We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tranquil Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Tranquil Location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have stayed several times in the past year and always been allocated a wonderful room - even the bridal suite on one occasion although we have been married for 28 years!! I would recommend a beauty treatment in the spa for relaxation before a cocktail in the bar prior to dinner...My husband and I are always looked after and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
There is also a fab little bar called the Rusty Nail just a few miles away near the Waterfall...worth a visit...and the magnificent beach is fab for a walk or run if you are feeling more energetic!!

Room Tip: Front and corner rooms have sea-views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eldautd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments and it is always great to welcome return guests to the hotel. I am delighted that on this visit you got to experience our luxurious Spa area. It is indeed very relaxing and tranquil. Thank you also for your kind comments for the staff. The teams will be delighted, as Customer Care is so important to us all here at the Ballyliffin Lodge. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    198
    77
    35
    24
See reviews for
257
418
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel screams luxury, from the setting to the rooms to the spa. The decor is amazing throughout. I cannot fault the food or the breakfast (staff here extremely helpful). 3/5.. why? A few reasons.. reception staff need lesson in customer service (especially their phone manner), very unfriendly and in my opinion untrained, (were unsure about questions I had regarding a travel cot). The rooms have no air con & are terribly warm (ask for a fan!). As well as this be careful if you are staying here with a family. There are hidden costs, €15 extra for additional child over age of 5, which is NOT clearly stated online. Another surprise I got was when I rang reception for a small jug of milk to be brought to the room for my baby's bottle and was told it would be a €5 charge! Things like this bring down my estimation of what should be a great hotel instead making it one of pretentiousness. I was very disappointed with my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms very warm so ask for fan. Watch out for all those hidden costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we will certainly take on board all of your comments as we never like to read that a guest has been very disappointed with their stay. Apologies if you were unaware of the cost for children before your arrival and our reservations team will review our booking system to ensure that this is made clearer for future guest bookings. Regarding the room charge cost for milk delivery this was indeed an error of information. We off course like all hotels have a charge for the delivery of a meal to a room however we would not apply a charge for the delivery of a jug of milk as your request was. We do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
260 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

the check in process was made very uncomfortable by a aloof and almost rude front desk staff...the staff the next day was much better. upon our dinner the restaurant staff seemed to have the same uppity and short attitude? totally baffled me why they had all the michelin stars with such rude service....however, the food was amazing, and we had dinner on the next night and mari, the waitress, restored our goodwill and faith in irish hospitality....great location, but room was soooo hot!!! we got a fan but it truly was uncomfortable before that...and very "claustrophobic" with dark walls, dormers, etc...pool attendant on first night was lovely, second visit, different lady must have attended the same "rude rules" seminar...sheesh

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest, We are disappointed to read that our front of house staff in all areas of the hotel did not meet with your approval. All our staff are highly trained in customer care and highly experienced in face to face customer interaction. We are regularly complimented on our staff’s friendliness which we are delighted with and we are sorry that you didn’t seem to experience this on your visit. I will pass on your positive comments to Mari. Thank you for your review and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Attended a wedding here with over 240 guests to have a 5 course meal. The wedding reception area was well done and nothing out of place. Staff were attentive and good and no delays at all in the meal service. The food was good with good portions and served promptly, no waiting for veg etc once your plate was placed in front of you. The hotel provided adequate staffing levels to deal with the large numbers and were really good. The bar staff were also quite good and no delay in service and reasonably priced also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable day at a recent wedding reception here in the hotel. I will certainly pass on all your lovely comments to our wedding team. They will be delighted that all aspects of the wedding reception were giving such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future whether it be for a wedding reception or a leisure break. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.donegal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Well where will I start beautiful hotel cannot fault it only the bar service really needs to be addressed here.. I found when entering the bar and on approaching the counter to get a drink I felt like I needed neon lights around my head to get noticed ...i feel that the staff have not had the proper training here , as no eye contact what so ever was receive from any of the bar staff which is not good practice working in this area. This is by no way an insult to anyone working here but I think it's up to management to send you all on a course smile guys it's free

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank polly068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We welcome all feedback as this is the only way we can improve our service to you the customer. It is disappointing to read that you did not receive the normally very high standard of customer care in our Bar area. We do hope that you will visit in the future and give us the chance to rectify the service you received on your last visit. Best Regards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for a friends wedding recently and had a lovely stay. The hotel is a lovely wedding venue and everything about the wedding was perfect. Rooms were large, clean and well furnished. Drinks are also very reasonably priced for a 4 star hotel. Staff very friendly too. This hotel is a little more expensive than others in the area but worth every penny. We stayed in the ballyliffin hotel down the road on our seconds nights stay as the lodge was booked up and it was dirty and horrible. Would highly recommend the ballyliffin lodge both as a wedding venue and for a relaxing luxury escape!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank valeriegardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and we are delighted that your recent visit with us was an enjoyable one. We are very proud of the Wedding service provided at the hotel and it is always lovely to read positive feedback from the wedding receptions. Thank You and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have to say this hotel is fab, the food was amazing and the staff were all so helpful. I would like to give Helen a mention in the restaurant as she was so friendly and nothing was a problem to her. Our room was so spacious even with two adults and three children in it and the view of the beach and surrounding area were amazing. I would like to thank everyone who made this holiday a memorable one and we will definately be back hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regencyhote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a wonderful review. Family holidays are so important, and as a family run hotel we are delighted that your holiday with us this summer is one that makes you want to return in the future. We appreciate the importance of spacious rooms for our families and we are delighted that you found them adequate for a family of 5. Look forward to your return and Best Wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing