We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Dunbrody House for one night. Had booked a spa appointment and on check in our room was ready for us two hours early and we received a complimentary upgrade to a suite. The spa was lovely and we later had a gorgeous afternoon tea in the bar. We had dinner in the restaurant. The dinning room is a lovely relaxing and spacious room. The food was simply delicious. Breakfast next morning was served in the dinning room and again was suberb. The pastry chef deserves a special mention - the croissants and Danish pastries were second to none. Our suite had a lovely balcony which looked out on the garden and the bed was extremely comfortable. All the staff we met were extremely professional, courteous and most importantly very friendly. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a quiet romantic getaway.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    134
    97
    70
    45
See reviews for
99
368
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed with a group in the lodge. I am not easily frightened but I will not forget that weekend for a long time. Between clothes and items being removed from closed cases, banging from empty rooms, footsteps around the bed in middle of night and large heavy old bed moving while we were in it, to name just some of it, terrifying. Much of this happened during the day. Management said they knew of a lady ghost in the hotel but not the lodge, they seemed to think it was funny, we didn't. We won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Dunbrody is great-mostly because if the staff and the old house. The whole experience was wonderful-esp the staff and how friendly and efficient they were.
I do think though this hotel is a very overpriced. The rooms are lovely as is the food but altogether overpriced by about 30%. It's such a shame they charge 5 star prices for decor that although is lovely-is so tired. I probably wouldn't return here unless I had to just because it's so overpriced. There are lovely little country houses all over Ireland that don't charge such high prices. Hopefully the owner will take on board these reviews and lower prices or refurbish it to the standard that reflect the price he is charging guests.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PaperMoon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The overall experience was very disappointing. We had many problems with our room: TV not working properly; curtains and rail falling down; no plug for bath or sink; and empty shampoo bottles in our bathroom. When we informed management about this we found them quite unhelpful. While the food was very nice, the quality of service falls far short of any other blue book location I have stayed in. This hotel is extremely overpriced for what you get – it was not a luxurious experience at all. We had previously considered choosing this hotel for our wedding, however, having stayed there, we wouldn’t dream of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zephyr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iRELAND
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here for a Thursday night recently. Hotel was quiet- there were only about 8 of us for dinner! Room was lovely - old fashioned and charming. Staff were extremely friendly both in the house itself and in the little pub on the grounds. Food was only good not amazing , to be honest i expected to be blown away but wasnt. Breakfast was 25 euro- i have no idea what you get for 25 euro but I wasnt paying it! We went down the road to the Hook Head lighthouse and had a lovely cup of tea and scone while watching the wild waves crash onto the rocks- for about 3 euro. In summary,a lovely charming house with really friendly staff - I would be aware of cost though, and try to book when they have special offers

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NabaRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here in March 2014. Dunbrody House is a beautiful period hotel. Many of the period features are retained. However the hotel needs some money spent on refurbishment, water stains on ceilings, cracked walls (wall papered). But apart from that a lovely hotel where you can relax. A lovely area with fabulous scenery.
On arrival were upgraded. Our room had a lovely view of the gardens. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plusfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited Dunbrody House last week for my husband's 40th birthday. It was a surprise to him all the way to the house and an added unexpected surprise that their signature is a Heron which is his surname! (something I didn't notice that when booking!). We really had a lovely memorable time, a short relaxing break away from our children. The staff were friendly and very attentive. They upgraded us as it was his birthday. We enjoyed afternoon tea, Lyric FM playing on the radio when we entered the very pretty bedroom room and the rabbits playing on the grass outside our bedroom window was a nice touch too :) We enjoyed the five course meal. Breakfast does feel a bit expensive for what it is but overall we felt we got great value for a mid-week deal. We look forward to returning. It must be a big job to keep such an old house ticking over and so well presented, well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahTraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,669 reviews
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel Arthurstown, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing