Only criticism, I don't like signs with the word 'strictly', it's a bit scary!! There's one in the rooms saying 'check out strictly 11am' , a bit too school dorm for paying guests!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clarebradraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here as the hotel where the wedding was was full and the price at the old parochial house was more favourable. Great b and b! Come and go as you please. Was first to arrive so ad choice of room! Shower was fab and breakfast nice! The huge signs about check out strictly atb11am where a but ott but can understand why. Maybe just a remember on check in should suffice. Overall grand place and only 10 min walk from the hotel !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tallulahgorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here after we had a wedding in the An Grainan hotel and it was very close which was great!

Rooms were very clean and well decorated with a real sense of character. Lady owner was friendly and the breakfast the next morning was great. We would definitely stay again if we were at a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Redjed66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here for 1 night, very basic B&B for what they charge. No toiletries supplied no hand towel just 2 big bath sheets that are like rugs. No bottled water in the bedroom. The breakfast was just ok, no fresh fruit or yogurts or a choice of juices. The cooked breakfast was just left down to you whether you wanted it or not, you were never asked what you would like for breakfast or if you were a vegetarian or had dietary needs. Brown and white toast was supplied no brown soda bread so you either had to take what was presented to you or leave it. You weren’t asked if everything was ok or if you needed anything else. Check in time states 3.30pm on the website and check out 12pm (12am is actually on the website!!) but we were told 4pm was the check in time and 11am checkout is plastered all over the place. They would want to update their website to reflect these times. Usually the standard check-in time is after 2pm and check-out time is 12 noon. There is a beautiful hotel beside this bed and breakfast well worth checking it out for accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eirlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

wonderful B&B,we stayed there as we were at a wedding in the area. The lady who owned the B&B made us feel at home immediately.good size room and the decor was tasteful, elegant and spotless. Their little dog was the finishing touch!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vikkireid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Helen and family very welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble, which contributes to a very enjoyable stay. Breakfast room is tastefully decorated, and the view from the windows of the hills and lakes adds to the pleasure of the full Irish breakfast.
The bedroom, with en-suite shower, was very comfortable and relaxing.
The Old Parochial House is within walking distance of an hotel which has a good lunch and evening meal menu.
Nearby are walks to water, and further afield into the hills. Driving would take you further, especially to the ancient fort on the hill.
The best thing about it, is everything. A remarkable place!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bobaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

While on business in Derry, I stayed two weeks at this B+B and I have no hesitation in recommending it to all and sundry.

It is well appointed, clean and with friendly efficient hosts. Definitely a few cuts above the average B+B offering. Whenever in Donegal again, it is my intention to make a beeline to the Old Parochial House for my stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank widows_weeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burt
0.5 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
657 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.4 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
888 reviews
3.1 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
2.4 mi away
Hegarty's B&B
Hegarty's B&B
#1 of 2 in Burnfoot
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Parochial House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Parochial House B&B

Property: The Old Parochial House B&B
Address: Speenogue, Burt, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Burt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Burt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Old Parochial House B&B Burt, County Donegal guests are assured of a comfortable stay in a scenic rural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Parochial House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Parochial House B&B Burt, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing