We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a 2 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More like a 2 star hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Usually I read overly critical reviews and think people are being a bit dramatic but this hotel really isn't up to any kind of acceptable standard-its more like an apartment complex you stay at in Portugal or Spain. I booked one night for myself, mam and sister. When we arrived the check in area is similar to a nursing home and the check in takes too long. The interior is definitely a 2 or 3 star standard. The room itself had one double bed and a sofa bed for the third adult. There's tiles on the floor as you walk in the room (not just in the bathroom) which I've never seen in a 4 star Irish hotel. We went downstairs for a bit of lunch in the bar. Absolutely filthy. Very small outdoor area so we opted for a table inside the bar which is like a dark Temple bar pub. We had to find our own sachets of sauce and salt and pepper, service not up to scratch at all. Had to go to the bar to pay where I was ignored by multiple staff until the manager/supervisor took my money! No where really to sit or chill out, freezing cold in the atrium. Went down for dinner which was ok, our waitress was nice which made up for the strange starter-goats cheese on a plate and not much else. Steak and fish were nice. Had a drink after dinner in the bar, glasses are filthy-again staff just not properly trained on how to work in a hotel. Very uncomfortable sleep, heating blasting in the room so we opened the window so noisy then! Breakfast was nice, but we were seated in the dark restaurant area. Just no flow to the hotel. Staff need to be completely overhauled throughout. Keys didn't work twice for us-very annoying. Very very surprised that there are any good reviews in relation to this "hotel", would not recommend to anyone, even if you got it for free.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    348
    180
    131
    89
See reviews for
260
462
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I am a regular guest in this hotel and wanted to write a brief review to let others know what a great hotel it is. I stayed for one night this time and used the spa, ate in the bar and restaurant and could not fault any of it. The service is great and always with a smile. I really felt that the staff were not only happy to help but actually happy to work there too.
The spa is one of the best I have experienced in Ireland and it was truly a relaxing break from the bustle of daily life. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great break away.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

Thank you for your sincere comments regarding your regular visits to us.
It is a delight to see you return to us and certainly does reflect the service we like to pride ourselves on.

Your kind comments will certainly be passed all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely relaxing weekend break. Your frontline staff were exceptional with their hospitality and genuine friendliness. The Spa was very pleasant and the treatment good. Our room was nice and spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent, we also enjoyed our dinner. Everything exceeded our expectations. A special thank you to Damien who jump started our car for our journary home, I will be back again very soon, if I dont have to buy a new battery! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careena g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

Your review reflects just how we would like all of our guests to experience their stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and your expectations were exceeded.

I am glad to hear Damien from our Leisure Centre was on hand to help you heading home I will certainly pass your comments to him.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lovely relaxing overnight stay.The Spa was very pleasant and the treatment good.Food and staff excellent.Everything exceeded our expectations. Hopefully we will return.We particularly enjoyed our dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

Your review reflects just how we would like all of our guests to experience their stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and we exceeded your expectations.


We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Really enjoyed the spa, ambiance very relaxing and friendly staff. The 7th heaven hair salon should be advertised better on the website as I would have booked an appointment if I had have known this service was available. I arrived into the hair salon at 6pm on the Saturday evening to see it there was any availability. The salon closes at 6pm but Rhonda kindly saw me and done a great job on my hair. Thanks Rhonda

Michelle

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmcww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay.

Your kind comments and feedback will be passed to Rhonda in the hair salon.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back from a girly spa break at the hotel, it far exceeded our expectations. From the moment we got there at check in with the very helpful Chris and Sandra, a fabulous room to the amazing massage in the spa and wonderful meal in the restaurant, cant wait to go back! Highly recommend! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

It is a pleasure to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Each element from your stay sounds extremely relaxing and I am delighted to see you were well looked after and catered too.

Your kind comments will certainly be passed directly to Chris, Sandra and all of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night but my god I wish it was two
From the moment we arrived and was greeted by chris at reception till the moment we checked out we got 100% good service .
We had beautiful rooms a fantastic dinner a gorgeous barman called pj aand entertainment that night .
Next morning our breakfast was served very prompt and nice and warm and to top it off a lovely relaxing time in the hot tub
All ill say about this hotel is when am I going again !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

Your review reflects just how we would like all of our guests to experience their stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your kind comments will certainly be passed directly to Chris, Pj and all of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
3.6 mi away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
14.9 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hamlet Court Hotel
Hamlet Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Enfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
10.4 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
16.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Johnstown Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Johnstown Estate Hotel

Property: The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Address: Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield, Ireland (Formerly Johnstown House Hotel & Spa)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Johnstown Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Johnstown Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Johnstown Hotel Enfield
Marriott County Meath
Marriott Enfield
County Meath Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing