We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from this amazing hotel & I'm suffering withdrawal symptoms. This place is a must visit. We stayed in the Lodge & it's like stepping back in time to the 50's but with all the creature comforts of today. There were 25 of us in total spread out across the facility but all converged for dinner at once. The food is stunning, served promptly and is a taste sensation. Matt the barman is the most patient human I know! Well done the Dundon's!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TurasNua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear TurasNua,

Many thanks for your recent review of your stay with us last weekend.

I'm delighted that you had a great time with us and will pass your comments on to Matt regarding his patience!!

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to see us again soon!

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    134
    97
    72
    45
See reviews for
101
372
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

To say a big thank you to Paul, Robbie and all the staff at Dunbrody for a wonderful twenty-fours hours staying with you. All staff without exception, were so very friendly and attentive. Paul, even when I was nosey and peering into the kitchen, you very kindly invited me in, thank you. I ordered, for my main dish that night, monkfish - Robbie, it was to die for, thank you so much. I treated myself to a massage which was heavenly, from Laura. What I loved about this aspect of a treatment session, is that it is seperate from the house and nobody is walking around the house in a dressing gown - which I hate and would actually turn me off going to a place where clients go to the Spa area through the hotel/house.

Looking forward to a return visit

Yours sincerely
Anne

Room Tip: Booked into a superior room and upgraded to a junior suite, so spacious - no noise what-so-ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Anne B,

We very much appreciated your lovely feedback regarding your stay with us last week.

Thank you very much for the positive comments; we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited Dunbrody for an afternoon and enjoyed a lovely lunch.
Service was excellent. Everyone went out of their way to be accommodating. The food was served in good time, was presented very well, in good portions and very tasty. And don't even talk about the deserts.
And if you have time, the grounds are just lovely and worth a look around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Canonfan,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

We are very pleased with your comments and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to see us again soon and very much appreciate your custom.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I brought my wife here for a birthday present. We took advantage of the dinner, B+B package. This was excellent value. We had a great stay from start to finish. On arrival we were upgraded in our room. The room was beautiful and was true in maintain the character of such a country house.

We went for a drink before dinner and took our time examining the menus prior to going to our table. The food was excellent. The service was friendly and good. The dining room was full and this led to a very good atmosphere.

Breakfast again the next morning was excellent, we both went for the full Irish breakfast.

Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tosh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Tosh12345,

Many thanks for the recent review of your stay here for your wife's birthday.

We appreciate the lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon!

Best Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have just returned from a short stay at Dunbrody House and can't wait to return again soon. If you enjoy beautiful surroundings and excellent food then this is the place for you. From the moment we arrived we were met by welcoming staff and encouraged to sit back and relax and enjoy the whole experience. Food is central to your stay at Dunbrody and we weren't disappointed. Dinner was outstanding, a culinary experience not be forgotten. Everything about the house exudes relaxation and comfort. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendanx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Brendanx2013,

Thank you very much for the great review which you left recently.

We really appreciate the positive feedback and are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us particularly the food & relaxation.

Fingers crossed we will welcome you back to see us again soon.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here recently with my partner and loved it. It is so tranquil with old world charm. From the moment we checked in with a lovely welcome nothing was to much trouble. The restaurant staff were great, nothing was too much trouble when I told them about my dietary requirements which sometimes cause problems. My husbands beef was great, I had the lamb and was particularly pleased with it.
Afterwards we had a drink in the bar with the lovely open fires and the smell of turf burning really relaxes you. The bedroom was lovely, all rooms are differently decorated, ours was room 210 which was really something.
Breakfast the next morning was very nice also, the cooked breakfast was really something, I don't think I've had one tastier before! Overall it was lovely, I was worried after reading the last review but shouldn't have as all was as I had expected, peaceful and completely relaxing.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magsda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Magsda,

Many thanks for your lovely review of your stay with us here at Dunbrody Country House recently.

We appreciate you honesty and I am glad that your stay was as you had expected!

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I had a really lovely one night stay at the Dunbrody House Hotel. The hotel is warm and welcoming.

The bedrooms had lovely antique furniture and thick curtains. The bed was really comfortable. I had the best night sleep in weeks!

We had an early bird dinner . good selection of three for each course. I particullarily liked the Hake with Lemon butter and the creme Brulee.

The staff were all really helpful and friendly and ensured we had a great break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aireagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear aireagail,

Thank you for the great feedback from your stay with us here recently.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in particular the food in the restaurant and the decoration of the bedrooms.

Once again a big thank you for your feedback, we look forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel Arthurstown, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing