We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Charm at it's finest.”
Review of The Old Fort

The Old Fort
Price range: US$18 - US$36
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: lovely food set in unique building recommended by bridgestone
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Irish Charm at it's finest.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Was driving from Waterford to Galway and happened upon The Old Fort.
Friendly service, Great Food, and fantastic prices with a history lesson thrown in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food on the river Shannon”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were on a boating trip. Got into Shannonbridge late on a Thursday night. Thought we were too late, but restaurant was very accommodating. Had two magnificent filet steaks and a Hake dish. Best steaks in a long while. If you are on the Shannon, be sure and put this place on your list, well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JST001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I was here recently in a group of about 20 or so and everyone had nothing but good things to say about the place. The food was fantastic and excellent portion sizes. They accommodated perfectly with no hassle at all for someone who was lactose intolerant. The staff were very friendly and even though it was a full house that night we were served quickly. The building is really nice too it's like an old castle gorgeous inside but they could do with some music just to liven it up a bit. The only complaint everyone had was that is was ROASTING in there we were all sweating and there was no windows open im not even sure if they did open! But overall fantastic place would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalwayAsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a quick stop”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

had a lovely lunch here and the location is just fabulous, we hit Shannon bridge on route to clonmanoise was about to turn around as we couldn't see anywhere to eat and leave when I stopped the old fort across the bridge so went to have look not realising that it was a restaurant perfect location for a quick bit to eat and break from the driving

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatspins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
2 reviews
“lovely evening”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We ended up in this restaurant on a sunday evening and were the last table to sit down that night. We had a lovely meal, every course was nicer than the last. I would totally recommend the noodle dish for main course - it was the nicest I've had. The staff was very friendly and didnt rush us, even though we were the last ones there. The building itself is different and after it we walked around the short tourist history walk. I would definitely recommend here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank la d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Fort also viewed

Shannonbridge, County Offaly
Shannonbridge, County Offaly
 

Been to The Old Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing