We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Haven Hotel(Dunmore East)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Three Sisters Inn(Dunmore East)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (711)
    Filter reviews
    711 results
    Traveller rating
    330
    147
    108
    78
    48
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    330
    147
    108
    78
    48
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslocal pubtasting menukevin dundoncookery schoolfish and chipsoverlooking the gardenthe main houseupgraded to a suitecookery coursesmoked salmonuntil noonthe main dining roomhook headbar menuold houseafternoon teaa real treat
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    328 - 333 of 711 reviews
    Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

    Dunbrody is great-mostly because if the staff and the old house. The whole experience was wonderful-esp the staff and how friendly and efficient they were.
    I do think though this hotel is a very overpriced. The rooms are lovely as is the food but altogether overpriced by about 30%. It's such a shame they charge 5 star prices for decor that although is lovely-is so tired. I probably wouldn't return here unless I had to just because it's so overpriced. There are lovely little country houses all over Ireland that don't charge such high prices. Hopefully the owner will take on board these reviews and lower prices or refurbish it to the standard that reflect the price he is charging guests.

    Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    2  Thank PaperMoon12
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2014

    The overall experience was very disappointing. We had many problems with our room: TV not working properly; curtains and rail falling down; no plug for bath or sink; and empty shampoo bottles in our bathroom. When we informed management about this we found them quite unhelpful. While the food was very nice, the quality of service falls far short of any other blue book location I have stayed in. This hotel is extremely overpriced for what you get – it was not a luxurious experience at all. We had previously considered choosing this hotel for our wedding, however, having stayed there, we wouldn’t dream of it.

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank Zephyr16
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 April 2014

    Stayed here for a Thursday night recently. Hotel was quiet- there were only about 8 of us for dinner! Room was lovely - old fashioned and charming. Staff were extremely friendly both in the house itself and in the little pub on the grounds. Food was only good not amazing , to be honest i expected to be blown away but wasnt. Breakfast was 25 euro- i have no idea what you get for 25 euro but I wasnt paying it! We went down the road to the Hook Head lighthouse and had a lovely cup of tea and scone while watching the wild waves crash onto the rocks- for about 3 euro. In summary,a lovely charming house with really friendly staff - I would be aware of cost though, and try to book when they have special offers

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank NabaRD
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 March 2014

    Stayed here in March 2014. Dunbrody House is a beautiful period hotel. Many of the period features are retained. However the hotel needs some money spent on refurbishment, water stains on ceilings, cracked walls (wall papered). But apart from that a lovely hotel where you can relax. A lovely area with fabulous scenery.
    On arrival were upgraded. Our room had a lovely view of the gardens. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Plusfore
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 March 2014

    We visited Dunbrody House last week for my husband's 40th birthday. It was a surprise to him all the way to the house and an added unexpected surprise that their signature is a Heron which is his surname! (something I didn't notice that when booking!). We really had a lovely memorable time, a short relaxing break away from our children. The staff were friendly and very attentive. They upgraded us as it was his birthday. We enjoyed afternoon tea, Lyric FM playing on the radio when we entered the very pretty bedroom room and the rabbits playing on the grass outside our bedroom window was a nice touch too :) We enjoyed the five course meal. Breakfast does feel a bit expensive for what it is but overall we felt we got great value for a mid-week deal. We look forward to returning. It must be a big job to keep such an old house ticking over and so well presented, well done.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SarahTraynor
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews