We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't see how anyone wouldn't fall in love with this place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blairscove House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durrus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Everything about our stay was fantastic. The fact that we got to experience the views with the sun beating down for the first time in two months was an added bonus.

We only planned to stay for one night but by 9.30 pm we were asking if we could stay for longer (unfortunately all rooms were full). The reasons for our unwillingness to leave were:

- The beatifully decorated, well equipped and spacious suite (on two levels) with a huge window that allowed you unfettered views of the bay, colourful fishing boats and dramatic west Cork scenery.

- The relaxing nature of the location, grounds and hosts

- The restaurant with its interesting selection of starters, well cooked local produce and amazing deserts.

- The way in which breakfast is brought to your suite so that you don't have to leave the views and tumble into a communal breakfast area

I can't see how anyone wouldn't fall in love with this place!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kegglesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Blairscove House & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

I arrived at Blairs Cove with two friends for a three night mid week stay. On arrival we we recieved a most warm welcome from the proprieters Sabine & Phillipe De Mey who were extremely helpful and ever so accomodating throughout the duration of our stay. We each stayed in seperate apartments. i stayed in number 3 and i found it to be decorated in a most tasteful and modern fashion. I was also awestruck by my other friends accomodations which were equally light, airy and superbly comfortable. Breakfast was simply suberp and you were ever so well catered for, nothing was ever too much trouble and it was always service with a smile.
The highlight of out three night stay was dinner in the amazing blairs cove house restaurant. There was a fixed menu for a reasonable price, of this it comprised of a starter which was a selection from a cold buffet of the most delighful and imaginative selection of the freshest and tastiest foods i have ever experienced. The main courses were impeccably presented and you had an extra treat of being able to see your meat being cooked to your liking on an open wood smoked fire. i Had the rack of lamb which was amazing.There was more than enough vegetables and potatoes offered with the mian course too. Dessert was an exquisite presentation of a wide range of small treats to cater for every taste. Chocolate Mousse, Blueberry ice cream,meruinge and fresh fruit etc. Followed of course with tea and coffee. I cannot praise the service and food here enough, and of course the accomodation itself. However the restaurant truly was a feast for the senses and i hope to come back here for many years to come!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxy_tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My friends and I rented out several of the Blairs Cove properties for 4 days in summer 2006. We had the best weekend of our lives. Blairs Cove is set in the most beautiful location, on a cliff overlooking a bay which has the most beautiful sunsets. The views from all of our apartments were stunning, one side of the houses would overlook either the bay or the mountains, and the other side overlooked the courtyard which has been immaculately preserved over the years, with rose beds, a giant barbeque (which we were allowed to use!) picnic benches, and a pond, all surrounded by ivy covered stone walls. The restaurant was the biggest treat during our stay... they have a giant crystal chandelier in the dining room, and an enormous buffet selection for starters, including oysters which are displayed in a giant clam shell! The whole place is just amazing. There is a grand piano on which desserts are served and they actually had a pianist playing! And all the meats are cooked on a real wood fire which u can see- the chefs area is like an open kitchen. Overall this place is brilliant, for family, for friends and for kids alike. The owners pets wander freely around the grounds, and their cat used to visit us in the morning for milk! Another great thing, its a B&B but the rooms are all individual apartments with kitchens, and instead of going into a dining room for breakfast, they brought it to our apartments on trays! Best place ever, definately going back soon

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingonaprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

We stayed a Blairs Cove House for 2 nights B+B - a bit pricey but worth every penny!! You can also book for a weeks self catering which works out better value.
Blairs Cove is situated down a very bumpy small road just outside Durrus south of Bantry Co. Cork. When we arrived we were shown to our room/apartment through a gorgeous courtyard with lily pond and flowers.
We were allocated to blairs cove 2 which is a very modern apartment complete with a small but very functional kitchenette, dining table, elevated sitting area with floor to ceiling windows with a beautiful view. Also stairs to a mezzanine with king size bed, ensuite and lovely multijet power shower. Also gorgeous views from the top half of the full height windows - lovely to wake up to.
No space has been wasted - a brilliantly designed apartment for 2!
Our breakfast was delivered to our room both mornings (with a quick phone call to let you know it was on the way), what a brilliant breakfast!! We had enough to fill us and some left over for lunch!!
The couple who run Blairs Cove are French and very welcoming we were advised about what to do and see in the area. They have been running Blairs Cove for many years and know the area well.
They also have a restaurant on site in which we had a lovely meal. Buffet starters and desserts with a choice of main from an 'a la carte' menu. Again, not cheap but worth it for a special night out. Extensive wine list which is surprisingly not too pricey.
We would love to go back to Blairs Cove House, but for a week self catering with friends in one of the bigger properties as it was such a lovely relaxing place to stay with huge gardens which stretch right down to the waters' edge.
I would highly recommend Blairs Cove - it was our favourite place in a 10 day road trip around Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tato-birba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrus
6.0 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,190 reviews
9.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
186 reviews
11.5 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bantry
632 reviews
12.2 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
488 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blairscove House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blairscove House & Restaurant

Address: Durrus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Durrus
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durrus
Price Range: £181 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blairscove House & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Blairs Cove House Hotel Durrus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing