We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating here is a great habit to get into.”
Review of Monastery Inn

Monastery Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: the monastery inn is located in the tiny village of clonard in county meath on the R148
Trim, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eating here is a great habit to get into.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Monastery serves lovely food at a good value price. it is clean and efficient. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. it is THE best eating house on the old N4 and is particularly hospitable with the open fire on a winters evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnapshotToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Great Place to have a Party”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

50 of us recently celebrated my brothers 50th birthday dinner all I can say the service, the staff the owners our bar man for the night and John front of house and of course the FOOD was excellent ,Thank you for all your help in making the night very special you could not all do enough in making sure everything went smoothly all I can say to anyone thinking of holding a ocassion at the Monastery you certainly will not be disappointed that's for sure we could do with some of these first class restaurants in London .

THANK YOU FROM EVERYONE THAT TRAVELLED FROM ALL OVER IRELAND,ENGLAND AND USA.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishDaveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value in a cozy setting”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great food on a budget. We've only ever had the early bird menu which is incredible value. The interior is really cozy and staff are very friendly. A great stop between Dublin and Mullingar if you are avoiding the motorway.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillyDIreland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Title says it all amazing food and service at a great price,great portion sizes and beautifully presented food,can't wait to go back

Helpful?
Thank Carolejx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, Great Welcome”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Visited the Monastery Inn recently for dinner. We were greeted as if we were one of the family and the service was excellent. the food was good and the price reasonable. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. You could have a romantic dinner for two in the relative privacy of a dark corner or a group celebration, both happening at the same time but neither encroaching on the other. I would love to have stayed and had a drink or two at the bar after dinner, but as I was driving, that was out of the question. I will be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank April_Showers_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monastery Inn also viewed

County Kildare, Province of Leinster
Enfield, County Meath
 
Kinnegad, County Westmeath
 
Kinnegad, County Westmeath
Enfield, County Meath
 

Been to Monastery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing