We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience”

Skelly's Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skelly's Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballymahon B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed at Skelly's last night and shall be returning again next week. From the moment I walked through the door I received a friendly warm welcome from the staff and the manager Seamus & owner Pat were fantastic to chat to. The rooms are of high quality whilst the price is very competitive. I could not fault the place whatsoever. Fantastic place & wonderful people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford Uk
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed at Skellys twice now so no prizes for guessing I was obviously impressed the first time, or else why the second visit? A warm welcome, excellent accomodation, clean comfortable and extremely tasteful decor in all rooms. Breakfast was very good and choice of menu out of regular times was also very good. Management and staff alike were friendly and accomodating. Everything one would expect from a well established family run business, and more !

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saliusbury UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Spent the weekend in this great family run B&B. Rooms were lovely, clean, cosy and warm and the breakfast was the best we had in Ireland. We had dinner on both nights: the food was fantastic and the portions extremely generous. There are daily specials cooked by Patrick's wife Patrice, who hails from Brazil, and the food can be served in the restaurant or in the bar beside the huge peat fire. The locals are friendly and there is great conversation and stories in the bar at night! We were really sorry to leave on Monday morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rowena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We proberly wouldn`t have found this place if we hadn`t been told by someone where to go, even though its on the main street. From the front it`s an off licence. When i enquired about accommodation and booked a room we were led through to a bar. From there you walk through to a lovely dining room/ restaurant and the upstairs accommodation, which was beautiful, like something out of a magazine. The owners wife, who has the credit for the rooms has done a lovely job. The two brothers who own Skellys told us the history and even today they are still the undertakers as well! Well worth a visit and stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gillyobe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymahon
10.9 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
216 reviews
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
12.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Lough Rea Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Ballymahon
1 reviews
12.0 mi away
Arch House B&B & Apartments
14.3 mi away
Lakeside Hostel
Lakeside Hostel
#1 of 1 in Longford
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelly's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelly's Guesthouse

Property: Skelly's Guesthouse
Address: Main Street, Ballymahon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Ballymahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymahon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Skelly's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing