We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary at Dunbrody Harvest Restaurant. Kicked off the night with cocktails in the champagne bar, followed by dinner. The food was excellent, service great and the atmosphere in the restaurant was very welcoming and lively. Finished off the night with a visit to the Local at Dunbrody...... A terrific new pub on the hotel grounds. A great experience all round.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Klynch626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    133
    96
    70
    45
See reviews for
98
365
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dulin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed in Dunbrody for 3 days, food was out of this world, staff were amazing could not do enough for us, beautiful grounds, did not want to go home !!! While in Dunbrody my husband celebrated his birthday the staff were so good to us made us feel very special

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night at the end of November. Check-in was very straightforward & welcoming though we were forced to park a bit away due to the small car park.

Room was compact but then again, given the age of the building there isn't much the owners could do.

Ate in the restaurant & had a really enjoyable evening. Between us we had scallops, wood pigeon, duck & venison - must say we found everything delicious. Breakfast on the other hand was a let down. Although not very busy we waited 15 minutes to have our order taken & another 40 to be served (with no fresh coffee forthcoming). When breakfast did arrive it was nothing special & were it not included in our room rate I would not have paid €25 each for it.

Hopefully this was just a bad day (which everyone is entitled to occasionally) & I would return, at the rates applicable though bad days should be few & far between

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boo___Boo___Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We started off a bit rocky in that I went with my sister and they gave us a double room instead of the requested twin room. But other that that little mishap which was rectified this house is a gem of a place.
The staff, for me, are its biggest selling point. So friendly and chatty that you do not feel like a guest in a hotel but rather an old friend staying in a mate's house for a few days.
Kevin Dundoon is a gent of a host and he sat with my sister and I and swapped recipes on different foods and how to adapt them for all.
That is not to take away from the food, lovely meals both nights from the main restuarant and the bar and a hearty breakfast each morning.
This is also a great location in which to see the rest of Wexford, be it Hook Head, Loftus Hall or the fishing village of Kilmore Quay.
Overall, I would highly recommend this home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Dunbrody
High class recommended for dinner
At the main bar the fish and chips were excellent so was the Hake ( though a bit small) Small issue no rice for a high quality resort, pasta was offered has a replacement but very dry no sauce of any kind aioli or tomato sauce, etc.
Instead of 90% they could of got 100%
Wine selection fabulous for not so many choices. Very attentive staff Can't talk about rooms or spa since we were here only for dinner They have an old stable converted into a bar with good food as we could understand from other patrons. Also a more lively atmosphere.
This place is not for the faint of heart if you are financially conscious.
They a fancy restaurant, we were not dressed for the occasion. Therefore no comments, Lavish decor for the discerning traveler, ground floor impressive

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I recently attended a Masterchef Cookery Course for 5 days in Dunbrody Cookery School. Our Tutor for the course was Julien Clemot, an expert in his field. He delivered the course with enthusiasm and expertise, and made the course very interesting and appetising. We stayed in the Hotel and must compliment all the staff for their efficient friendly service. We loved our rooms looking out over the garden. I would highly recommend a cookery course at this school and would hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo492013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I ate in the Dunbrody Restaurant a couple of months ago and I left feeling annoyed and disappointed. The starter, main course & dessert were very nice, but the petit fours were extremely disappointing; in fact just plain awful. There were 3 of us at the table & we were given (thrown) a plate of 4 miserable truffles that tasted foul. The supervisor, a thin black haired woman, completely ignored us all night & made us feel very unwelcome, treating us more as an inconvenience than paying customers. At the end, we handed her a very generous tip (considering the service) & she never thanked us or said goodbye. Considering the price of the meal, you would expect friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aoife_H_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Aoife_H_1,

Thank you for your review of your meal with us over two months ago. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the starter, main course & dessert. It is quite upsetting that you did not elaborate a little more on this instead of focusing on the petit fours so much. Do not get me wrong of course I will look at the quality of the petit fours but a little more emphasis on the general food experience would be appreciated.
I am also sorry that you felt that the supervisor on the night (who is our Restaurant Manager) was ignoring you. All of our guests are very welcome to our hotel and we hope to treat everyone with the utmost of respect. I do however find it hard to believe that she ignored you all evening especially when she has to take your order at the table and check on you to ensure everything is to your satisfaction.
All in all I feel disappointed that you gave us two out of five for a meal where you hardly discussed your total experience at all but focused on two incidents which you felt more or less ruined your night.
Once again thank you for your review; it is very much appreciated.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
22.6 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel Arthurstown, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing