We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a Long Way to Tipperary.....”
Review of The Carraig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carraig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrick-on-Suir
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Its a Long Way to Tipperary.....”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Not Quite what I expected as the photographs on the net are very deceiving.... But the Staff ESP "Jackie" was very friendly and accommodating a pleasure to deal with.... Food Good Rooms OK.... A bit of a smell in the corridors..... But the staff do make you welcome....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    27
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
31
37
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We met with friends for a meal here on the Saturday before Christmas 2012...they were staying there, we weren't. The meal was really top notch, so tasty and well priced. We stayed on for the entertainment, not really expecting much. Boy were we surprised....the best 3-piece band we heard in a long time. I think they were called Carraig Brogue (probably the house band). They were brilliant and the atmosphere was electric, and all the locals were unbelievably friendly. It made our weekend for us. The drinks were reasonably priced too, considering the great free entertainment. My friends comments on the rooms were good, so we all intend returning as soon as we can. Would def reccommend.

Room Tip: Have your meals there, you won't get better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This was our second visit to the Carraig Hotel and from the moment we arrived we were well looked after. The staff are friendly, polite & offer fabulous customer service. We had a meal that evening which was delightful, the waitress who looked after us will go along way in the hospitality industry. The room was clean and spacious with plenty of tea, coffee & biscuits. We will definitely be coming back to the Carraig Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed in Carrick for three weeks, at the home of a relative, so did not avail ourselves of the hotel, but the restaurant was a frequent destination. The food was always excellent, breakfast, lunch or dinner, and the service was top-notch. Prices are moderate, especially for breakfast and lunch. The restaurant is open until 9:00 PM; the bar is open until later (we never stayed until the end to find out how late, but probably 11.

A distinct advantage we enjoyed was availability of (free) wireless Internet, allowing connection to our home and families in the U.S. Speeds were very good and the signal was strongest in the back, near the bar and smoker's garden.

The staff are mostly very good at service, and friendly. The Carrick bar is a very social place from morning until night. Many locals meet up there and often gather to watch sporting events, from football (soccer) to hurling to darts.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel has just had a refurb on it's downstairs bar/lobby area & it's looking great! We eat here regulary in both the bar and dining room and have yet to be disappointed in the food. Always extremely tasty and generous portions. The floor service isnt the best to be honest, quite hit and miss with one 1 or 2 gems working there at best. But it's worth overlooking this for the great grub and new settings!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuirTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick on Suir
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I have been getting Carvery at this hotel for the last four years and always the food has been in tip top shape. A great selection of dishes are to be had on a daily basis. The price is very competitive and would be very hard to beat for what one gets for their dosh.
The prompt service by all the staff there is also very welcoming indeed. You will go to many places in Ireland for eating out and I have to say that I would rather drive a distance to this hotel for food than take a chance elsewhere...take that from someone who has a catering backround.
Will deffo be back..well every day,as normal!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I recently had a meal in the restaurant with my family. The service was prompt, the food piping hot and it was certainly service with a smile. Both my father and I enjoy a good steak, the steak in the Carraig is hard to beat. Portion sizes were very generous each course was as tasty as the next. A very good selection of courses to choose from. Will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Suir
11.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
397 reviews
12.7 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
488 reviews
16.2 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,283 reviews
17.0 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
187 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carraig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carraig Hotel

Property: The Carraig Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrick-on-Suir, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Carrick-on-Suir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrick-on-Suir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carraig Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Carraig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carraig Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing