We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly spot”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
dallas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A very friendly spot”
Reviewed 27 October 2005

Although it is a pretty good drive and takes some time to get to the Dunbrody, the staff was very friendly to us and tried to make our stay pleasant. The hotel is in a pretty setting, and I was sorry we did not have time to go to the spa, as it looked quite nice. Dinner was very good, and breakfast was extremely good. At the hotel's prices, however, they need more staff to help with luggage and so forth as they seemed a little understaffed, and I had to go searching for someone to serve drinks in the bar and someone to wait on us in the dining room for breakfast. The one very strange thing is that when we arrived, there were bags of dirty linens sitting about in the hall as they had had a large wedding party there the night before. While I realize such situations must be dealt with, there should have been some plan to move such things out of the halls before other paying guests were shown to their rooms. What was sad is the very motley and dirty dogs lounging about on the doorstep. They certainly did not appear as they did on the website photos, and they did not present a good image for the hotel despite their friendly manner. This is a very good hotel which still has room for improvement.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    138
    100
    71
    46
See reviews for
107
381
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2005

Dunbrody is based on a georgian manor house and peaceful garden set in 300 acres in the deepest country- and yet only a two hour drive from dublin.The brochure promises luxury and cites all the cooking awards which the chef has won.But does it live up to its promise?

Partly. The room we had was upgraded and was large with french doors opening onto the garden. Lovely in fine weather but awkward when fellow guests were wandering around the grounds just outside. Beds were comfortable, large bathroom with separate shower, adequate cupboard space. good Bose sound equipment etc.-but for some extraordinary reason only one bathtowel for two guests.No air conditioning.

Food was really not up to the promise- or the pricing! By no means the best in ireland as advertised.Certainly a class better than most irish hotels, but nowhere near michelin star level. Breakfasts with freshly cooked ingredients are good.But, be warned, stay here and you will have to eat here.it really is miles from any decent alternative.

Small mistake with our bill-and we noticed other guests also querying their invoice.But pleasant helpful staff in general.

A pleasant place to stay-but for the money surely you want a little more than this.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, IL
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2005

From the moment we arrived for our 3 nights, we were made to feel like lord and lady of the manorhouse. Service was superb. The grounds are very beautiful. The rooms are cozy, quiet and beautifully decorated. Dinner was a nightly treat, good variety, and perfectly prepared. Having drinks or afternoon tea by the fireplace was a relaxing treat. The included breakfast was ample and fresh, cooked items were delicious. The spa is soothing, luxurious, clean, and worth the trip. Spend a day exploring the Hook Peninsula, well worth the time.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. pete beach, florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2004

One of the most beautiful properties we have stayed. A lovely reminder of a more elegant and refined era, while being a relaxing experience. The meals were memorable and staff superb!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2004

Change your itinerary if possible, come to Wexford, and stay at Dunbrody. Kevin and Catherine are deserving of all the wonderful reviews they are receiving. Their restoration of Dunbrody is marvelous. By hook or by crook, do not miss the Hook Peninsula if you are interested in history or seascapes.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2004

Agree with earlier reviewer - this must have been fantastic place to get married and come back to ! Can't think of many better venues anywhere.
We got a real taste for grand country house living, given we generally prefer rather more modernist hotels. This broke the mould - exactly the right balance of professionalism and relaxed style. The staff were ALL fantastic - from those who made us feel so welcome on arrival to those who accommodated our very early departure with a lovely cold breakfast on our last (sad) morning. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
The hotel's glorious setting on its own estate isn't very far at all from coast and the ferry crossing to Waterford and the airport.
Food in the restaurant was disappointing on our first night but great the second - maybe it needs to be a bit more consistent. A great value wine list.
We'll be back and would thoroughly recommend it as pricey but worth it !

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 May 2004

Dunbrody House is one of the most relaxing hotels we have ever visited, in fact we loved it so much we got married there. It is not far from the beach @ Duncannon and is the perfect location to explore a quiet corner of the Wexford countryside. Kevin (our host) was extremely pleasent and ensured that everyone enjoyed themselves and was served with superb cuisine.
For visitors from the US, it is somewhere that you will rave about to your friends on your return and I am sure you will visit there again!
Loved it and will return again and again
William

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
661 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,774 reviews
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel Arthurstown, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing