We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish dreams to share”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durrus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gallan Mor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Durrus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Irish dreams to share”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Lorna and Noel run a high class bed and breakfast at Gallan Mor. Where to start: the lovely setting overlooking the water, comfortable beds with quality linens, sparkling clean modern bathrooms or the delicious, sumptuous breakfasts with local honey and Lorna's culinary creations...We loved our South facing bedroom but all the rooms (including the cottage) are a combination of modern comfort and a few antique touches to add character. The house is a new creation, a dream created with love, thought and good taste. The hosts brim with enthusiasm and offer superb hospitality. They will share their knowledge of the area with you and you will surely want to return as we do.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBeachFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
81
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Gallan Mor boutique bed and breakfast is a real gem of a find. Nestled into the shores of the Sheeps Head Peninsula its rooms look out onto both the waters of the Atlantic and the coastal walks of the surrounding headlands. In addition to the stunning scenery, the hosts (Lorna and Noel) offer a warm welcome, stylish and luxury accommodation with a breakfast menu to challenge the top hotels.
We walked out, with our hosts, along the goat’s path walk (part of the stunning and historic Sheep’s Head Way) to the mass rock, overlooking Bantry Bay which looks great – even in the rain!
Situated 5 Km form Durrus and a further 10Km from Bantry, this stylish boutique bed and breakfast provides a real haven from the hustle and bustle of every day life and a real “get away from it all” treat" – we loved it.

Marietta and Anthony

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

To stay in this fantastic B&B with great service and company, was one of my best experiences in Ireland!
Spending the evening near the fireplace watching the Salvador Dalí melted pocket watches made us enjoy the wintery and raining evening in Beara Peninsula.
The house and the owners have an extraordinary charm that involves all the place. All together with the exquisite service, makes the experience extraordinary.
I would recommend this place for people who looks for a special place in a beautiful location.
Also highly recommended the homemade bread and honey for Breakfast.

Room Tip: Any room with the view is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moren0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Having travelled a lot around Ireland, and always preferring the B&Bs as part of experiencing the Irish countryside, I can heartily say this was one of my most beautiful and memorable stays.
We visited Sheep's head in a cold and sunny weekend of January, but the warmth of the hospitality we received, could only add to the overall feeling and turn it to most enjoyable, relaxing and exceptional wintery break.
Lorna and Noel are open-hearted, easy going and pleasant people, the kind of hosts who naturally make you feel home, as if you knew them from before.
The breakfast from the hands of Lorna was a delicacy to look forward to after a sleep: "like-a princess" in your uniquely decorated, spotless room, inside your fresh and fluffy bed.
Everything there is designed, placed and provided with a great sense of aesthetics. The luxury is one with the beauty, cleanness and simplicity. Nothing is loud or redundant.
A quiet pleasure. Such as the view of the sea, first thing you can bathe your eyes with when you wake up.

Eleftheria & Kostas
Cork City, Ireland

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleftheria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Have been using b@b's since 1996 this is the best we have ever been in.It's a home from home. It have great views from all directions, sea on one side hills on the other cam, relaxing place to be. Lorna and Noel great hosts, nothing is to much for them to do for you. Cooking great home made bread, jams you can even have breakfast on the lawn looking out at the bay. Inside the house spotless, rooms are better than most hotels we have stayed in, everything you could ask for a nice relaxing stay or weekend. It's not to far from Kenmare and Killarney in Kerry and other places to go. Drive the coast line for some of the best views on the southwest of ireland. My last words on this is you could not get any better hosts any place to stay in the southwest of ireland, thank you Lorna and Noel for the best time we ever had in a B&B in ireland. Mandy & Declan

Room Tip: room south facing best views over the Dunmanus Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrus
7.5 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,133 reviews
6.6 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
606 reviews
18.7 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carbery Cottage Guest Lodge
1.7 mi away
Sea Lodge B & B
Sea Lodge B & B
#3 of 6 in Durrus
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallan Mor Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallan Mor Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gallan Mor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: Kealties | Bantry, Co. Cork, Durrus Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Durrus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Durrus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gallan Mor is on the Wild Atlantic Way and enjoys an elevated position overlooking Dunmanus Bay, beautiful terraced gardens, ancient standing stone, wood-burning stove, four poster beds, WI-FI and satellite TVs. An ideal base for exploring West Cork and The Ring of Kerry. Outdoor activities: walking, cycling, horseback riding and water sports. The Sheep's Head Way is an area of outstanding beauty. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing