We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but ....disappointing & poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beautiful but ....disappointing & poor value for money”
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We decided to stay in Dunbrody to celebrate a special occasion however in spite of paying an amount that we considered to be very expensive for a suite we were very disappointed and felt it extremely poor value for money. Having said all that the house is very beautiful and the surrounding a real getaway sanctuary. Really, when paying top dollar there is no excuse for dusty pot-pouri which hasn't been changed in what looked like months, bathroom taps where the whole pipe turns when you turn the tap to name but two niggly but significant things when the over all illusion should be of perfection. The food is beautiful but really there should be no need to feel hurried in a restaurant of this calibre as we felt we were. Sorry but we won't be returning and won't be recommending to family or friends.

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings
  • Disliked — Poor value for money
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rollonemptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    135
    98
    72
    45
See reviews for
102
374
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

My partner and myself had heard recommendations for Dunbrody and decided to treat ourselves to a weekend. We went for a superior room and were disappointed when shown to a rather tatty room. We also learned at 7.30 the next morning that it was situated opposite a laundry room which was a congregation spot for the staff with loads of noise. On our second night my partner got ill after having some scallops. On checkout when complaining to reception they asked her did she have much to drink (she only had 1 glass of wine).

I personally found the food very nice and the setting pleasant but after spending 800 euro for a weekend with the aforementioned issues I was very disappointed and will not be back in a hurry.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Caoimhin_Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We went to Dunbrody for a weekend away.
It is an old house full of charm but they have added some modern twists like Molton Brown in the bathroom and the decor is quite modern also.
We booked the cookery course on the Saturday and full credit to Edward, he was brilliant and very entertaining.
The food in the dining room that evening was excellent and everything tasted homemade.
The bedrooms were beautiful and very spacious looking out onto the garden.
If you want a relaxing weekend with great food, lovely surroundings this is the place to go, and the fact that there is a spa and cookery school adds to the break.
Only downside, it's very expensive!

  • Liked — The food and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Because it's an old house it may require a bit more dusting
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishtouristgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

I have just come back from a one night stay at Dunbrody House - birthday treat! What a wonderful place, relaxing, secluded, pretty I could go on!

The weather was beautiful and had a wonderful room over looking the hotel gardens (wake up early enough and you will see the rabbits runing around outside). The best thing about the hotel is the food, everything we had (dinner, breakfast and then couldnt resist a lunch before we left for Dublin) was wonderful - couldnt fault a thing. The service was also extremley good.

Hubby did the thai cookery course which he raved about, and the spa was a great treat. It is defintley a treat place as it is quite pricey, in terms of accomodation, but food was great value considering the standard.

Highly recomend!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed here for the "Utter Luxury" package, which you can see from
the hotel's website does not come cheap. However, the experience was magnificent. The food is of an extremely high quality - by that I mean breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, the staff are extremely friendly (every day the manageress asked us how we were enjoying our stay and if we needed anything), our room was beautiful and the grounds and hotel are really lovely. There was absolutely nothing that I can complain about at all.

I don't understand the comment of a previous reviewer that only celebrities need apply. I had been afraid of that but it was not the case at all.

Very highly recommended, though it comes at a price!!!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

We only stayed at this property for 1 night but it was magical. The service was impeccable and the public rooms beautiful. Our room wasn't that fabulous and some pieces of furniture could be changed. The highlight was dinner. We sat by the window, ordered the wine-pairing menu and it snowed on cue. Buckets and buckets of snow while we ate. It could not have been a better moment and a great memory of our vacation. We also met a great Irish couple from Dublin and had our first taste of Irish heart and hospitality.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank efren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2007

I have just returned from a 3 day mid week break in the hotel and I am amazed at the comments in the last post. The hotel staff could not have been nicer-reception/dining room/cleaners etc were all very friendly and could not do enough for you.The friendly ambience of the place is one of the strengths of the hotel.
The hotel itself is an early 19th century country house in a large estate.The entrance hall/dining room and all the public areas have been beautifully refurbished.The bedroooms are nice though,in our room,the storage area for clothes could have been better.The bathroom was excellent with bath robes supplied . The food ,as to be expected ,was excellent. I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in France and Italy and the food at breakfast and dinner was on a par with the best anywhere. The dinner is not for those who like quantity.The style is ' nouvelle cuisine' with emphasis not only on taste but on presentation. If I have a quibble it is that at 60 euro for 3 courses the meal is somewhat pricey. It is 48 euro for 2 courses .There is a tasting menu of about 7 courses for ,I think,75 euro. So eating is expensive.Don't go the hotel if you have to count your pennies. We had been given a present of a voucher for 200 euro which helped to pay our bill! So overall an impressive hotel with an extremely friendly staff and beautiful food served in beautiful surroundings.If you want a quiet ,restful break Dunbrody might be the place for you.

  • Liked — food/surroundings/cleanliness
  • Disliked — price of dinner
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel Arthurstown, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing