We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house, perfect location, perfect weekend!”
other travellers have booked this property
Harbour Cottage on the Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour Cottage on the Beach
Cottage in perfect location beside harbour, beach and rock pools Another stress-free day in Portnoo !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Harbour Cottage on the Beach
Cottage in perfect location beside harbour, beach and rock pools
Another stress-free day in Portnoo !
Sitting-room with wood burning stove and magnificient views
Panoramic views from sitting room
Games/dining area with views out to sea. Full-size table tennis table and selection of board games
kitchen with all mod-cons
Seating area in kitchen
Bedroom number 2 with wash hand basin
Harbour with cottage in the background
Access to cottage from harbour/beach
Harbour with cottage in background
Cottage on left,  beach and harbour
View of harbour from patio
View from garden
Jumping off harbour wall!
Patio area
Portoo sailing club
Sailing
Front of cottage
View from the cottage
Ever changing colours in Portnoo - a painter's paradise!
Ready for a days sailing
View from sea of Harbour Cottage
Jumping off harbour wall!!
Sunset at back of Harbour
Sitting area overlooking the Harbour and Beach with Inishkeel and Narin beach in distance
Lounge
Sitting Area
Lounge ovelooking Harbour and Inishkeel Island
Lounge and Patio area outside
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen and Dining area
Conservatory overlooking Narin Beach
Bathroom
Bedroom with view over Harbour
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Family Bedroom sleeping up to 5 persons
Bedroom
Bedroom
Hall Way
View over looking bay
Patio area of Cottage over looking the beach & harbour
Conservatory at rear of house , great for late sunshine
Harbour Cottage bottum left
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Narin-Portnoo, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cathy c
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect house, perfect location, perfect weekend!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is perfect in every way. It is situated on the beach and it is huge! We were a little worried as sometimes you cannot rely on the weather in Ireland, however we didn't need to be as we had everything we could have needed plus more! We had enough dinnerware to feed a family of 50, there were spare towels in the hotpress, we had a table tennis table that was great fun, dvds, dvd player, a bbq, a beautiful stove that heated the living room in minutes and numerous water sports equipment. The house is so spacious (you can play table tennis in it) yet so homey and has the quirky beach theme. The location of the house is unbelievable, I have never stayed on a house that is right on the beach. Even though the weather wasn't sunny we still got in for a swim and went down to the rockpools. I always thought holidays required going away on a plane to a hot country, however I have now realised that a perfect holiday is in Portnoo at the Harbour Cottage. I will definitely be returning every year! It is great for all ages which is an extra bonus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it was perfect
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marleoin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adrienne ”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a fabulous week in harbour cottage Portnoo. This holiday was perfection for us all. The location of the cottage is ideal for families with children of all ages as the small beach is on your doorstep and scenery to die for! We were a 3 family group, children ages ranging from 6 to 17yrs and this cottage suited us all. Our 3 6yr olds thought it was their own private beach! The cottage is big and spacious. The ping pong table was amazing. And on a rainy day the view inspired the artists in us to paint at the big table. The kitchen has everything you need to make culinary feasts every night, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher and even a wine/beer fridge to top it off. I loved the beach house feel and decor. The beds and bedding were plump and cosy. There is even a small sunroom at the back if you want 5 minutes peace. The kids found a games cupboard stocked with games, books an array of things for quiet time. This house certainly met all our expectations and more. We've already booked for next yr.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Reunion in Portnoo - a cottage with mind blowing views!”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was the most amazing vacation get away accommodation!!! I remembered this cottage when I was a young boy vacationing here with my family. As I had not been home in a number of ears I thought that this would be the perfect location for a family reunion. The cottage is perfectly located in the most idyllic harbour and also sleeps many!! The beach is beautiful and sandy with rock pools all perfectly located at the bottom of the steps for the kids and anyone keen enough for a dip.

But the views from the sun room are to die for!! Constantly changing before your very eyes!

We spent the days going for walks down to Narin or around to Rosbeg. But the house is fully kitted with games and table tennis to keep everyone occupied when the occasional shower passes through.

Great bar down at Narin or not a a very long drive into Ardara to find Nancy's and some live Irish music.

Morgans at the top of the road has not changed at all. Best general store covering fresh gorgeous foods to post office!!

Cant say enough about this place!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lrc1974
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing place to stay with a great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic location. Amazing views. Comfortable, spacious and well equipped cottage. Great for small children given proximity to the harbour beach. A really relaxing getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaneenD2
1 review
“Lovely location but few problems”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived and were greeted by someone painting the property. The painter was well mannered and chatty but he stayed most of the day and this really wasnt the start to the holiday I wanted.

There were a few other issues and I coulnt contact the owner agent on any of the 3 numbers I tried. Took the painter to ring his boss, who turned out was also the agents boss to het through.

the property needs some tlc inside. More importantly it clearly hadnt been cleaned before we arrived. There were half eaten ice cream cartoons, partially melted onto the fridge. The dishes and cutlery were in a very poor state and all needed washed before use.

The above said this is a lovely secluded area. If you want nice iriah hospitality avoid the local pub and check out the golf club

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marvellous location and lovely house”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a superb week. The location is wonderful, we had breakfast looking out over the sea with the mountains in the distance. The house is very comfortable, homely and well equipped. It was perfect for a family renunion. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfort and wonderful views from the house
Liked least: nothing I can think of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage, location and friendly people.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here with 3 generations of family. The cottage was perfect for us and location being right on the beach was amazing. Great fun was had by the adults jumping off the pier at high tide while the youngsters could search the rock pools and build sandcastles. There were good walks around the headland and to the massive beach 10 mins walk away. The cottage was equipped to a very high standard both with bedding and in the kitchen. The table tennis table was a real bonus as were the board games and books for adults and children. Altogether there was nothing more needed to have a great holiday and we would have no problem recommending this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing