We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Little Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Station House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had our wedding celebration in the Station House Hotel in April 2014 and everyone at the hotel did their best to ensure we had the best day ever! Because we had already had a civil ceremony we were able to have our ceremony outdoors at the stone turntable as the sun shone and the birds sang. The setting amongst the trees and the flowers was unbelievable. But this was only the start. We were treated like royalty all day by the staff and they ensured that everything went to plan. The meal was restaurant quality and was praised by all our guests. After a smooth transition from dinner venue to disco venue we were able to dance to the early hours. The quality of the hotel suppliers such as the photographer, florist etc. couldn't be better! The Station House has something very unique, there is a lovely relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and all our guests commented on this. We really can't express how great the day was and our thanks to Sarah, Henry and all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Hello LizM,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and positive feedback regarding your wedding with us here at the Station House Hotel. Your feedback is so appreciated. Thank you so so much. It makes my job very worth while knowing that we all helping in some little way to ensure your dream wedding goes off without a hitch.

I will make sure to pass on your best wishes to Sarah and all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've just returned from the Station House with my wife.

We got married there last year and we had a voucher to return full board for the night

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds which are maintained to a very high standard.

The hotel is of a time gone by where service and quality shine through.

The hotel is a real vintage style and very quaint.

The food is excellent and the bar is cosy.

The only negative would be the bedrooms could do with investment/modernisation

A lovely retreat set in the Royal County

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerryFootballer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Hello KerryFootballer30,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and positive feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Station House Hotel having had your wedding with us last year.

Many thanks for all the kind words. I will pass on your feedback to the owners regarding the bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Loved this hotel, the service was excellent beautiful hotel and rooms food was lovely,

we got married here and the staff could not do enough for us, they really looked after us made us feel so special, it was amazing day one we will never forget!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Hello NiamhU,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and positive feedback regarding your wedding with us here at the Station House Hotel.

I am so thrilled that your wedding day was everything you hoped it would be and more.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Attended a wedding ceremony and reception in the hotel and have to say the word excellent does not do the hotel justice.The setting,the food were magnificent but all the staff were outstanding the best O have come across in Ireland!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MickBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Hello MickBlue,

Well with a subject line like this what more can I say?!?! Thank you so much for the kind feedback. It really makes my job worth while to know that we are exceeding our guests expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We got married here on March 19th and to say we were treated like royalty was an understatement. Everything went without a hitch and the hotel has the best vendors in Ireland. Sarah Henry and their team could not do enough for us. We had extra food if we wanted it, tables were layed out really well, staff on the day were impeccable especially Declan and Barry The Barman. I felt really special arriving for my wedding being greeted by Henry and Sarah....Our ceremony was beautiful....The food was amazing especially for veggies and other dietary requirements......The bridal suite and all the hotels little touches did not go in noticed by us and we are forever grateful to Sarah for all her extra hard work to make me feel at ease when I had to change my wedding date when I found out my mom was terminally ill. Even though she didn't make it she would have been very very impressed and she was not easily impressed. So to anyone reading this who is thinking of booking their wedding here don't think about it just do it. My wedding may be over but the hotel feels like part of our life and we will be back as often as we can. A million thank yous. Love Susie and Darren McGowan

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hello Susie M,

Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your wedding with us in the hotel.

I am thrilled that you were so happy with everything on the day. Our wedding vendors really are a credit to the hotel. I will make sure to pass on your lovely words to all the staff.

Kindest Regards


Henry Franco

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here a guest for a wedding. Food was fab. Great selection for veggies. Staff were lovely. esp the bar staff who didn't mind us staying up until 6am! Brides birthday was the next day and they even made her a birthday cake. Only downside was the room was freezing. Also I thought the rooms were expensive, esp for a mid week stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenchanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-StationHH, General Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello Jenchanted,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Station House Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the wedding so much and that he food, staff and service were to our usual high standards.

I'm sorry to hear that your room was cold. The hotel operates a 24 hour reception. It is unfortunate that you did not contact them whereby a member of our night porter team would have turned up your heat and provided you with additional blankets.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

From the day we booked our wedding with the Station House Hotel the staff were really helpful with planning everything. Sarah the wedding coordinator was great, she was on top of everything during the months before the day so we didn't have to worry about a thing. On the day, Henry made sure everything ran smoothly. All the waiting staff were friendly and extremely helpful. All of our guests enjoyed the meal and canapes, we got great comments from family and friends. The gardens are beautiful for photos, which meant we didn't have to leave the grounds so we had more time to enjoy the day with our guests. The signal suite in the converted signal box is unusual and quirky as the honeymoon suite. Everyone said it was the best wedding they had been to, it was such a fun and relaxed day. Thank you so much,
Rebecca and Ken Sheridan
14th March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanterinjaysus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello Lanterinjaysus,

Thank you so much for your positive review on your wedding day. We are thrilled that everything went smoothly and that you and all your guests were so impressed by the food, staff and service.

It was my pleasure to look after you on your special day and I look forward to seeing you both again very soon. If not I will see you for sure at your first anniversary!

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmessan
4.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
10.7 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,555 reviews
12.8 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
6.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station House Hotel

Address: Kilmessan, Kilmessan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kilmessan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Price Range: £74 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House Hotel is a converted train station located in the quiet country village of Kilmessan, Co. Meath. The hotel is owned and run by the Slattery family who take pride in the satisfaction of their customers, including restaurant, conference and wedding guests. They have kept the magic and charm of its former identity but have added to it, a warm and dedicated service that puts it in a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Station House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing