We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Irish Experience for the Unconventional Traveler.”
Review of Ballaghmore Castle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Borris-in-Ossory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballaghmore Castle
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A True Irish Experience for the Unconventional Traveler.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Of the many trips our family has taken over the years Ballaghmore Castle was one of the most memorable. One must be ready for an adventure and not looking for a conventional experience to appreciate this wonderful, authentic property.The travelers were myself, my 80+ year old parents and my 3 college age sons.My parents stayed in the manor house where Grace made them welcome and comfortable. My sons and I shared the suite of rooms which were very beautiful & spacious with a WC. However, shower facilities are in the lower level using the castles original exterior walled staircase. Each morning my eldest would get up and take the stone staircase down to the next level to the great hall and get a roaring fire stared . Then my parents would come over and we all would have breakfast which I prepared in the galley kitchen (up a few stairs from the great hall). We would sit by the fire and have our tea & toast & plan the day. Arriving back in the evening we would restock the fire and sit down to an evening of Irish tales and home cooked ,locally sourced food. Most evenings we would invite Grace over for wine, dinner & stories . She would end the evening with some lovely Irish ballad. A truer Irish experience would be hard to find.
.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank molly528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    0
    1
    9
See reviews for
14
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We recently hosted a hen party in Ballaghmore castle. It was such a novelty to stay in an authentic castle that has been restored. Stone staircases, heavy wooden doors and Gothic arches were some of the wonderful features of the castle. The views from the roof over five county's was amazing.
The grand banqueting hall is very atmospheric with lanterns and touches on the wall and a big open fireplace. There is a small but well equipped kitchen just off the banqueting hall which allowed us prepare and serve food to the large group.The accommodation in the castle is mainly shared (two large dorm like rooms) and again is perfect for a group of friends, there is also guest accommodation in the main house with some double rooms.
Grant, Grace & co were most helpful throughout the whole weekend and I couldn't recommend Ballaghmore more highly for the ultimate castle experience.
Ps Grant also tells a great ghost story!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrician123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

i recently brought a group to Ballaghmore Castle as part of a day trip to Laois. We arrived about one hour behind schedule which was not a problem for Sorel or Grant our hosts on the day. As promised Grant met us in the avenue and allowed us time to stretch our legs before commencing an informative and entertaining tour of the Castle. There are many things you can say about guided tours but if the tour guide doesn't match knowledge with passion then there is something missing. No such problems in Ballaghmore. The guided tour and talk was conducted with passion and a desire for the history and the character of the Castle to be told and understood. the pride with which Sorel and Grant conducted the tour meant that we never felt that facts were being fired at us , rather we felt a story was being told to us.
We had a good look around the Castle and the sun came out so we were able to go out on the "roof" and see the stunning views that it offered.
A number of group did not wish to climb the many winding stairs , this was not a problem as Sorrel generously opened the conservatory to accommodate our members.
As a group we enjoyed the visit, the tour but more importantly the genuine warmth of the welcome received. There is obviously a commercial aspect to the venture but we were welcomed as guests not customers which made a lasting impression.
A memorable part of our day, thank you to all concerned at Ballaghmore.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SPENCED1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

First and foremost, my husband, son, and I did not stay in the castle; we did, however, take the opportunity to tour it. Our guide, Grace, who bought and began restoring this grand edifice in 1990 and is still its private owner, proved a wealth of knowledge from history to family names and even current events about which she feels most passionate. We found the castle beautiful, wonderfully authentic, and Grace's knowledge of Irish history fascinating and impactful. This is one of the few true Irish castles still standing, not to be taken on the some level as one of the many that has been restored by the government with their illimitable assets. I would recommend this tour and/or stay to anyone who seeks to dip their feet in the true, authentically-replicated old ways of Ireland. 5 Stars, no issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANKirkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My wife and I visited Ballaghmore Castle as newlyweds because we are descendents of the Fitzpatrick line and carry the honorable last name, so we wanted to see a little of the history and experience a true castle. We were not disappointed. Grace was incredibly helpful in getting us to the castle, and Grant, our guide, immersed us in history centuries old, walking us around the grounds and transporting us back to the time of MacGiollapadraig. Then we went inside the castle, which is a true testament to the power of restoration. They have the castle fully-functioning for an authentic stay in a medieval atmosphere. With a basic minimum of amenities, it is comfortable without losing its magic. The view from the castle windows is stunning, and the inside truly magnificent. Don't just visit ruins -- see the real thing still being used. We couldn't afford to stay this time, but next time we're coming with an army of people, and look forward to having a celebration in a fantastic castle. To the Fitzpatricks!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Probably the most incredible four days I've had in a long time. When myself and my friends went looking for something unique to do for new year's eve, somebody mentioned that they heard of a castle near Roscrea that could be hired out for private parties. After a phone call to the owner Grace and a quick straw poll of who was interested, we paid the deposit and booked the castle. It was the best decision we've ever made. Over the course of the whole weekend, around 35 people spent at least one night in the castle, and for at least an hour after each person's arrival, they were just dumbstruck by their surroundings. There was plenty room for everybody and nobody had to sleep on a couch, but the real gem had to be the banqueting hall where we spent most of our time. Full open fire, candle lanterns on the wall and a full kitchen hidden away, this was definitely one experience that we will never forget. If you ever get the chance to stay here, even for a night or two, don't pass it up.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazzap22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Ballaghmore castle is a REAL Castle. It has not been bought by a chain and had all of the originality knocked out of it! The castle has been restored by the present owner, and the restoration is an ongoing project - I know all about ongoing projects - I live in a 400 year old Water Mill and that's bad enough! This place is beautiful. the room are huge, apart from a few very small ones, and the walls are so thick that the stairs go up inside them! This place is just ideal for a group of friends whether they be a Stag do or a Hen Party. The place is 800 years old, so don't expect Holiday Inn standards! Even if you don't want to stay there (and there are rooms in the house as well as in the castle) you MUST pay a visit, meet the owner, and look around the castle. It is absolutely wonderful and the setting is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are huge and have REAL antique furniture - 4 poster bed, refectory tables etc.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pussycats4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris-in-Ossory
11.7 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
780 reviews
11.6 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
180 reviews
6.5 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
16.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
686 reviews
14.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballaghmore Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballaghmore Castle

Property: Ballaghmore Castle
Address: Dublin Road, Borris-in-Ossory, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Borris-in-Ossory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris-in-Ossory
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballaghmore Castle 1480 Celtic castle - perfect for family holidays. Only one and a half hours from Dublin yet set in beautiful peaceful countryside rich with activities and amenities. The castle is rented exclusively to your family group giving you the peace and privacy of the whole castle for the duration of your stay. Set in thirty acres of private grounds the castle offers sleeping accommodation for up to twenty family members over two floors of shared sleeping accommodation. The castle includes shower, bathroom and four WCs.The spectacular banqueting hall with its long tables, minstrels' alcove and roaring log fire forms the centre for gatherings in the castle. Off the Banqueting hall is a well equipped self-catering kitchen including large oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, washing machine and dryer. In addition, the fabulous Great Hall at the top of the castle also offers its cosy open fire, comfortable arm chairs and fun areas for table-tennis, snooker and games. On the ground floor of the castle is the generous flag-stoned basement that is ideal as a bar area if you are having a party whether inside or outside of the castle. The main entrance to the castle leads you to the beautiful mature and natural garden, ponds, woodlands and covered barbecue area with its long banqueting table for all the family. Adjacent to the castle is the owner's Manor House B&B which offers additional accommodation if required for those needing their own bedroom such as parents with babies and older members of the family (the B&B is offered at a separate cost). The Castle is positioned in the centre of its own land with a long grass lined avenue, surrounding paddocks and plenty of space to relax and for children to play. The countryside, small towns and villages within the locality of Ballaghmore Castle are rich with amenities including fishing, golf, horse riding, hiking, sightseeing, ancient heritage sites, eating out, shopping and pubs. A holiday at Ballaghmore Castle is a rare, unique and thrilling experience. The castle has been restored and maintained as close as is possible to its original and thus to stay here gives you a true experience of castle living. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballaghmore Castle Ireland/Borris-In-Ossory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing