We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We regularly go here for the superb Sunday carvery but treated ourselves to an overnight stay on Mother's Day! It's a small hotel, with a homely feel, and very child friendly! My 4 year old had a blast in the play area wif new friends! Rooms are modern and comfortable and immaculate! The spa too is modern and immaculate! Wee had a lovely wee night away! Hav a wedding here in May and really sorry it's fully booked! Had to book the hotel up the road instead!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roz-Lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

Had a fantastic St Patrick's weekend in this hotel and can't praise it highly enough. The hotel itself is gorgeous and looks like it has had a refurbishment. We had a beautiful view of the hills ans the sea. Every member of staff we met from the lovely lady who cleaned our room to the very hard working professional restaurant and bar staff were very friendly and helpful.The management team obviously treat them well. We didn't use any spa facilities or leisure facilities but there were quite a few people on SPA breaks. The food was excellent. We had food in Jack's bar and the restaurant and it was lovely. Everything was a very high standard at breakfast and evening meal times. The service was top notch and the staff could not do enough for you. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break. There is someone playing music in the bar most weekends and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. Its not the place to go if you are looking to party but if you want a quiet, chill out weekends, maybe a game of golf, this is the ideal spot.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for the second floor, as you may hear the music on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buffer2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My Fiance and I have just returned from one of the best vacations we have had in a long time.
when we read on tripadvisor of some of the comments we honestly were a bit weary, but as our friends had stayed here before we decided to go on their recommendations.
when we arrived, we were in shock of how beautiful the hotel actually was, every area of the hotel is immaculate and decorated to a 5* standard not 4*.
As we walked to reception we were greeted by a huge friendly smile from a lady called Jo. As she checked us in, she was friendly and chatty, exactly what you want and explained about the local area and of what was available in house.
we booked for the restaurant that evening as we were too tired to travel.
as our room wasn't ready (@12.30 because our flight was at 6am in Belfast) we sat in the bar and had complimentary tea and scones. At 1pm our room was ready so we headed up. the room was on the first floor and it was beautiful also, spacious modern bathroom and amazing views over the beach and golf course.
Later we wandered down to the bar which was quite busy, but we were welcomed straight away and taken to our table. the menu was plentiful which isn't normally expected from a Table d'hote menu. Starters, Main course and Dessert all delicious and staff were amazing. True believers in hospitality.
we had a few drinks in the bar afterwards while listening to the live music and then went back up to our room for a early night. Our sleep was fantastic, a little warm but a phone call to reception informed us that we can control our own room temperature from inside the room. Perfect, we slept like two babies.
the next morning we arrived for breakfast, your normal continental was there along with you're cooked to order breakfast. everything was what you expected, nothing exceptional but delicious at the same time.
we traveled around the astounding peninsula of Inishowen, Beautiful, Beautiful area, a really must see for everyone, young and old.
Later that evening we got a bit peckish and decided to try somewhere different for a meal. asked a few locals and were told about another hotel in Inishowen to go to, The Harbour Inn Hotel, Absolutely AMAZING. The service was outstanding and the food made you weak. a wonderful place with wonderful surroundings. A must go if ever in the area!!!
as we got back to the hotel, there was a wedding in full force. as we have read on here about noise and of the inconvenience it causes we didn't know what to expect. we went to the bar for a few nightcaps and went up to bed. i myself am a light sleeper and i didn't find this hotel any noisier than others when holding a function, the only difference is, we knew of this in advance!! Again, we slept like two babies.
All in all, we loved this hotel, the staff and the area. Only disappointment is we didn't try out the leisure or spa areas. But there will definitely be another visit, and for longer next time!!
Keep up the good work, this is why people love coming to Ireland on holidays!! xxxx

Room Tip: ask for a sea view, outstanding!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarryJCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I decided that a nice relaxing weekend break in Donegal would be the perfect thing for a short break before the arrival of our first baby in a few months' time.

Our room was at the end of the corridor on the first floor and had an attractive view out towards the sea. The room was very clean with a nice comfortable bed, however, that was as good as our experience would prove to be for the next two nights.

We decided to dine in the hotel on our first evening but unfortunately found the food very bland and the menu itself pretty basic. The burger which I ordered was certainly not home-made and actually really tasteless. Equally, added to the fact that the bun in which it was served was stale and that I had to ask three times for ketchup and vinegar, service seemed pretty poor for a supposed 4 star hotel.

Having made a long journey to get to Ballyliffin, we thought we would make an early night of it so as to be able to enjoy the next day fully.

Much to our disappointment, we were awoken at about 12:30 to the pulsing beat of music from the bar below. We thought it would be likely that music would settle down and come to an end fairly soon. Cutting a long story short, the rest of the night turned into a total nightmare. I rang down to reception at 2:00am to complain that, although having received a notification with our booking that there may be the possibility of evening functions with entertainment, surely there should be a reasonable expectation of guests to be entitled to an atmosphere allowing sleep to be possible by this hour of the night.

The reception was not manned and the phone, despite ringing for a long time, was not answered. 3:00am passed and my wife and I felt awful. Despite being reluctant to do so, I ventured downstairs to see if I coud find a night manager or member of staff to register my unhappiness and frustration. There was no sign of any such member of staff being on duty and when I entered the packed bar, a drunken crowd of revellers were in full song to the ongoing medley of party tunes being belted out by the band. When I asked the bar manager when he expected the 'entertainment' to wrap up since we were totally prevented from getting any sleep, he simply shrugged his shoulders and obviously seemed amused by our situation!!

I am sure that the hotel was in breach of its licence playing loud music and serving drink this late into the night to local, non-resident customers. I was tempted to give the Gardaí a bell but for the fact that I'm sure they know all about the hotel from what I can tell from other unhappy reviews and must be quite happy to turn a blind eye to this!

The racket continued until 3:45am and noise followed outside until well after 4:00am with noisy, drunk, local customers being collected by taxis. The next morning, following breakfast, I complained to the receptionist about our ordeal and demanded that we be given the choice of another room on the 2nd floor since more 'entertainment' was planned for our second night's stay. She made no attempt to offer us an apology but reluctantly agreed to allow us to relocate to another room on the floor above.

Unbelievably, the noise once again woke us at about midnight, however, and continued until 2:30am!! We left for home the next day exhausted!! The sound proofing in this hotel is pathetic but only matched by the attitude of the management and some of the staff of the hotel. Overall, it is not a 4 star hotel and obviously places greater value on its hard all day and all night drinking local customers than its guests and residents from much further afield!!

DO YOURSELF A BIG, BIG FAVOUR AND DO NOT STAY AT THE BALLYLIFFIN LODGE AND SPA.. A REAL DISAPPOINTMENT!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ernesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ballyliffin Lodge. I am quite disappointed to note that your experience was not to your satisfaction.
We have two menus available in Jacks with over 25 different main courses to choose from so I am shocked to hear you found this pretty basic, I can assure you our burgers are homemade in house daily and receive so many compliments so I am quite surprised that you found yours tasteless , the bun itself is toasted slightly to warm it up before serving and this may have been mistaken for stale, however the poor service you received while dining was totally unacceptable, we were extremely busy over the St Patrick’s weekend but service should not have been compromised and will certainly be addressed with the food and beverage department.
Your expectations of an atmosphere to enable a peaceful sleep are not unreasonable and I am truly sorry that the noise from our function over the weekend disrupted your sleep. We had a fundraiser for local schools which attracted a lot of locals and a full house of residence so the hotel was particularly busy last weekend.
There is a night porter on duty after the receptionist leaves in the evening that carries a portable phone on him at all times so I am surprised that you were unable to get an answer when you were ringing, sometimes if they are vacuuming they are unable to hear the phone so perhaps this is what happened but I will certainly investigate this with the night porter on duty over the weekend. We have a duty manager on duty also who should have been contacted by the staff member you approached in the bar and a shrug of the shoulders is absolutely unacceptable. If management were alerted to your issues we would have done our absolute best to ensure you were looked after and I can only apologies that you did not receive the treatment expected from our staff.
The following morning our reception team were able to accommodate your request of a room move and an offered an apology, they were not informed of the detail mentioned in your review and had they been made aware of this we would have arranged our duty manager to meet with you immediately to discuss your issues.
I would like to apologies most sincerely for any distress caused to you at the ballyliffin lodge as we continuously strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations on a daily basis and I am sorry to learn that we have not succeeded in this instance.
I would like to assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and will be addressed in-house immediately.
I accept your reservations about returning to Ballyliffin Lodge but we would most certainly appreciate an opportunity to redress the negative impression garnered on this occasion. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We were in The Ballyliffin Loge and Spa for a wedding. We stayed the night before and the night of the wedding. Both the hotel and the Spa were fantastic. Staff were amazing and the food was unbelievable. 260 dinners for the wedding and food was piping hot and plentiful. Great job to the staff... We'll be back.

Fiona and John Brennan NY.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDBL, Customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Fiona and John, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time here with us and that your wedding meal was unbelievable! We strive to deliver excellent quality food and service here at the Ballyliffin lodge and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again in the near future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Playing peekaboo was not something we had anticipated when visiting the Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel in Donegal for the second time on a Groupon deal.
A free upgrade to one of the hotel's superior rooms was a bonus, but the sea, sand and rolling hills were not the only view we had!
For the location of our room was such that the honeymoon suite jutted out to our immediate right and had a window which gave the occupants a complete view of our bed - not something that we particularly wanted.
A call to reception to outline our concerns prompted a very quick response with offers of other rooms, but we liked where we were and opted to stay since the suite was unoccupied on our first night.
Next day a couple booked into the suite and we couldn't resist peeping out of our window to see if our neighbours were doing the same - a cat and mouse game that didn't cause either any issues - at least nothing was said to indicate otherwise.
A simple net curtain was suggested for our room which would prevent any potentially embarrassing situations. Our kindly receptionist said she would bring our suggestion to the management for consideration.
Having said all that, the Ballyliffin Lodge still figures high on our list. It's clean, has atmosphere and the food is excellent. We gave it the thumbs up last time and do so this time. The view issue was not something that would put us off, but if you get a chance to stay in room 117 you'll get the picture - but not too clearly!

Room Tip: Don't avoid room 117, but watch the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDBL, Customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that the i location of your bedroom did not deter you from enjoying your stay with us recently. I am glad our receptionist was able to assist you promptly with your issue and she has certainly brought this matter to our attention which we will,look into addressing. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

stayed two nights in ballyliffin lodge and would highly recommend,the service, great staff and spacious clean rooms all added up to make it a great stay .excellent menu and really good value. fantastic leisure facilities would most definately go back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lol82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDBL, Customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your great comments on trip advisor, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
379 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
336 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
935 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing