We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming tropical beachside retreat”
Review of Casa Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Laguna
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming tropical beachside retreat”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent B & B in an isolated location right by the beach outside a small coastal town in Panama, owned and operated by an engaging young Italian couple.

The guest rooms, and the rest of the house (as far as one could tell), are modern, well-designed and solidly-built, and have evidently been furnished at some expense. Everything works perfectly -- not always the case in Panama. The place is clean and well-kept. Inevitably, there are various lizards and insects hopping and flying about -- this is the tropics.

Dinner was terrific. Beautifully prepared pasta, gorgeous desserts, excellent wine -- all produced by Mary with minimal apparent effort, as if it was the easiest thing in the world to whip up a fabulous meal in such an out-of-the-way spot. And shame on the reviewer below who complained about the price -- it was very reasonable.

The last portion of the drive, after you turn off the paved road, is rough and potholed. You don't necessarily need a four-wheel drive, though. We managed, albeit slowly and carefully, in our rented Yaris. It might be a bit stickier further into the rainy season. But the isolation and quiet are part of the charm.

The beach is about 50 yards away -- a short walk across an undeveloped lot. There's a huge difference between high and low tide. At high tide the waves break against the sandbank where the oceanfront properties start, and there's barely room to walk along the beach. There's also quite a lot of ocean debris and trash that gets washed up. By low tide the scene is much more picturesque; the water has receded about 100 yards, and there's a vast expanse of clean sand -- pretty much deserted on the morning we spent there. The ocean is warm -- perfect for swimming.

Playa Las Lajas is a great place to break the journey if you're driving to Boquete. It's also pretty close to the little airport at David. If you're planning a visit, Casa Laguna is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NameAlreadyTaken75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
87
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a short, restorative break in the middle of an otherwise very active stay in Panama. Mary and Michele (and Mary's mom, who helped run the place over her summer vacation) are lovely, friendly, people who want nothing more than to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for each and every guest. They speak excellent English, as well as Italian and Spanish.

The breakfast food was delicious, the room very clean, and the grounds--including rancho, hammocks, and laguna dock--were stunning. The beach--vast, heavenly, and often empty--is about 200 meters from your bed. Just a 20 minute drive from Cruce de San Felix.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of the Las Lajas area, and this B&B makes that feeling even better. The room was spacious and clean with a great design. We enjoyed relaxing in the back patio in the many hammocks they have. Remember to bring bug spray as the mosquitos are rough. The food was excellent and the dinners also come highly recommended. My girldfriend and I had a nice time there, even though the skies were cloudy.

Room Tip: In the dry season (January to March) book this in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This place is really great. It is very familiar and you feel really welcome there. The owner Mary tries everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The original italian food (prepared by Mary's mother) was delicious. If you are looking for a quite and relaxing place to stay, you will not regret it. Only disadvantage is, that it is a bit away from everything, so no restaurants or bars reachable by foot. Either way, a clear recommendation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a very relaxing 3-night stay at Casa Laguna in July 2014. Maria is a wonderful host, she is very attentive and helpful without being intrusive. The front patio is where the owners and their family tend to be, and the back patio is for guests. There are lovely areas to sit outside and the rooms have their own air conditioners. It is very open and welcoming; the owners are around and available for whatever you need and very easy going. The breakfast was great, and the dinners were delicious. $10 per person is a good price for the area.

The B&B isn't directly on the beach, but it's basically across the street. You just need to walk though a plot of land to get there. The beach that Casa Laguna has access to is quite far from the "main" area of the beach with public access and offers long stretches of beautiful scenery with few other people around. The pool at Casa Laguna is also nice. This is the ultimate relaxing getaway.

We really enjoyed our stay here and hope to come back!!

Room Tip: We had room #2 and it was exactly as it appeared on the pictures. They keep things very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pico427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great stay in Casa Laguna. The Location is beautiful and the owners are super friendly. The breakfast was very delicious as well as our BBQ in the evening beforw. Unfortunately we were only for one night. Next Panama trip we will definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Las lajas is a lovely long long beach and casa laguna is the place to stay.If you like a long beach all to yourself this is the place .Maria and Mike are perfect host and their location next to the lagoon is very nice .You will be surprised by the quality of their meal and you will have fun talking with Maria and Mike they really love their place and you will to.During the week the beach is very quiet their is a small beach bar pretty close if you want to have a beer on the beach their burger and fish is pretty good .Their is also a bigger hotel on the beach where you could supper at night for a change but after trying it whe came back to casa lagana for our last night supper.I will surely be back to casa laguna, thank you Maria and Mike (Michele)

Room Tip: Whe really loved the room with the private entry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisp967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Las Lajas
24.5 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
504 reviews
24.6 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Las Lajas Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hospedaje y Restaurante Refugio Tropical las Lajas
Hospedaje y Restaurante Refugio ...
#3 of 3 in Playa Las Lajas
4 reviews
6.9 mi away
Naturalmente Boutique Bungalows
0.9 mi away
Journey L&C
Journey L&C
#3 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna

Property: Casa Laguna
Address: Calle Educadores, Playa Las Lajas, Las Lajas 00507, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Las Lajas > Playa Las Lajas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Las Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Laguna is located in the amazing Playa Las Lajas, in Chiriqui, the greenest and most fascinating province in the Republic of Panama. It is just 100m (350ft.) From the Pacific Ocean and it is in front of an enchanting lagoon surrounded by mangroves and rich wildlife. You can reach the beach through a path just in front of our main entrance, but if you wish to enjoy peace&relax in our marvellous laguna we have a small pier with gazebo for a unique laguna experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Panama/Playa Las Lajas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing