We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”
Review of Sea Lodge B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Lodge B & B
Ranked #5 of 6 Durrus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Got to stay a couple nights here a couple months back on my trip from across the pond (the USA that is) great people there. If I ever return to this region in Ireland again I am definitely going to have to stop by again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

I had an amazing time at the Sea Lodge B&B. The quirky atmosphere and the beautiful views make it hard to want to leave. Perfect for the solo traveller but great for all. Couldn't say enough about this place. The mocha's are EXCELLENT!

Thanks for a relaxing stay and I'll see you again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma-Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I had a lovely weekend at the Sea Lodge.
It is situated perfectly in the beautiful countryside of west Cork and a great place to be on a sunny weekend.
The rooms are lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable. I can't say I had any issues at all with trying to relax or get some sleep in my room.
I don't normally eat that much when I am away from home but with the quality of the food at Sea lodge I could barely stop eating!
All in all, A lovely place to go for a relaxing weekend that I can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dav6772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here in April. We were both beyond happy with our visit. The staff was very friendly, and quick to take care of any of our needs. Great home cooked meals, clean rooms, and great views. All this for very reasonable prices. I would highly recommend the Sea Lodge to anybody looking for a place to stay. We hope to make it back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coreysreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

i spent the weekend there about a month ago and i had a very lovely time. The room was really beautiful and the staff were very nice and welcoming. Been that i am a picky eater and i don't usually eat the food in b&b but the food look to good to pass up. i cant recommend this place anymore highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelByrne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We are from Durras Australia and were looking for somewhere special to complete our Durras World Tour. The Sea Lodge in Durrus, Ireland, was perfect!

Gloria and the staff were all so helpful. Made us feel really at home.

The lodge is right on the inlet. Plenty of parking. The drive to Sheepshead is the best we did in Ireland. The village of Durrus is just a kilometre or so from town - we walked there and back 2-3 times and enjoyed the stroll each time.

Breakfast was great. Our first genuine Irish breakfast rather than imitations we received elsewhere. The room was lovely and very clean.

We were amazed that this place was not fully booked. It should be! Also, the price was more than reasonable.

For Durrus in Ireland, you won't do better. For Durras in Australia, come and stay at our place - Durras Lake North Holiday Park. Out of the two....I think Durrus Ireland has the better accommodation!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I was only over to deliver a boat , I had someone looking on the net for a B&B and this one had an excellent write up from everyone , and they weren't wrong ,From Eddie in the village shop who was an excellent guide and his Restaurant was the best , to the locals who helped me crane the boat , and then there was Sea Lodge , Wonderful view of the sea and a superb breakfast , and such nice hosts , I will come back soon !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slippery890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sea Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lodge B & B

Address: Gearhameen, Durrus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Durrus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Durrus
Price Range: £69 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional family run guesthouse, Sea Lodge has over 400 years of history, dating back to 1729. Situated 20 feet from Dunmanus Bay shores with full views of mountains and sea from all bedrooms. Mature gardens surrounding the property, large off road secure car park to rear of property. Double, family and single bedrooms available. Children are welcome. Large breakfast room with views of the sea. Sea lodge is situated 1 mile from Durrus village, which has a wealth of shops, traditional pubs and two restaurants, on the beautiful and European acclaimed Sheeps Head peninsular. Eight miles from the historic market town of Bantry. Glengarriff and the legendary ring of Kerry is 30 minutes drive from Sea Lodge. Sea Lodge offers a base from which to tour west Cork, east Kerry with a wealth of opportunities for sailing, kayaking, pony trekking, hiking, water sports, cycling all of which activities can be booked in the area. If you just feel like relaxing in the spectacular scenery of west Cork, visiting historic sites and houses or the west Cork garden trail or even walking along the beaches watching the sunsets over the Atlantic. Sea lodge offers the perfect base for your short break or longer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing