We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here over the weekend for a wedding....check in was speedy and pleasant, room was nice and spacious although a mini bar would have been nice....have to say the food in the wedding reception was fantastic, piping hot! A gem of a hotel and would recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalaa438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend with us at the wedding you attended and to hear that your food and service was good.
Our staff will be delighted with your feedback, thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    198
    77
    35
    24
See reviews for
257
418
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We called to the Ballyliffin Lodge on the bank holiday Monday for cream teas with our Canadian visitors. We ordered 4 cream teas. The tea arrived long before the scones. When we went to pour the tea we discovered the cups were dirty and chipped. The milk jug wasn't very clean either and there was a few things floating on top of the milk. Needless to say we didn't stay. As we were leaving the girl arrived with the scones which did look lovely. It was very disappointing and not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank docs186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent visit to the hotel. May I please extend our most sincere apologies for the problems encountered during your visit. There is no excuse for chipped and dirty crockery or the delay in serving your scones. I will certainly follow up on the issues raised with our restaurant manager as I can assure you this is not the normal high standards we provide here at the Ballyliffin Lodge. I hope that this occasion does not put you off returning to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a really great meal here after our daughters communion in Jacks. 36 adults and kids. Fab food and excellent service. Bravo too on atmosphere. we were here for a wedding over the Festive Season and again in March for a meal and both of those prompted us to book for the Communion. Did not disappoint and really good value. Will be back. TLH

Room Tip: Never stayed here but my family have and reports are really positive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing the Ballyliffin Lodge and Spa to celebrate your daughter’s communion. I am delighted to hear you all had a lovely day here with us on this occasion and for the wedding you also attended. Your compliments on our food and service are most appreciated and thank you for sharing them on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Best Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Went to Jacks the evening of our daughters communion day. 36 of us in all...kids and adults. Can't fault the food or the service at all. So well fed and looked after. Top class and very good value. Had been to a wedding over festive season and then again for a meal in March. All really fab. Would recommend for big and small gatherings.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TLH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Many Thanks for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. It is fantastic to read your lovely comments on your recent family celebration with us. Our staff will be delighted with your feedback. Thank you for choosing the Ballyliffin Lodge to celebrate your daughters communion and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the not too near future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed our break at Ballyliffin, staff were welcoming and hotel was immaculate. Unusually for Donegal we got fantastic weather and the scenery and walks were outstanding. Evening meal was very enjoyable although we both felt breakfast was limited in range and also a bit cramped for seating. Overall a lovely stay and would recommend even though we felt a bit on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to suite to get room with a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Ballyliffin Lodge and Spa and also for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that your evening meal was an enjoyable experience. I am sorry that you felt the breakfast was limited and a little cramped and I will pass your comments onto our restaurant manager. It is fantastic to read that you would recommend our hotel and we would be delighted to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back from staying here for 2 nights for a friends wedding. Room was ready when we checked in, good sized room & bathroom & the view was amazing. Ate in jack's the first night, food was great, breakfast was also good both mornings. Used the swimming pool etc everything was very clean. The wedding went very smoothly & all the staff where great help, the wedding meal was beautiful, couldn't fault a thing. Great to have a late checkout at 12pm as most hotels you have to be out earlier. Weather was amazing & the hotel & staff where also great.
Will be back again soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear guest,
Many Thanks for you taking the time to post your lovely review on your recent two night stay with us. I am delighted to read your kind comments on our food, and facilities. It is an added bonus to have good weather as we are so fortunate to have such beautiful scenery here in Ballyliffin. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we attended a wedding there great staff food and customer service would like to stay there next time.location is beautiful would recommend this hotel to anyone sorry I could not get a room as it was fully booked.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brassderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on the wedding you attended recently. I am delighted to receive such great feedback on our food and service. I am sorry that we were not able to accommodate you as we were fully booked but we would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in the hotel so you can experience the full Ballyliffin Lodge experience.
Best Wishes from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing