We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate and close to ancient sites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mrauk Oo Nawarat Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mrauk U
Essex
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate and close to ancient sites”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Within easy walking distance of Shitthaung (80000 buddha) Temple and other ancient sites. Also well located for day trips further afield, although distances covered are extremely time consuming. From Mrauk U to the Maha Muni temple it is only 21 miles but will take at least 2 hours each way without stops due to road conditions. Very bumpy and dusty. So hotel was ideal to return to after a full days touring. Hot water was always available, if you get a room with an AC Milan mat then the A/C worked but was very noisy, thankfully it cooled down in the evenings so it wasn't required at night. After sunset each evening up Shithill (you'll see and smell why we named it this) next to Shitthaung Temple, we were both to tired to venture far so ate in the hotel and the food was excellent ever time, ordering was entertaining and beer was cold. There is a recommended restaurant (Moe Cherry) about 200 yards along a poorly light road as an alternative but we did not try it. Unfortunately we only had 3 nights here, longer is advised so that your visits are not rushed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merl1n2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    17
    13
    2
See reviews for
6
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Your choices in Mrauk U are pretty limited, but the Narawat, while basic, is a good place to hang your hat while touring this unusual 'lost' city. Rooms are comfortable enough with plenty of hot water. Decor is locally inspired. At night it can get quite cold so better keep the bed spread on. The salient point of this hotel is its wonderful, friendly, helpful staff. We arrived at 9PM after a miserably long 7 hour boat ride, and the kitchen was happy to come up with a nice dinner for us. Breakfast was fine, as well. There seems to be an army of workers here, always ready to help you out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Hello. I stayed at this hotel in September 2010. Amazingly friendly staff. The convenient location in a very quiet place, far away from any roads. But at a distance minute trips to ancient temples.View from the bungalow on a small field and near the hills. Before each bungalow has a small area with table and chairs.Very easy to drink cold dark evenings, beer or myanmar rum, gathering strength before the morning trips
Large clean room in bungalows with hot water, fridge and air conditioning.However, all these charms turned off daily from 6 am to 6 pm because it was lost electricity. Staff explained that the electricity is lost in the city. If this is true, I put the hotel high marks.If not, I advise you to go to any other, even worse place, because at 7 am to be in a room with 35 degree heat and no electricity - it is impossible.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank golovindenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

arrived at the hotel at 7.30pm, after 5hour boat journey, they knew we were coming but no food available, no hot water for shower,no cold beer or drinks . Next morning breakfast ok, but after a day out sightseeing, air-con in room not working, no hot water, no cold drinks available, seems they switch the power off when no one around. Staff not very helpful. Better to save your money and stay at a guest house.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmymcBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mrauk U hotels

UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Comfortable rooms with very helpful staff and ok breakfast. Located close to Shittaung Paya, old city walls and Moe Cherry restaurant. Ideal for early morning, atmospheric stroll around the locality.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PTL_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs UK
Level Contributor
420 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Mrauk U is a charming place to visit - not the easiest of journieys - but well worth it. This hotel is situated close to a number of the many attractions, officially a 3 star grade hotel, it is very comfortable & the staff are friendly. However, the rooms do not have a safe but there is a kettle & fridge. Beds are good, I don't know whether other rooms have a Manchester United mat on the floor! Bathroom large, but the shower is over the bath - not my favourite, bring your own universal sink plug.

Breakfast was fine - we had the scrambled eggs, Did not eat at the restaurant in the evening - it is always our preference to go out for dinner.

For an evening meal, turn left outside the gate, Moe Cherry was some 200m away, where the welcome given by the hostess & the standard of the meal was excellent. There is also a small shop close by Moe Cherry, where you can purchase extra water etc. Finally don't forget your torch.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
494 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Stayed 3 nights in clean, quiet, cool #104 with a view of the temples from my patio. Inexpensive, fast laundry service. Very good service from the staff at reception & in the dining room. Good breakfast. Had two surprisingly good lunches in the restaurant - try the crispy hot pork or the red pork curry, both delicious.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mrauk U
1.2 mi away
Mrauk Oo Princess Resort
0.6 mi away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mrauk U
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noble Hotel
Noble Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sittwe
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Shwe Thazin Hotel
Shwe Thazin Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mrauk U
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mrauk U Palace Resort
Mrauk U Palace Resort
#4 of 10 in Mrauk U
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Memory
Hotel Memory
#1 of 8 in Sittwe
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrauk Oo Nawarat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrauk Oo Nawarat Hotel

Property: Mrauk Oo Nawarat Hotel
Address: Sittway Yangon Highway | Nyaung Pin Zay Quarter, Mrauk U, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Mrauk U
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mrauk U
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mrauk Oo Nawarat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Mrauk Oo Nawarat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing