We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Convent
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond House(Cappoquin)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hearn's Hotel(Clonmel)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
164
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomcourse tasting menuboard gamestea coffeeon arrivalexceptional foodwine listlocal producefirst floorcup cakeslarge showerthose placesslice of heavenpre dinner drinkslocal apple juicefour poster bedfull house
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

As the name suggests the house was formerly a convent with the old chapel now the main dining room. Great setting for a fabulous meal.
Every course, 8 in total, at the meal was as good as the last.....and they were all excellent. Quality food and quality service!....and don't forget the breakfast, especially the homemade brown bread.

The room doesn't have a tv, instead you can take a dvd player and choose from a wide selection of movies from the guest lounge area. Great idea as the whole place is about relaxing and enjoying the atmosphere and not being distracted by the outside world.

Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Really loved it. Food was incredible. Room was lovely. Stayed in room 1. Christine was a wonderful host and the customer service here is fantastic. Will definitely go back and thought it was great value for what your getting.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishcouple47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Had a wonderful stay here. Really peaceful and perfect to recharge batteries.
Food was stunning. Had the 8 course taster menu and really could not fault it. The lamb and beef in particular were stunning.
Owners and staff really friendly and customer orientated. Enjoyed feeding the donkeys carrots!
The breakfast was again amazing and did not need to eat for the rest of the day.
Will go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jormn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My Boyfriend took me to 'The Old Convent' for a suprise birthday present and oh my God was it a suprise! This place is unreal in everyway! Staff so so friendly and helpful, accommodation excellent (we were in room 1, the Professors room), 4 post bed, seperate little room with sofa to chill! No TV which totally suits the surroundings.
However they have a little kitchenette for guests if they want to borrow one of the portable DVD's and watch one of the many DVD's available. And what's more they have lovely treats available to help you watch your movie(popcorn, homemade cookies, cold drinks etc). This little room also has many other things incase you forgot anything like your toothbrush/shampoo etc.
although all of this is AMAZING, the best part of our stay was the food! We arrived Saturday afternoon and had some of Christine's(owner) amazing little cakes. Then that night we opted for the bento box for dinner, absolutely amazing and then on Sunday evening we had the 8 course dinner, words can't describe how amazing it was. i'm a very fussy vegetarian and I enjoyed each course as much as the next. Finally breakfast, local sparkling apple juice, followed by fesh fruit & walnuts and greek yoghurt so excellently presented. And then a choice of 4 gorgeous dishes. I opted for the waffle, which came accompanied with 3 beautiful sides of fruit/syrup and potatoes(a weird request of mine).
Overall i couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are as good as the next!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous44186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We loved the convent, we chose the honeymoon suite as we are on our honeymoon. Our room was great - comfortable, very spacious and wonderfully decorated. It was great that there was no television, all in all very relaxing.
However, for us it was the food we had come for and we were not disappointed. The 8 course degustation meal was fabulous and compared/surpassed degustation we have had in Perth, Sydney and Bali. Nor did the breakfast disappoint, fresh fruit in yoghurt, sparkling apple juice, home made brown bread, toast and we both had the skillet eggs and smoked salmon. What a find in country Ireland, fantastic and if we were staying longer we would go back.
In addition to the rooms and food, there were great additions like the guest's kitchen which provided tea and coffee making facilities, water in the fridge and home made biscuits (unfortunately I was unable to have one as I was too well fed), dvds and players, games, books and the lounge room great for reading the morning paper and the pre dinner drink.
All the staff and owners were extremely friendly, very professional, natural and appeared to love their jobs.
Our only disappointment was the weather, it didn't stop raining (very heavy) for the whole time so we were unable to wander around the beautiful gardens or go for a walk in the countryside which is our other passion (to hike off the calories!).
Good luck for the future, it is well deserved.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is fantastic
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews