We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We got a great deal on a 3 day break at Ballyliffin Lodge with B&B and evening meals. Quality of food was very good, with a particularly good choice of breakfasts, and rooms were well fitted out with great beds and an excellent shower. The leisure facilities were included and we used the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
The staff were very friendly and always keen to help and offer advice.
This was our first visit but we will certainly be back again.
Plenty to see and do in area with some great natural scenery.
Only down side was poor wi-fi signal in bedroom although excellent on ground floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments on our staff and our facilities.. It is always lovely to welcome new guests to the hotel and wonderful to read that you will return again in the future. We appreciate the importance of a strong wi-fi signal for our guests and we continue to ensure a good signal in all areas of the hotel Apologies if this was not the case on your visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The ballyliffen hotel was a last minute stay and proved to be a great night with the location near Malin etc.
The surroundings and the staff were professional, the food was lovely.
We didn't get use if the spa but the ballyliffen area was great craic for a night of entertainment.

We will be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyO65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your recent review. It’s wonderful to hear that you had a lovely time in the hotel and surrounding areas. We are blessed to be located in the beautiful Inishowen peninsula so close to Malin Head, and we are delighted that you experienced the craic agus ceol while you were here. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just back from 3 night break was great value. Hotel is lovely, great location, we had a sea view room was just lovely very comfortable. The food was first class and the staff all are very friendly nothing was too much trouble.Will be back.Very happy to recommend this hotel and the location is good plenty of places of interest to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48MrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your lovely comments on trip advisor. We are delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We pride ourselves in our food quality and friendly staff and we will certainly pass on your positive comments to the teams. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Got a great offer of 2 nights B&B 2 dinners and a cream tea on arrival . Great check in, room much better than expected. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast . Would be happy to recommend this hotel and to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLodge10, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Your compliments are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just arrived home after having an excellent meal here.Collum was our
Waiter, he was extremely pleasant and very informative when we asked a few questions about the sunday buffet etc.Collum is a young pleasant guy and certainly an asset to your hotel, how lovely if all the hotels had one like him.We will certainly be back.He also should be praised and appreciated by the management

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marion m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Marion,
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to read your kind comments on our food, hotel and staff member Collum. I will ensure he receives your feedback.
I hope to welcome you back soon. Best Wishes from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here over the weekend for a wedding....check in was speedy and pleasant, room was nice and spacious although a mini bar would have been nice....have to say the food in the wedding reception was fantastic, piping hot! A gem of a hotel and would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalaa438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend with us at the wedding you attended and to hear that your food and service was good.
Our staff will be delighted with your feedback, thanks again and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We called to the Ballyliffin Lodge on the bank holiday Monday for cream teas with our Canadian visitors. We ordered 4 cream teas. The tea arrived long before the scones. When we went to pour the tea we discovered the cups were dirty and chipped. The milk jug wasn't very clean either and there was a few things floating on top of the milk. Needless to say we didn't stay. As we were leaving the girl arrived with the scones which did look lovely. It was very disappointing and not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank docs186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent visit to the hotel. May I please extend our most sincere apologies for the problems encountered during your visit. There is no excuse for chipped and dirty crockery or the delay in serving your scones. I will certainly follow up on the issues raised with our restaurant manager as I can assure you this is not the normal high standards we provide here at the Ballyliffin Lodge. I hope that this occasion does not put you off returning to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
138 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
339 reviews
10.9 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
950 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range: £80 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing