We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food. Huge portions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Fort

The Old Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$34
Cuisines: Irish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: lovely food set in unique building recommended by bridgestone
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Huge portions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed eating at The Old Fort.
The food was excellent and the staff were extremely nice.

It is a little expensive but worth it.
Starters are 8-10 euro and main coarse 25-29 euro. (Fillet steak, Roast Duck, Sea Bass)

However there is a cheaper set meal option for 20 (2coarse) or 30 (3coarse).

I didn't have a starter or dessert so cannot comment on them but the main coarse was superb.

It is located in a lovely area, on the banks of the river Shannon. A lovely village in summertime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“the old fort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Excellent food and friendly staff in nice surroundings enjoyed our experience there and would return. Nice place to visit for any special occasion

Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“full dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Recently attended a family function here for 20 adults and 10 children. the menu had a great selection, the service was fast and friendly and the food second to none. but the setting is breath taking-an old, lovingly restored fort, with cobblestones inside, original ammunition door, tiny gun windows and gargantuan fireplaces. If you are even in the vague vicinity of Shannonbridge, I recommend calling here. The prices are very reasonable and the wine list extensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liv m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We pre booked a table for the evening, we recieved a warm friendly welcome, the main dining room is wonderfully restored keeping alot of the original features,
Very quick efficient service, wonderful choice of local produce, the irish rib steak was the best I have ever tasted, a really good selection and a wonderful set menu. Great selection of wines. Overall a really friendly well run restaurant.Which has been lovingly restored.
Well worth a visit if you are visiting Shannonbridge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peralta972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good bar food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stopped by here on Monday last. Even though It was the end of a very busy lunchtime the staff were very welcoming. The food was very resonable and tasty. The soup was homemade and filled me for the day. Lovely old features throughout the building.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carposmrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Fort also viewed

Shannonbridge, County Offaly
Shannonbridge, County Offaly
 

Been to The Old Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing