We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn in Dunbrody!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Autumn in Dunbrody!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just back from Dunbrody and a memorable weekend with my fiancé. Had been looking forward to visiting here for a few months so we decided to head as a treat and weren’t disappointed. We had dinner on the Saturday evening and the food and service were really excellent. Friends of ours were also visiting during the day at a Cookery course which also looked very busy and it was good to catch up with them. There are lots of areas to relax and read around the old house and the room was also decorated very tastefully and in the country house style. The estate and walled garden areas are also very large so plenty of space to walk around if you want to stretch the legs. I would also definitely recommend a drive to the nearby Hook head and Loftus hall, which along with Tintern abbey were really impressive lots to see in the area. Big thanks to all the staff who were all very friendly to us and made our weekend special. Looking forward to getting to head back again already!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Dave S,

Thank you very much for the lovely review of our hotel here at Dunbrody Country House.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all that we had to offer and thank you for your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    140
    101
    72
    46
See reviews for
107
388
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just returned from Dunbrody House and overall were disappointed. We had booked through the Blue Book website, as we had vouchers and the offer was a check in of 2pm and check out at 2pm the following day, with a complimentary room upgrade, subject to availability. Unfortunately we didn't check beforehand if we would get an upgrade. When we were shown to the room, we were really disappointed. It was dark, pokey and tatty - it really needs redecoration. The wallpaper was oppressively dark, given there was only one tiny window, and was ripped in places. There was a shortage of lighting in the room too - very hard to read at night with the dated bedside lights. There was an only one old armchair which was very shabby and needed reupholstering. I would expect a much higher standard than this - the room was not cheap! We phoned reception and told them we weren't happy with the room and that with the Blue Book offer, that we had been expecting an upgrade. But the receptionist informed us there were no other rooms free. It would have been nice if we had been told on check-in that an upgrade would not be possible.
A chowder for lunch was fine, although we were served the fish on its own and we were left wondering where the rest of it was until a waitress reappeared a couple of minutes later with the missing broth! Dinner was good, although not worth the €65 that was priced on the menu and service was painfully slow. After dinner, we ordered drinks and they were served by a member of the bar staff whose hands were absolutely filthy - really off-putting.
In fairness, breakfast was excellent, with a very good selection and we were happily surprised by the fact that they served breakfast until noon! The common areas are plush and attractive - which is just as well, when you don't really want to spend much time in your room.
Overall unless you can afford to pay for a better room, I would not recommend staying here - as an alternative I would suggest the Cliff House - far more luxurious accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingGalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear TravellingGalDublin,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us recently.

I am sorry that you did not get the upgrade that you expected, 99% of the time we are able to upgrade our guests booked through the Blue book however on this occasion we were completely booked out. It does state at the time of booking that upgrades are dependent on availability.
I am surprised that you did not like the design of the room, most of our guests love the fact that all our rooms are individually decorated and the cosiness of the country house rooms.
I apologise about the delay involving your chowder, we serve the fish in the bowl firstly and then pour over the chowder, all of our guests rave about how unique it is.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast the next morning and the fact that we serve until midday. It is a little something that we feel our guests do appreciate while staying on a relaxing break.
Once again thank you for your feedback, we will of course take all of your comments on board and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the hotel. The drive into the hotel from the main road is very badly maintained. We arrived after a long journey to find no one in reception. After 5 minutes a pleasant girl arrived and checked us in. The rooms are ok. Could do with a bit of an update as could the bathroom. Went to the bar for a drink with my wife and was surprised at there prices. I was even more surprised to see that my bottle of beer was part of a multi-pack and was marked not for individual resale. This was repeated the following day at the wedding. I would have complained on the day but we were guests at a close friends wedding so didn't bother making a fuss. Bar food that evening was ok, nothing like what I was expecting from a hotel with a reputation for food like this has. Again breakfast the following two days and the meal at the wedding was of a very ordinary standard. 8 potatoes served at a table with 10 people! Service was generally good and any of the staff we dealt with were very pleasant. Overall it was a big let down and I couldn't help leaving feeling completely ripped off. Definitely won't be returning anytime soon.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here recently and we were disappointed with the overall experience. When we arrived at the 'reception' there was noone to greet us after our 4 hour drive to get there. Somebody finally did come after we asked another hotel employee. We were immediately showed to our room and asked did we want Sunday papers that would be added to our bill !! Room was nice but a bit rundown. Tap water in a fancy bottle was on offer. The bar was nice as was the bar food. However the evening meal was very poor and a dissappointment as this was what we were looking forward to. We felt that the place was understaffed and lacking soul. We will not be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went for Sunday lunch to celebrate my mothers 80 th birthday . The hotel on arrival on a dreary Sunday was warm and welcoming , we were early so we're shown to a lovely small room where we had pre dinner drinks. The staff at all times were efficient helpful and friendly , and our 4 course meal was enjoyed by all 8 of us , and very good value for Money . The only tiny quibble I would have is that the dining room is far too big and it had an empty feeling about it. After lunch we went to the bar , again friendly bar man, and a lovely way to pass a Sunday . All of us came away very happy and would definitely recommend it to a friend .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A friend and I had afternoon tea in Dunbrody House yesterday. Overall the experience was excellent, the variety and quality if the food was excellent.The real fire was so lovely and cosy on such a miserable day! Lots of people in the house having dinner and drinks which made for a wonderful atmosphere. The lady in charge was really lovely and friendly and took time to check we were doing ok and chat. It would have been full marks except for one bar man who could try to be a bit more personable. Trying to make polite conversation with him when I was paying was totally ignored to the point of rudeness and on two occasions he took coffee and water from the table that was not finished without asking. The other staff were so lovely and focused on customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WhiteFarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

During the last week in August we were staying in a house in Dunmore East with the family so my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to one night, dinner bed and breakfast which was extremely poor to say the least! The room was just adequate. Our dinner was not great, we both chose the lamb for our main course, which consisted of two very small chops! My husband complained and was given another couple. The dining room left a lot to be desired as there was absolutely no atmosphere. Our breakfast was awful too. It said on the menu "any type of eggs" so my husband ordered eggs benedict to be told "we don't do them" any type refers to poached, fried or scrambled. His fried egg must have been cooked by a young student, I wouldn't have presented a black crispy fried egg to anyone! Needless to say Kevin Dundon was nowhere to be seen, he was probably busy in the US or writing his latest book. I think it is incredible to think that this hotel is described as a small LUXURY hotel with LUXURY accommodation and supposedly considered "one of Ireland's Premier Hotels & Restaurant". Definitely not! I would not recommend anyone to stay or eat there and we were very disappointed in the whole experience. H Hughes

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
676 reviews
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
6.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel Arthurstown, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing