We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to agree with 'Overpriced, Overgrown and Underwhelming'”
Review of Kilmokea Gardens

Kilmokea Gardens
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Campile
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally started in 1947 these gardens host a wide selection of rare and tender trees and shrubs. With over 130 different species the garden is a delight to both the keen amateur and the more serious horticulturist. Presently Kilmokea Gardens holds an Irish Heritage Garden certificate which is a justifiable reward for 65 years of creation and dedication.These Peaceful Gardens are laid out around a pretty Georgian house on Great Island overlooking the River Barrow. The house looks out over the walled garden which leads to the large five acre woodland garden & the Fruit & Vegetable potager growing produce for the Garden Café visitors and House Guests. There is a Fairy Village, the first of its kind in Ireland and 'The Myrtle Wood' children's story. Mr & Mrs Hedgehog and Freddie Fox await the arrival of the children to tell their story. To depict the historical influence of Kilmokea, there is a small Viking settlement and a Norman Motte & Baily. Our Café serves Organic and Wexford produce daily and our Craft & Fairy shop is open from 10 - 5pm too.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have to agree with 'Overpriced, Overgrown and Underwhelming'”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My mother and I visited these gardens twice. On our first visit in October 2012 the gardens were somewhat unkempt but we put it down to the time of year - having just come back from a second visit (July 2013) I have to agree - like the reviewer below - that the gardens are overpriced, overgrown and unkempt. Pity as I'm sure they were beautiful once. And yes we were also shocked at the price of a cup of tea and cake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuffbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    9
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced, overgrown and underwhelming.”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

While the house looks good from the outside, the large garden appears unkept and overgrown. The €7.00 entry fee is not good value. The garden is in need of maintenance as are some of the features and ornaments. There are some unusual trees spread throughout the garden, however, it is let down greatly by the unremarkable remainder of the large garden. The printed leaflets flatter to deceive. Some of the foot bridges are in need of repair and a shed for viewing is dirty, with some rotten planks and a loose bannister. We won't be returning or recommending.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomThumb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A Glorious Experience”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Kilmokea is a labour of love. It is not so large, but it is a complete haven. Some have expressed the view that they had to pay too much. But if you take your time, take it slowly then it is worth every cent. I would imagine that spring (rhododenrons and azaleas) and autumn (acers) might be the best months. I have visited it at both seasons, and spent hours of pleasure there.
Emma Hewlitt and her husband Mark were surely inspired when they restored this lovely house and gardens as they have. They won't know who I am should they read this (but this is not for them - it is for others looking for great places to visit) but they have made us personally welcome on the several occasions that we have visited the house and the gardens. As they make others welcome too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tomtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Garden Heaven A Must See”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We enjoyed a quick trip to these beautiful gardens on a recent weekend trip to Dunbrody House Hotel, a must see for all garden enthusiasts and everyone else too. We enjoyed a cup of coffee in the coffee shop and the owner kindly gave us his time to explain what else we should see n the local area. Had we known how much there was to see in the great outdoors, and given that we were a bit pushed for time to make it back in Dunbrody for a wedding, we might have skipped the coffee. The gardens are magnificent and beautifully kept. We enjoyed a chat with the gardener and got a bit of advice for our own garden as we talked about the beautiful redwoods we were fortunate to explore in California. We will definitely be back to this beautiful spot, a hidden gem and we will make sure we have time to see all of the gardens.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 186605Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“abeautiful garden”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I thought the gardens were beautifully kept.We had a long chat with the gardener and got some useful tips from him also the coffee and cakes wre lovely.Well worth a visit

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank De C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilmokea Gardens also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
 

Been to Kilmokea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing