We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the south east”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem in the south east”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay. On arrival we were checked in quickly and taken to our suite. It was beautiful, old style charm with all mod-cons. The house is beautifully maintained. Dinner was an experience, it was so relaxed and the food was excellent. Their chocolate taster desert was the nicest desert I have ever had.
The staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much for their guests. We would have loved to have met Kevin and Catherine but they were away.
Take the opportunity to walk around the grounds and woodland. Its so peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    138
    100
    71
    46
See reviews for
107
381
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here - our sixth return visit over so many years, so were looking forward hugely. Food in restaurant was very good but bar food and service second night was really poor - had to send back pan fried salmon which was actually raw in middle and when second offering arrived the portion was half the size of first but was cooked - felt like punishment!
Real disappointment was with the accommodation - having had superb upgrade experiences in the past we went for an upgrade and very strangely got a room - with a view overlooking the garden - yes but opposite the laundry room which meant we were listening to and smelling the laundry and the door to it opened and closed every 10 mins by staff ( which is not there fault as they are working ) but an upgrade opposite the laundry room is not an upgrade and felt like we were robbed - especially as we paid extra for it. Little notice taken when complaint made - poor service at skeleton reception - excellent service from staff in restaurant and spa but sadly after more than a decade of loyalty can't see us returning to Dunbrody any time soon - seems they couldn't care less as is reflected by the cracked tiles and damaged panel in bathroom - care less - a great pity.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grainnehealy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed recently with a party in the Lodge in Dunbrody House Hotel. Noises from unoccupied rooms and cold spots in those rooms. First night was exhausted and slept until morning, but the girl sharing had an experience which left her not wanting to sleep there the following night. Throughout the weekend several members of the group had similiar experiences and were left shaken. Two of the girls refused to sleep in the lodge on the second night and went over to the hotel to sleep. On checkout, the girls brought this to the attention of the desk staff and enquired if anyone else had a similiar experience during their stay. They were told no, however, apparently, sightings of a woman in the hotel was known, friendly and harmless. So, I'm curious to know if anybody who has stayed there has had an uneasy experience like ours. Apart from that, the lodge is a beautiful building, and the staff were friendly and nice to deal with. I would not go back to the lodge as this experience of strange banging, cold spots and feeling of unease left me drained.

Room Tip: Book into the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from Dunbrody House where we had a very relaxing stay. Check in was fast, our room was beautiful, staff for the most part were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. The food was excellent, had dinner the first night in the bar beside a beautiful fire, menu was good with something for everyone. Breakfast was beautiful as was dinner in the restaurant on the 2nd night. We also visited the local pub on the hotel grounds. It too is very nice, we enjoyed a beautiful lunch there that was very reasonably priced. My only criticism is one lady who appears to be a manager of some form,y husband visited the spa and a nice lady said although they were very busy she would fit him in for a massage, however this manager lady came along and rudely overruled her, lucky for him there was a cancellation later and he was accommodated. One small blip but overall a fabulous experience. Both Kevin Dundon and his wife Catherine were there and were very welcoming .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Louth, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel, with really nice staff and amazing food. Do not hesitate to book. My husband and I stayed midweek and he said the breakfast was the best he ever had. We met Kevin and his wife at breakfast, which was lovely. Dinner was great, wine fantastic and staff made it a very enjoyable stay. Room was great, spotless, spacious and a good sized bathroom. I rarely submit a review but we really enjoyed ourselves and we feel the last two reviews do not reflect our stay. Thanks to everyone in Dunbrody.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leonab244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

From the moment I confirmed our booking, which was a gift, we were being offered upgrades and services not needed or asked for. The house, staff and food was fine but we were billed for extras which were not made clear on the voucher. Also their onsite outside 'Bar' was only open early weekends only, this was not mentioned as we were mid week. Beware, check before you book or order.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colmdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We went to Dunbrody for lunch a couple of weeks ago. We ordered Smokies and Salmon, The salmon arrived totally uncooked inside. The smokies arrived and was tiny. And both courses were expensive for what they were.
The smokies looked as if they had taken some fish out of the Chowder and covered it with cheese.

I complained and we were offered a desert, but by that stage it was too late and we didn't feel like anything else. The attitude was take it or leave it.. and was charged the full price. The ladies toilet was clean but the wallpaper was half off the walls and it was very grubby. This hotel has notions of grandeur but in my book it would be a 3 star.

I wrote an email outlining my points, but like your other contributors I got no reply.

Maybe they should take a leaf out of the Castlemartyr book where we stayed for six days at Christmas and it was a complete delight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Peter B
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us

I am very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay. I appreciate time taken to leave your comments
Guest feedback is an essential tool for us in order to continually improve all areas of operation here at Dunbrody Country house Thank you very much for your in depth comments which we have passed on to the various different Department Heads who will certainly look into your findings with their individual staff.

We pride ourselves on our good reputation for both food and service so it is naturally extremely disappointing when any of our guests is unhappy with any element of what we do. My sincere apologies if the standards you experienced did not live up to your expectations on this occasion


Once again thank you for your review;. I would hope that you will give us a chance to redeem your faith in us and come back to visit again in the future.

Your Sincerely
Fearghal O Sullivan
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
660 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,771 reviews
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel Arthurstown, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing