We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Suprise”
Review of Hamlet Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hamlet Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Arrived into this quiet village not expecting to find such a fantastic hotel. From the front of the hotel it just looks like a quiet country pub but when you go to the hotel entrance at the rear you see a fab hotel. From start to finish myself and my partner had a fantastic stay. The receptionist on duty was very friendly and helpful, The room was clean, relaxing and bright. We were booked into the restaurant that night but had a snack in the bar beforehand. The food was very nice in the bar which made us look forward to the meal that night. Restaurant was very busy but still received first class service and first class food. Overall brilliant stay could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your recent stay in the Hamlet Court Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food and service was top class. Visit us again soon so that we can make you feel at home again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recently recouped a gifted Groupon voucher for a room stay/2 glasses of champagne/chocolate covered strawberries/late checkout with my partner and siblings. Hotel is about 25 mins from Dublin down the N4, says its in Meath but its pretty much in Kildare. Parking located at the rear of the hotel, open plan and free. Murtys Bar inside the hotel is great for any and all sporting coverage (we viewed soccer, gold and late night UFC on the big bar TV, staff very helpful in this regard). Restaurant is very fancy but the menu is too large, first mistake a restaurant can make as the food quality suffers usually. Rooms are average, TV's in the rooms are the kind your grandparents would have had, with the backing so large they are nearly on the bed with you, just kidding. Food was great, had the steak from the bar menu and staff very attentive. Live band played, they were enjoyable if its to your taste. Nightclub next door is called 'Rapture' but apparently is only open on Bank Holidays, weird and Maynooth is the closest you'll find nightlife. Motorbike training school use the hotel car park in the mornings but they didn't bother us in the room we were in, rm108.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottMurray27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Many thanks for your review and recent visit, glad yo enjoyed the treat of Champagne and Strawberries in your room and that the Staff were helpful in letting u watch all your sporting needs. I will pass on the good compliments tot he chef regarding the nice meal and steak yo had.
Visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have started to look forward to an overnight in The Hamlet Court as part of our trips to Ireland. As always we had a warm and friendly welcome from reception and the staff in the bar welcomed us back like old friends. 2 lovely clean and comfortable rooms with great showers. We dined in the bar the first evening and really had a great meal. There were lots of people about and a lovely friendly atmosphere. The owners of the property John and Trish were there meeting everybody and Mo and his team were their usual helpful and efficient selves. Next day we headed to Dublin for a days sightseeing and after a hearty breakfast on the second morning we departed. Great place and we will most definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Many thanks for your return visit to us. As a family run business we strive to met our customers daily. We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here over Easter weekend with a deal voucher we had purchased - room was basic but clean apart from cobwebs around the ceiling - bed was a bit squeaky and not the most comfortable but ok - lamps were odd and one was broken - had chocolate dipped strawberries in our room which were lovely - ate in the bar - both had steak - huge country portions - very nicely cooked - breakfast the next morning was a little disappointing especially after the lovely dinner - coffee had loose coffee floating in it and cooked breakfast wasnt anything special but continental buffet was lovely!overall our stay was average - would definitely eat in the bar again but don't know if we'd stay the night!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bexandcolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your trip to the hotel recently. I am surprised to hear that your bed was squeaky as we have purchased new beds for all of our rooms quite recently. We are famous for local food and large portions so I am glad you were satisfied with your meal. Breakfast is freshly cooked and made to order so I am disappointed you felt that you didn't enjoy it. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms nice and clean. Good shower.

Hotel was dead, very few people.

Good food in restaraunt. Bar a little dingy.

Nothing in the town, hotel has no grounds, literally nothing to do.

No gym even which I think is a must.

Hotel is right in the main road too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Funky_Thistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Many thanks for your review.
Glad you enjoyed the local home-cooked food here. disappointed you felt that there was nothing to do in the area as we do have some lovely sights to see. there is an information stand a reception or the reception staff can personally advise you with their knowledge of the area and where to visit.
We hope you will visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Hamlet Court Hotel over Easter and had a wonderful time. From check in to check out we couldn't fault a thing. The hotel is in the quiet village of Johnstownbridge a mile from Enfield. Although it is in the main street, it is very quiet and restful. The rooms are lovely, large and luxurious. Plenty of hot water, towels, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, tv, iron & ironing board. The curtains were blackout and the windows double glazed which meant a good night's sleep. The bar (Murtys) has a great buzz so we ate both nights there rather than the restaurant and the food was excellent and great value for money. The foyer is very comfortable and homely and we were able to sit and watch the world go by. We had scones, jam, cream, tea & coffee on arrival and champagne and chocolate strawberries in our room, both absolutely delicious. The breakfasts were fantastic, plenty of choice and top quality. The staff in the hotel were all charming and we went on 2 outings thanks to Emma's recommendations (reception) - Donadea Forest (with 9/11 commemoration plot) and Trim Castle (where Braveheart was filmed). We will definitely be staying at The Hamlet Court Hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are at the back of the hotel, away from the function rooms and close to car parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetraveltooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your recent visit and review. Delighted you had such an enjoyable weekend here with us and that you found the hotel comfortable and the food tasty. I will pass onto Emma that you enjoyed her sit recommendations. Hope you visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I booked this hotel as a Christmas present for my beloved. The price seemed almost too good to be true. It was. The first thing that greeted us was a sign saying there was a 100e fine for anyone who smoked in the room. Whatever the hotel did with the 100e for this room, it didn't go towards the "deep clean". The musty smell wasn't pleasant. The burn marks in the sink in the bathroom were lovely too.

We then went out to have a look around, the most interesting thing we found was a motorbike school holding it's theory class in the back corridor of the hotel. Outside the grounds were a Londis and a funeral home. That's as exciting as it gets. Taking some air freshner from Londis we needed a break from the excitement and headed back to the room. We even wondered if it got darker earlier here cos even the sun was bored and couldn't be bothered hanging around.

The TV in the room must be an original from Willy Wonka's factory as everybody on TV looked like an oompa lumpa. Not a good look for Marty Whelan on RTE 1.

Lucky for everyone there was no great choice in TV channels. The wifi was abysmal too.

We went to bed with the air freshner going strong.

Then.......... *BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM*

And more boom boom boom boom. The floor was actually rocking. It felt like there was a live band in the room let alone the hotel. We called reception who told us it would be going on to 2am. Nice. It's only 11pm. The next couple of hours were hell. Drunk or lost people banging down doors (must've lost their keys) screaming in the corridors, singing, not a winks sleep was had.

The next morning, we got up early, the temptation to repay those culprits from last night resisted, we headed to the restaurant for breakfast. The first table we sat at was manky, looked like the cutlery hadn't been washed properly. The second table was only barely acceptable. The food was ok.

We checked out right away, rather disappointed

Room Tip: Rooms101+ are disasterville for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ck1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your recent stay wit us, very disappointed that you found your stay unpleasant.
The location of our the hotel is "Hamlet" hence our name so coming to the hotel in a village and expecting more than the local shops was abit of an oversight on your behalf. We have local castles and country walks in the area if you had enquired with our reception team we could have directed you to a lovely area to see some beautiful Picturesque sights.
Surprised to hear that there is noise of music in your room as our bar is located at the front part of the hotel, if the guests were noising going t bed and banging on doors, you must understand we have no control over people and there actions.
We hope you might make a visit back to us so that we can show you this is not what the Hamlet Court is about.


As the hotel is located in a Hamlet village that's how we got our name "Hamlet Court" hence we only have a

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
0.8 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
3.1 mi away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
10.9 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
15.6 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
10.8 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Court Hotel

Address: Johnstownbridge, Enfield, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hamlet Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing