We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SEP 2013 STAY”
Review of The Old Convent

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clogheen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Convent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clogheen
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
351 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“SEP 2013 STAY”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

There is not much one needs to say other than - PERFECT! As a party of 4 (two couples) we somehow knew that this was going to be a treat and a location that would prove difficult to beat or even come close to over the ensuing 2 1/2 weeks left on our discovery tour. The web site is well done and the picture of the Old Convent was good, but nothing beats driving up to it and entering the gate to the property. We were instantly met at the front door by Christine (owner along with her husband Dermot, whom we met later). Christine is probably STILL astonished at the amount of luggage 2 couples can place into the boot of a Land Rover Discovery 4 - actually Land Rover would be equally astonished!! After a really warm welcome and checking into our rooms, we settled down to coffee, tea and cake in the drawing room, but not wanting to spoil the coming 8-course tasting dinner, we restrained ourselves. Upon entering the "Chapel" for dinner, we were silently screaming "YES" - one instantly knew that what we were about to experience would be nothing shy of spectacular - and it was! Dermot and his staff put on a display fine dining to the upper end, but yet not over the top - just 1st class in every way. The dining room staff and servers were among the best our group have ever experienced and each and every bite or sip was a pure joy. We would discover 10 days later in Clifden that one fine establishment had to stop serving dinners after Dermot had left to start his own new career - he IS that good!! Other than what has been said by me and others about The Old Convent and staff, one will also be given as much detail as one desires about what to do and see in the area. We made only one huge mistake associated with this 2-day stay - that we did not dine here for both days!! There is NO other option - nothing close. My wife & I will endeavor to return here one day - almost a singular reason to fly back to Ireland alone!! Well Done Christine & Dermot and your talented and lovely staff!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
121
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were very much looking forward to our stay at the Old Convent and from the moment we turned into the driveway and saw the home and grounds, we knew we were not going to be disappointed. The grounds and the Old Convent itself were beautiful - like something out of a storybook! Upon check-in, we were greeted by very attentive, courteous and friendly staff that showed us the home and led us to our room. We reserved the Honeymoon Suite since we were on our Honeymoon and we were so impressed with the room! VERY big with a separate sitting room with full couch, nice bathroom and gorgeous bedroom with our very own soaking tub in a separate cove of the bedroom! Talk about looking forward to relaxation! And both night's sleep was excellent! The first evening of our stay (Friday night) we chose to have the prepared Bento Box for dinner. Dermot is a superb chef and our meal was AMAZING! We had the separate dining room to ourselves and everyone at The Old Convent made us feel like royalty! On Saturday night, we enjoyed Dermot's 8-Course Tasting Menu in the main dining room. We were left speechless at how DELICIOUS each and every course was. My husband is a chef and greatly appreciated the attention to taste and detail on every plate presented! On the same note, breakfast on both mornings by Dermot was equally delicious and Christine's smiling face and friendly personality was a wonderful way to start the day. My husband planned a picnic for him and I on Saturday afternoon and Christine was more than helpful in providing what we needed and also the directions to hike to a wonderful and serene lake! And relaxing in the soaking tub in our bedroom after the hike was even better! On our stay we also made sure to explore the grounds including feeding apples to the donkeys! What fun! We HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Old Convent to travelers! Exploring Ireland's countryside, sights and attractions can be wonderful and fun, but also exhausting and our stay at The Old Convent was exactly what we needed! Relaxation!! Fantastic hospitality from Christine and Dermot, superb staff and phenomenal home! Thank you to The Old Convent for being part of our Honeymoon travels and adventures in Ireland and adding that special touch to our Honeymoon stay - what wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite was AWESOME!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motown07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I arrived at the Old Convent in Clogheen on Fri 20th Sept, '13. We were greeted by the wonderful Christine and given a guided tour of the building with a touch of history. Then we were invited to coffee and cake in the drawing room. Freshly brewed coffee and a delicious lemon cake, the frosting was awesome! We retired to our room, The Loft Suite, beautifully decorated (minimalist) with a little stairs in the room leading up to a loft which held a single bed. The bathroom was so large, a free standing bath, the décor was black/white tiled flooring and a mauve/lavender tone to the walls. The heating was on for a little bit when we arrived and it felt so cosy and comforting. We went down to dinner for 8 pm. The 'wow' factor, an 8 course taster menu. Sounds like a lot of food but to me it was just perfect. Local produce and some of the items on the menu are produced by Dermot and Christine Gannon themselves. I was really taken with the 'candied' nuts. From start to finish the meal was sumptuous. The dining room staff were wonderful, helpful but discreet and very quietly spoken. There are so many little hidden treasures in the place. I was very taken with the little room/cubby hole on the 1st floor, tea/coffee/biscuits/sweets/water/apple juice... all just left there for each guest to help themselves. A library of books and DVD's with your own personal DVD player. Breakfast on Saturday morn was also a treat. Not your typical fare, juice was locally sourced Strawberry Juice with a sparkle served in a champagne flute. Spelt bread with candied nuts and seeds. I had the poached eggs and salmon (divine) Kevin had the traditional Irish, but again the quality of the produce made it even more delicious. Thank you to the Gannons for a wonderful experience and to my boss FOD for the gift voucher that took us there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect in every way from our first correspondence with Christine to her heartfelt send-off when parting at the end of our stay.
The attention given to the guests comfort, enjoyment and wishes is exceptional. Dermot's Artisan Tasting menu is not to be missed. Everything that comes out of his kitchen, whatever the meal, is unique and delicious. There's a fully stocked pantry upstairs for the guests convenience, especially handy for those mid-night snacks some of us can't do without. Cahir Castle and the walk down to The Swiss Cottage make for an enjoyable 1/2 day outing, whilst the other half can be spent wandering the grounds, feeding the mules, relaxing in the garden or enjoying a good book or the company of others in the drawing rooms. Would love to visit again if ever the opportunity presents itself.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pspon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hospitality at The Old Convent really is unique; the physical surrounds are both comfortable and elegant. The food is amazing. Actually, the food is a destination in itself. Hosts Christine and Dermot are completely welcoming, and so approachable. The Old Convent doesn't exude quality - it's more effortless than that - The Old Convent embodies quality. I stayed just for a night, as a treat after a few days travel in the west of Ireland; I could not have found a more gorgeous place in which to relax and luxuriate. A supremely comfortable bed, a huge bath, restful views from three windows, exquisite food, kind hosts and a pervading air of tranquillity... it all comes together in such rare fashion. This is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: My 'room' consisted of bedroom, bathroom and entry hall with wardrobe; and from a peek into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is perhaps the best restaurant I've ever been to. It is fabulous. Went with some friends as a catch up and everything about it was perfect. In fact I wet back with my husband after this. We didn't stay overnight but I wish we did. It was just a fantastic experience. The food was unforgettable. I really wish this hotel/restaurant the very best of luck and I think they have made their own luck already. The management must be excellent - Its obvious the chef/s are and staff are so efficient, friendly and awake. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standardsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We came here for a family treat and were stunned with how great the meal here was. The staff were extremely friendly and couldnt do enough to help us. My wife was pregnant and they substituted out any course where there were ingredients she couldnt have but the dishes she was given in their place were of the highest quality. My wifes mother is vegetarian and she was delighted by the courses that were provided for her. The rest of us were meat eaters and we loved our meal. It was simply one of the best meals we had every had. Deserving of a star.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddygalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clogheen
17.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
583 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
7.6 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
397 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
108 reviews
13.6 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Convent

Property: The Old Convent
Address: Mount Anglesby, Clogheen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clogheen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clogheen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Old Convent Hotel Clogheen
Old Convent Clogheen
Old Convent Hotel Clogheen
The Old Convent Clogheen, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing