We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
County Antrim, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on a treat ticket deal. The bedroom was very spacious, clean with a modern bathroom. Had meal at hotel on one of the evenings, which was very tasty with good size portions. Irish breakfast consisted of bacon, sausages, sliced tomato and egg, disappointed it did not include potato and/or soda bread. Staff all very friendly. The road behind hotel leads to Pollan beach where there is a nice walkway. Enjoyed a relaxing break and would be happy to return to the hotel at some future time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. Please contact us directly and we will offer you our best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    99
    36
    18
    14
See reviews for
79
134
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a very pleasant two day mid week break; very friendly staff, well appointed room with a good shower; bar food plentiful and good quality but lacked a bit of flavour; breakfast a bit limited in selection of breads etc. Would definitely consider a revisit as excellent location for walking.

Room Tip: Some rooms at rear of building have a great ocean view but also may overlook the air conditioning un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 821John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We are delighted to read your review. We are centrally located offering great access to the Urris Hills, Pollan Beach and Malin Head for some great walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed there one night and for the price I honestly think you couldn't ask for better.
Clean room, very powerful shower, good nights sleep and breakfast included. Would be back. Was visiting friends, that's why I was there just one night. Was tempted to stay longer but had to go back to work. Car park just out side. Would consider comb back for longer. Stay in second floor at the front, nice room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleDD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
It was great to read your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly strive to offer great value to all of our guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Regardless of negative reviews we had a great stay here. Cleanliness brilliant, service brilliant. Family room could be bigger and I would recommend booking a room at the back. Food was good and reception area was great with fast wfi. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Staff at reception quite cold and unfriendly on check in, rooms dated and old fashioned with stains on sheets, cracked paint on walls and toilet badly needing replaced. Bathroom in general wasn't very clean. No hot water in shower early in the morning. This hotel is obviously out to make money but it really needs a facelift. Breakfast was the only positive here. There are far nicer hotels nearby to stay in for the same price if not less.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryaduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are disappointed to get such negative remarks as it flies in the face of the majority of our reviews. I would be grateful if you would take the time and e-mail me regarding your stay with details of the room you stayed in etc. We take all reviews seriously and certainly we do our best to offer our guests the best service for the best value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife booked this for a weekend break. It was the worst experience I have had in an Irish Hotel in 50 years. The receptionist needs a course in hospitality service. She couldn't care less that nothing in the room worked. The 3 stars must be for a dog home. It was so bad an experience we just left and drove 80 miles home at 11.00 on Sunday night the 13th july. May be ok as a last resort if you were pissed out of your mind And just wanted somewhere to crash. Such a poor reflection on the level of hospitality and service in the other Donegall hotels

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Justgivemeyourmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We are very disappointed to reasd your review and horrified that anyone could experience that at The Strand Hotel Ballyliffin. All of our staff are well aware of their responsibilities and never hesitate to bring any problems to my attention. I would encourage any guest with any concerns to ask to speak to a manager if they feel that their concerns are not being taken seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly adequate.

Nice staff.

Great breakfast.

OK room.

Tired décor including cracked basin in bathroom.

Shower sometimes has a mind of its own in terms of pointing water in the right direction!

Poor quality TV picture in room.

No AC - if you lucky enough to have hot/humid weather.

Location is great but does need a facelift inside soon.

And yes no WIFI.


Some of these issues aren't deal breakers but the cumulative effect is to make this into an average establishment.


Don't pay too much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We have just rewired the Hotel for WI-Fi which will offer all guests coverage throughout the Hotel. We are also addressing the issue of tv reception in some of our rooms. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,873 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
891 reviews
5.3 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: Strand Hotel Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Ballyliffin, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing