We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique,peaceful and uplifting.”
Review of The Phoenix B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix B&B
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My father and I recently had a wonderful experience staying here for a few nights. We were treated to great hospitality from our host Lorna and her family/staff with delicious produce grown in their magical garden,home baked goods,local artisan cheeses and eggs. An unforgettable stay in what felt like a home from home in a beautiful part of the world!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived in the rain to this creative and colourful sanctuary with meandering meadow groves, an Aladdin's cave approach to decor and a feast of culinary delights that feed all the senses. The staff were full of smiles in an informal way that smacked of sincerity and a gentle and welcoming atmosphere pervaded the place as we tentatively began our explorations of the grounds. We stayed in a gypsy caravan which, needless to say, was ridiculously romantic; a world away in itself. For the sake of critical balance, I will say that the caravan was a wee bit damp and the shower may have needed more time on the immersion but all in all we had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who enjoys a wee bit of variety whilst on the road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari_Clare7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

we stayed with Lorna over a long w/ end. it was our first w/ end away since our twins had been born (we also have a two year old) and it turned out to be a lovely trip. Lorna made us feel very welcome and we immediately loved The Phoenix. The breakfast was amazing and dinners were lovely, too, so good in fact, that we bought two copies of Lorna's cook books! Cannot recommend it high enough, we'll definitely be back.There's also plenty to do in the area with Dingle and Inch Beach only a short drive away.

Room Tip: we stayed in the sun-room (family room) and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in late October whilst sightseeing & visiting the fantastic Knocknagoshel halloween festival. It's a perfect location for visiting the Ring of Kerry & the Dingle peninsula & it's a very beautiful part of the world, the sunsets and mountains are stunning. Unfortunately we left our car-hire arrangements so late that all the cars were booked for our first day, but Lorna & her family were so helpful & generous in giving us a lift back from the nearest town & in again the next day to pick up our car, even though they were really busy with guests & preparing food for the restaurant & daily farmer's markets. Like the other reviewer said, the food at the Phoenix is amazing, we ate there every night and even shoehorned in a trip to one of the farmer's markets they were at as we knew we'd be sure of a good lunch too. It's a lovely, informal relaxed kind of place & excellent value - the breakfast there would set you up for most of the day and they'll go out of their way to cater for all dietary requirements. We look forward to staying again sometime.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank nasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband & I just stayed at the Pheonix B&B for three nights during our 2 week tour of Ireland. It was absolutely one of the highlights of our trip. The accommodation itself is unlike any place you will ever stay. the most unique property with an eclectic but tasteful decor, almost like a mini-museum or walk-in treasure chest, surrounded by beautiful grounds full of secret gardens & hidden alcoves. and ohhhhmygod: THE FOOD!!! i truly felt nourished and inspired by the amazing food! my husband & I are vegans and we expected a rough time finding decent meals in Ireland... if we had known how wonderful the food was at the Phoenix, we would have booked our entire trip there. great for omnivores too! we even picked up a copy of their cookbook. Lorna and Jane (Jean?) were wonderful, i really cant say enough about what a special place this is. and the location is ideal if you are spending some time doing the Ring of Kerry, Killarney, Dingle Peninsula, etc. A welcome break from the touristy, party cities we visited, like Dublin & Galway. -Alicia & Jack from L.A.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank littleveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bednarz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemaine
0.4 mi away
Brigadoon House
Brigadoon House
#1 of 1 in Shanahill East
11 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Anvil Bar
The Anvil Bar
#1 of 1 in Boolteens
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View B & B
Mountain View B & B
#1 of 4 in Castlemaine
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Castlemaine House
Castlemaine House
#2 of 4 in Castlemaine
17 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tom & Eileen's Farm
Tom & Eileen's Farm
#1 of 3 in Castlemaine
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix B&B

Address: Shanahill East, Castlemaine, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlemaine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Castlemaine
Price Range: £65 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Phoenix B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing