We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissfully relaxing in a fantastic location!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge/Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/Dining Area
Front Elevation Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Lounge/Dining Area
Front Elevation
Kitchen
Dining Room Table and Chairs in Lounge Facing Sligo Bay
Double Bedroom with Bay Window facing Sligo Bay
Vestible off the Lounge Looking Out Onto Sligo Bay
Twin Bedroom with Bay Window Facing Sligo Bay
En-suite Bathroom with Walk-in Shower, Toilet and Sink
Main Bathroom with Bath, Shower, Toilet and Sink
Cosy Sitting Area off the Kitchen
En-suite Double Bedroom
Barnacle Geese in Autum/Winter
Looking out at Benbulben Mountain Range from Lissadell Beach
Pool and Air Hockey Tables in the Games Room
Deck with Picnic Table, Barbeque and Playing Area
Raghly Penninsula
Side Garden and Deck Area with Knocknarea in the Distance
Doorly Park Walk along the Shores of Lough Gill
Sail Boats in Sligo Bay
The Three-horned Goat at Eagle's Flying, Ballymote
A Sheperd's Delight: One of the Many Beautiful Sunsets from the Kitchen and Lounge Windows
Paddle Boarding in Raghly Harbour
Finn Whale washed up in Sligo Bay - November 2011
Fresh Delicious Lobster Available from Raghly Harbour on Request (Seasonal / Depends on Weather)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballinfull, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Amanda S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissfully relaxing in a fantastic location!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived at Herdsman's House Des and Mary made us feel very welcome, down to the freshly baked bread and tin of biscuits for our kids.

Herdsman's House is very spacious, clean and has all the amenities you could possibly need for your stay; the games room is an added bonus for the occasional rainy day. If there is anything that you may need Des and Mary said to let them know and they would do their best to source this.

Although remote there are a number of high quality restaurants and bars within easy driving distance. Additionally, there are a number of small secluded beaches within easy walking distance.

Des went his way to ensure that our two children felt included by giving them tractor driving lessons which both boys noted as the highlight of their holiday.

We found Des and Mary to be extremely helpful and attentive by ensuring that we made the most of our holiday by pointing out local landmarks and places to visit and see.

Overall an amazing holiday destination which we hope to repeat in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views from the property
Liked least: The weather - the only thing Des and Mary couldn't fix!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trilobyte...
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great holiday cottage, which I thoroughly recommend. It’s spacious, reasonably priced in a tranquil location with beautiful views. It’s close to good walking country and many fine surfing beaches. The owners Des and Mary are, as the other reviews say, very good hosts.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gooseonst...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway - Recommended”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our week long holiday in Sligo and Herdsmans house was the perfect getaway for the whole family. The house is generous in space and easily housed and entertained four adults and four children. The children enjoyed the games room and space outside to kick a ball whilst adults relaxed in the sun room, large kitchen or by the roaring fire. Perhaps the nicest thing about our stay was the ongoing hospitality of Dessy who was so patient and kind to the young ones, even giving them tractor riding lessons and showing them the farm animals. The adults were treat to a lesson and tour of local surroundings and even left with a tangible piece of history from the small harbour.

In a nutshell, this loved house offers a beautiful remote location with lovely sea views, plenty of space and very quickly feels like home.

Recommended by the Harrison's and Grove's, both large and small ; )

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthgroga...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a perfect location with stunning views.”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Herdsmans House for 1 week at Easter we had great weather sunshine everyday and sitting on the porch was the perfect start to the morning. The house has everything you could need and the games room is ideal to keep younger kids entertained. The sunroom was great when it got a bit cool outside and it had lovely views of the bay. Nothing was too much troucle for Desmond the owner and he would stop on the way past the house for a quick chat and a bit of crack.The area has some nice beaches and horse riding etc so plenty for all to do. The free wifi was a great bonus as well. We hope to be back soon and would recommend this house and area to all. Thanks again Ruth Grogan and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda D
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too far and Too cold - not for cold weather rental”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This house was large enough, nicely decorated, and very clean. The owner was friendly, almost too much as he appeared every day to check on us. Seemed rather intrusive. There were two issues with staying at the property. The first was it was just to far from everything. The road to the house was very curvey and was very dark at night, made driving very difficult and slow. So coming home at night was a problem. The bigger issue was how cold the house was. This might not be a problem in spring and summer, but visiting in November, it was just too cold. The place had electric heat which did not keep the house at a comfortable tempeture. I froze taking a shower. We left a day early for warmer accomodations.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review. Delighted that you found the house clean and well maintained. In winter time it gets dark early and in the countryside, there is no street lighting. Many guests appreciate the moon reflecting off the ocean in front of the house. Some guests really like being away from the town and others don't. We are sorry that you chose not to spend a few extra euro to heat the house in the middle of winter, especially as the cost of the house for each of the 7 people was 9 euro per night for your 3 night stay. We always reduce the cost of the house to account for the cost of heat in the off season. Since you had a family bereavement, we felt we should check with you to help you as much as we could. We didn't mind making reservations for dinner, horse riding, etc. as you asked. Sorry if you felt this was intrusive. We are so sorry that you had to cancel the rest of your holiday and hope you were back in time for the funeral.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like Borrowing a Family Friend's Home.”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a perfect base to explore what this part of Ireland has to offer; beaches, walks, views, good food, wild and wonderful weather! The house has everything you need - even crab crackers! Mary and Desmond couldn't have been more hospitable hosts. 2 families travelled together and the set up of house was perfect for sharing the 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms equally. All of us said we could have easily stayed and relaxed for another week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
727siobha...
Co.Antrim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Dessie, Mary and kids for making us feel so welcome.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great week all 8 of us, which included teenagers and grandparents and the house had more than enough room for us all to have our own space. The friendliness and hospitality was amazing and we must thank Dessie again for getting us the lobsters and the cookery demo! The scenery was outstanding and the porch was the perfect place to relax at the end of the day with a nice glass of wine watching the moon reflect off the sea. Had such a good week and there is plenty to do and see within a short distance from the house. Hope to see you again :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing