We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unprofessional”
Review of Cooneys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cooneys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballymahon
Certificate of Excellence
Carrigaline, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very unprofessional”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were working in ballymahon, on the balance of doing 12 to 14 hour days, we were in need of a good night sleep, Tuesday 15th of July a gig was booked for the bar, so you would think guests would be accomodated regardless of the noise. I telephoned front desk 3 times to which there was no answer. In the end I had to ring via the websites phone number to complain about the noise. The guy replied "you had right to check with us about the band before you booked the room", put it this way this would neve happen in cork. But what do you expect from a backward dump such as ballymahon

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Paulanthony1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    26
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
56
32
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co galway, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This review is long overdue. I organised a hen party in self catering accommodation in Ballymahon in April. We wanted to stay local on the Saturday night rather than going clubbing in Athlone.
My sister and I called to Cooneys a few weeks before to check it out and we were given the warmest of welcomes!
We reserved a 'VIP' area for the night and dinner for the next day.
Mike was the most gracious host and we had a brilliant night. The staff were very friendly and the locals very welcoming.
The dinner the next day was outstanding and they seemed to have everything we all wanted on the menu!
I'd have no hesitation recommending this family run hotel and look forward to going back there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtravellerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Irishtravellerxx,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Va
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Family run good 3 star hotel with friendly folks makes this a comfortable place to stay. We actually ate pizza for the first time in the bar, and it was good. Parking in the back and a good breakfast in the morning adds to its' advantages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Nursedude,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived late, Josie checked us in with a smile and smiles were what we got from Michael, Josie,(owners) Stephen and Michael (sons) and Michael the barman for the rest of our three night stay. Our room was very clean with nicely made beds, plenty of towels in the bathroom and adequately sized for us.
Breakfast menu was good, served in the bar and seemed to be popular with local folk who we met there over the weekend!!! Tom (wide load) was extremely helpful to us in our plan to walk the banks of the royal canal, you can never beat local knowledge!!!!
We had a beautiful evening meal in the restaurant which was very keenly priced for the standard of food we received, each evening there was entertainment in the bar, DJ, live music, and dancing and we enjoyed this.Michael (barman)was always very courteous even when it was very late at night !!!!!
We had a very enjoyable stay here and it was a perfect location for us to walk the Royal canal, with lovely woodland walks nearby also..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Jackie M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. Thank you for recommending us.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a family party. We arrived very late after a delayed flight, and we were greeted warmly by the owner. The rooms are large, and very clean and comfortable. The only minor niggle was the shower, whilst totally adequate, it ran off of the tap supply, so it was a bit weak, and we had to run around a bit to get wet !
The breakfast was lovely, and all of the staff we spoke to,could not have been more helpful. All in all, a very relaxing stay, only wished we had had longer.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Jamch,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were only staying here for 2 nights but enjoyed it that much we stayed for4.The management and staff couldn't do enough for us, and always with a smile. The food was excellent, and the accommodation was spotless, bedrooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels . Michael cooneys and his wife go above and beyond to please their customers well done, we will definitely be returning thankyou so much .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Julie C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have eaten in this hotel numerous times with my family, the food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and cater well for children I would recommend the Caesar salad.. it is huge and brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthiechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Ruthiechad,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymahon
11.4 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
221 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,105 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
12.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
12.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooneys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooneys Hotel

Property: Cooneys Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballymahon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Ballymahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballymahon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooneys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooneys Hotel is classically situated in the heart of Irelands Lake District. The hotel which stands majestically overlooking the beautiful town of Ballymahon opens a gateway to this relatively undiscovered part of the midlands. This boutique style hotel owned and managed by Michael & Josephine Cooney & Their Family is situated on the river Inny and in close proximity to Lough Ree on the river Shannon. Within easy driving distance you can explore the midland region with its lovely towns, villages, lakes and other tourist attractions. At Cooney's Hotel we pride ourselves as a family run hotel. We are ideally located on the main street in Ballymahon. Our Hotel's warm and cosy atmosphere will help you and your family relax and unwind. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cooneys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing