We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durrus BnB rated excellent by Durras world expert”
Review of Sea Lodge B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Lodge B & B
Ranked #5 of 6 Durrus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We are from Durras Australia and were looking for somewhere special to complete our Durras World Tour. The Sea Lodge in Durrus, Ireland, was perfect!

Gloria and the staff were all so helpful. Made us feel really at home.

The lodge is right on the inlet. Plenty of parking. The drive to Sheepshead is the best we did in Ireland. The village of Durrus is just a kilometre or so from town - we walked there and back 2-3 times and enjoyed the stroll each time.

Breakfast was great. Our first genuine Irish breakfast rather than imitations we received elsewhere. The room was lovely and very clean.

We were amazed that this place was not fully booked. It should be! Also, the price was more than reasonable.

For Durrus in Ireland, you won't do better. For Durras in Australia, come and stay at our place - Durras Lake North Holiday Park. Out of the two....I think Durrus Ireland has the better accommodation!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

I was only over to deliver a boat , I had someone looking on the net for a B&B and this one had an excellent write up from everyone , and they weren't wrong ,From Eddie in the village shop who was an excellent guide and his Restaurant was the best , to the locals who helped me crane the boat , and then there was Sea Lodge , Wonderful view of the sea and a superb breakfast , and such nice hosts , I will come back soon !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slippery890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A dear friend of mine recommended the Sea Lodge to me, saying it was a great place to stay. She was absolutely right! The scenery is stunning and the sea is just a stone's throw away. The rooms are very comfortable and well kept. Not to mention the tasty breakfast! All in all, I had a wonderful time. I would certainly stay at the Sea Lodge again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Just back after a very relaxing break in Durrus a real beautiful place to visit and once again stayed in Sea Lodge once again. It hasn't improved because its impossible to improve on perfection. A real family welcome and great comfortable surroundings. very happy to return again & again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muintir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We went to West Cork area for a weekend. We found Sea Lodge B&B thanks to Google maps and we have to say it was great choice. That B&B has very good location with bay view and is only 10km from Bantry. Rooms are clean, with very comfortable beds covered by Egyptian cotton sheets. Breakfast is very tasty. It is also very good value for money. We highly recommend this place to everyone who is going around Bantry area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhenryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thraxan, Owner at Sea Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you very much for the lovely review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Thanks to Tripadvisor reviewers, we decided to spend one night at the Sea Lodge Bed & Breakfast. My husband and I stayed in the ensuit bedroom which provided sea breeze and beautiful views, a treat to wake up to! Our college-age son had his own room--a late cancellation that our hosts extended to him. The review below, "A star in West Cork," says it all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j2dtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thraxan, Owner at Sea Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to have you stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My partner and I having decided to make our first visit to West Cork booked Sea Lodge through their website so it was a very much pot luck choice, Some pot luck it proved to be!. From the moment of our arrival to our delayed (by two days such was our enjoyment of the West Cork area ) it was the best experience that we could have ever imagined
Firstly the location is awesome with the waters of Dunmanus Bay lapping at our doorstep with each hour bringing a new wealth of light and colour.This was surpassed by the hospitality of our hosts Gloria & Frank an affable fisherman who was only too happy to answers all our questions on the history & beauty spots of the area.
As this is supposed to be a factual review of the accommodation it demands a long discourse which frankly words couldn't suffice other to say that its 5 Star quality at credit crunching cost. The rooms are luxury and breakfast is a challenge even for my robust appetite. To wake with the beautiful inner harbour waters lapping at your feet and a leisurely breakfast before exploring Bantry and surrounding area is where we will return again and again. We will have no hesitation in sending our friends to Sea Lodge but not before we have picked our own dates for fear of being booked out.
. Thanks to Gloria and Frank and Girls for a wonderful experience
.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muintir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sea Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lodge B & B

Address: Gearhameen, Durrus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Durrus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Durrus
Price Range: £73 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional family run guesthouse, Sea Lodge has over 400 years of history, dating back to 1729. Situated 20 feet from Dunmanus Bay shores with full views of mountains and sea from all bedrooms. Mature gardens surrounding the property, large off road secure car park to rear of property. Double, family and single bedrooms available. Children are welcome. Large breakfast room with views of the sea. Sea lodge is situated 1 mile from Durrus village, which has a wealth of shops, traditional pubs and two restaurants, on the beautiful and European acclaimed Sheeps Head peninsular. Eight miles from the historic market town of Bantry. Glengarriff and the legendary ring of Kerry is 30 minutes drive from Sea Lodge. Sea Lodge offers a base from which to tour west Cork, east Kerry with a wealth of opportunities for sailing, kayaking, pony trekking, hiking, water sports, cycling all of which activities can be booked in the area. If you just feel like relaxing in the spectacular scenery of west Cork, visiting historic sites and houses or the west Cork garden trail or even walking along the beaches watching the sunsets over the Atlantic. Sea lodge offers the perfect base for your short break or longer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing