We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT recommendation by a SouthAfrican colleague”

The Courthouse Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinlough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Courthouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Kinlough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in the Courthouse Hotel and had dinner in the restaurant. It was recommended by a SouthAfrican colleague before we left for Ireland and what a fabulous recommendation! Brenda our waitress was superb and gave us such wonderful recommendations for our roadtrip, which we followed and we were so impressed! Brenda, we thoroughly enjoyed all the spots you recommended. We are staying in Clifden and can see why you love it too. Thanks for fantastic service and the great recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvettevanAntwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal in this restaurant with my friend. I had the seafood pasta and it was fabulous.
Lovely service and enjoyed the extra touches.
The dessert was also delicious . It was a selection of chocolate desserts. The panna cotta was divine.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Niamh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Fourth time to dine here and no sign of the standards faltering - truly one of the region's hidden gems.
How the chef and proprietor Piero manages to turn out such a wonderful choice of offerings almost singlehandedly still remains a mystery but who cares when the most difficult job of the evening is to decide on what to pick from the generous number of options on the menu.
We kicked off with King prawns in garlic butter / Scallops on individual beds (pillows?) of perfectly cooked risotto. Followed up with a generous fish Zuppa de mare / paella. Took some time but only the shells returned to the kitchen.....
Lovely friendly staff.
An added bonus was the rate of €80 pp which not only covered dinner, including a bottle of Vermentino house wine, but a room for the night and a freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rostourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I found this place by mistake. Supposed to go to a place in Milbrook Sligo but my ipad maps led me to a Milbrook housing estate about 40 km away and heading o Donegal. As it was about 5pm I stopped and asked a local where I could stay and he directed me to the Courthouse. I got a nice bed, easy parking for 35 euro with a window overlooking the town. The family was preparing their restaurant for dinner. Walked over the road to a pub for a pint of guinness and then back to this classy restaurant for a fairly priced meal of crab rissole, duck, vegetables I craved, home cooked bread followed by panne cotta for 25 euros.
Basic accommodation with an old TV but for a budget pice what do you expect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DennisJBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from Ireland. We stayed at The Courthouse for four nights' b+b and ate dinner twice in the restaurant. The room that we stayed in was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to order each morning. In addition, there was a good selection of fruit, cereal, breads and juice for those who prefer a lighter option. Dinner on both evenings was fantastic. The quality of food, service, cooking are all first rate. Piero (the proprietor and head chef) strives for perfection in this gem of a restaurant. His Italian heritage features strongly in the menu, but with an an emphasis on good quality local produce. We travel to Italy every year; the food that we ate in The Courthouse equaled anything that we have eaten there, and in many respects was even better.The excellent dinner, b+b option for 100 euro for two nights could not be matched in Italy, and you would certainly struggle in Ireland to find a better deal.
Overall, the Courthouse is a fantastic place to eat and stay. Well done to Piero and his team.
We are looking forward to our next visit.
Patricia and Warren, London

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We dined here as a group from work in August to celebrate a birthday. There is an excellent early bird menu available which is great value, I went for the special which was King prawn and Scallop starter, followed by Veal for main. All was cooked to perfection. Wines are well chosen and complement the menu. Staff area also very friendly and informative. I look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Panna Cotta dessert is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReviewerLeitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank gillastagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Courthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courthouse Restaurant

Address: Main Street, Kinlough, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Kinlough
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlough
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing