We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Convent
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond House(Cappoquin)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hearn's Hotel(Clonmel)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Minella(Clonmel)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
164
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomcourse tasting menuboard gamestea coffeeon arrivalexceptional foodwine listlocal producefirst floorcup cakeslarge showerthose placesslice of heavenpre dinner drinkslocal apple juicefour poster bedfull house
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We stayed in room No. 4 with small sitting area in the corner of the room beside the small clinical bathroom with no window, decorated with highest standards in mind but poorly finished. Room number 4 suffers from noise due to the fact that’s its adjacent to the handy kitchen on the landing which may explain why room number 4 is so small in comparison to the other rooms (Had a peak at the other bedrooms and they did seem more spacious.) At least one of the more spacious rooms on the floor remained unoccupied but we were not offered a change of room.
Dinner was Exceptional with every course excellent and well taught out and so tasty. Breakfast next morning was of the same high standard. Their attention to detail of the food is not followed trough into the accommodation, where it seems that they had good intentions when renovating the building but skimped on the finishes. For such a beautiful building to have replaced the original windows with PVC ones is a travesty.

Would return again for the exceptional food but not for the accommodation!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tippadvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

An out of the way oasis in the heart of Tipperary well worth the effort. The Old Convent has been discovered by the Irish but is a "must" for all vacationers seeking top rate accommodations and extraordinary food. Dermot and Christine Gannon, the innkeepers are devoted to the comfort and care of their visitors. Our room was spotless, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. An optional treat is an 8 course dinner served nightly in an elegant dining room which rivals the best we've experienced in New York and other European destinations. Breakfast, which is included, is an elegant cornucopia of offerings. Take some time to relax during your visit. It really isn't about running to the next place! Two nights here could be very refreshing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2007

We celebrated a family birthday in The Old Convent in early October. we all had a great time. The 8 course tasting menu was wonderful, some of the dishes were inspired, we will remember the pork and the lamb including the sweetbreads for a while. The choclate 'fondue' sharing dessert was lovely, we couldn't finish it.
The vegetarian in the group was delighted with the care taken over her special dishes. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarianR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

The Old Convent [--] was the highlight of our trip to Ireland. Owner Christine is the ultimate hostess, showing us to out honeymoon suite and allowing us to look at other rooms, too. All were different and beautiful.We settled in and then walked around taking pictures of the gorgeous place..so many beautiful stained glass windows! Christine, will all her patience, was happy to answer our many questions, and tell us the history of this beautiful place. Her husband and staff fed us an outstanding gourmet 8 course meal in the beautiful dining room. We enjoyed local cheese, fish, greens, and even local chocolate, in the form of a lovely fondue. We could not have asked for a finer ending to our trip. If you want upscale accomodations, a gourmet dining experience, a lovely pastoral setting and friendly folks, you must stay here! It is just a short 20 minutes from the Rock of Cashel, and so is easy to incorporate as a stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanienobaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

My partner and I stayed at The Old Convent last weekend for one night. We were in pusuit of a gourmet experience and our expectations were met and exceeded. We checked in around 4 and were met by the wonderfully warm Christine. Christine and Dermot have managed to turn an old convent into a warm, authentically decorated period building and removed all trace (bar the stained glass windows) of it's previous existance.

As we arrived petit fours and strawberries were available in the living room. We stayed in room 5 which is decorated in muted lilac and cream, it has a double bed and a small set of stairs up to a mezzanine level with a window seat and single bed. The bathroom has a seperate large shower with a lovely slipper bath where you can lie and look out the window to the green fields beyond - aaahhh! The bed was super comfy, toiletries of good quality, beautiful flower arrangements in the room and spotlessly clean.

On the first floor there is a small kitchen area where guests can help themselves to bottled water, juices, fizzy drinks, teas, coffee, milk etc fruit, chocolates, cookies, popcorn and nuts, I kid you not! It's a lovely, lovely touch for a small establishment that does not have room service to make sure guests have snacks and drinks available at night. Also available in the kitchenette are two portable tvs with built in dvd players and a very large selection of old and new movies for your after dinner relaxation (we did and it was just a lovely quiet way to end the night). Rooms do not have tvs or phones - Christine and Dermot are keen to have a quiet, relaxing environment.

Now. The Food. It deserves the capital 'F'. Guests generally gather in the living room at 7.15 to puruse the wine list and view the night's menu, you are brought into the dining room around 7.30, there is one sitting for dinner. The tasting menu is 8 courses long at at time of writing is €58, there is an optional 9th course of artisan cheeses €10 with a glass of port (we took it to bed to allow ourselves time to digest - and it was not a problem). The dining room seats maybe 20-25 at a guess and they are pretty booked up. Service is wonderful, attentive but not overbearing.

The menu changes nightly, but to give you an example ours was:
Crab blini served with mozzerellya and cherry tomato. A pool of crab (so fresh!) was topped with a springy, fluffy blini, topped with a sliver of silky mozzerella, topped with a slice of fresh fig, topped with half a cherry tomato with a couple of leaves of rocket drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Beautiful, fresh and clean.

Butternut squash and mint veloute, such a silky soft joy, real essence of the ingredients.

Organic pork salad with risotto - Lord! My partner who is not a risotto fan thought it was wonderful.

Organic ginger and lemon sorbet, really refreshing and cleansing after the previous courses.

Beef fillet with wild mushroom and potato mash, the beef was perfectly cooked to order, I personally would have preferred it a little more pink, but it is most likely cooked in two pieces, one pink and one well and in general Irish people don't like their meat too pink.

Tahitian vanilla and Irish Cream icecream martini, lovely, but I suspect not stretching Dermot's desert ability. Or perhaps in hindsight looking over the menu his forte is not desserts, and that's ok too!

The Old Convent Chocolate Fondue, again not too exciting however the chocolate was of superb quality and absolutely delicious.

I know I've left out one course but at this moment it's slipped my mind.

Breakfast was served between 9.30 and 10.30 and my fear of being let down was not realised! The same attention to ingredients at dinner carries through to breakfast in terms of the quality of food and service, eggs are organic and breakfast meats are free range, very tasty although I still was full from dinner I wasn't able to fully experience The Old Convent breakfast fully, unfortunately! Daily papers are available.

It is an expensive spot, our room (B&B) was €85, dinner for two €118 and we had a half bottle of champagne, a bottle of chablis, a half bottle of Fluerie, two dessert wines and two ports bringing our drinks bill to €114, however if money it tight it is the perfect spot for a birthday treat, anniversary or any special occaision. If money is not tight for you try to go as often as possible!!

It would not take much more in terms of attention to detail in service and in food for The Old Convent to achieve a Michelin star, I say this to indicate how good the experience is only, the impression I get is the Christine and Dermot are not about accolades and awards, they are about good quality ingredients, local and organic where possible and doing justice to the quality of that food in a beautiful environment - in my mind they have achieved just that.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews