We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A National Treasure with a wonderfully Warm Energy”
Review of Kilmokea Gardens

Kilmokea Gardens
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Campile
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally started in 1947 these gardens host a wide selection of rare and tender trees and shrubs. With over 130 different species the garden is a delight to both the keen amateur and the more serious horticulturist. Presently Kilmokea Gardens holds an Irish Heritage Garden certificate which is a justifiable reward for 65 years of creation and dedication.These Peaceful Gardens are laid out around a pretty Georgian house on Great Island overlooking the River Barrow. The house looks out over the walled garden which leads to the large five acre woodland garden & the Fruit & Vegetable potager growing produce for the Garden Café visitors and House Guests. There is a Fairy Village, the first of its kind in Ireland and 'The Myrtle Wood' children's story. Mr & Mrs Hedgehog and Freddie Fox await the arrival of the children to tell their story. To depict the historical influence of Kilmokea, there is a small Viking settlement and a Norman Motte & Baily. Our Café serves Organic and Wexford produce daily and our Craft & Fairy shop is open from 10 - 5pm too.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

“I have visited Kilmokea Country Manor and Gardens many times over the last couple of years and every time I drive through the front gates and up the gravel driveway I get a sense of excitement as I want to see the latest development to this unique gem that’s continuously evolving. Its a place that one has to visit at least twice in the year, ideally ‘Spring’ and ‘Summer’, as there are three distinct area's: The woodland garden with its many specimen trees and plants surrounded by wonderful Rhododendrons, Azaleas and Candelabra Primulas which are truly magnificent with their vast display of colour that is both beautiful and breathtaking. Then there is the immaculate potager/vegetable garden with the home-produce being used for guests staying in the Manor house and those visiting the gardens for lunch. But for me what takes centre stage is the walled garden that has a long border of Herbaceous perennials filled to the brim with unique and wonderful treasures, that lead you along winding paths to the Italian Loggia that was given to the last owner, Colonel David Price as a wedding gift in 1957, if my memory serves me correctly. Then there’s a short walk back into the tea rooms when you'll come across borders of roses, dahlias and sweet peas as well as banana trees, so what I recommend you do is call over to Kilmokea, and experience a gourmet feast that their resident chef has prepared using vegetable freshly picked from the Manor’s gardens and finish it off with a slice of freshly baked chocolate cake and a good cup of coffee. The owners also host charity & theatrical events in the gardens throughout the year which are fabulous to view as the gardens are ideal for these kind of events. I went to see ‘Wind in the Willows’, performed there last year as well as a charity day for ‘From Russia with Love’ and I left with a great feel good factor as this wonderful establishment lends itself to these events, so I urge everyone to visit and enjoy this wonderful piece of heaven.

4  Thank John368Waterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Kilmokea Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We rang ahead to check that our dog was welcome and were told yes if on a leash. We had stayed here many years ago and have been back with the children to walk the gardens a few times. This visit didn't disappoint apart from the fact that the kitchen gardens were not accessible. However, we had a lovely walk (dog fell into the stream trying to get a drink and was mud up to her ears!) and came back for lunch to the conservatory. Very enjoyable and we will be back again!

1  Thank PiranhaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

charged three euros for microwaved scones on a monday, the gardens are beautiful but the tea rooms bit over priced really.

Thank patriciajoesphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Kilmokea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your recent comments which we greatly appreciate. We're delighted you enjoyed the Heritage Gardens which cover over seven acres and consist of a huge variety of plants from all over the world. All our produce is either home-grown or home-made as we believe in natural quality rather than using cheap alternatives. This inevitably has cost implications as we employ a resident chef to bake our cakes & scones on site as well as making our apple pies, rhubarb crumbles, plum tart, etc. We have lowered our menu prices where possible but there is a threshold we can't go below if we are to continue to offer the level of service and quality that visitors to Kilmokea Gardens expect from us. I trust you will understand this as we do have to cover the cost of employing our staff as well as dealing with the rising cost of utilities such as water, gas & electricity as well as our insurance. Thank you for raising this. Best wishes. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited this garden in August 2013 at 7 Euros each it is well over priced. At the time it was Heritage week in Ireland and we should have been offered 2 for 1 entry but we weren't. It is very overgrown and uncared for. Even the seats in the wooded area are covered over with foliage. There are no views from this garden. This garden may be more interesting in the Spring but I don't feel this garden is worth visiting. Radical work is needed throughout the garden as it is very neglected in all areas.

Thank North_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmokea, Owner at Kilmokea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

These last few reviews leave the reader to believe that we do not care for our gardens, which is so totally opposite to the truth. We devote our lives to tending, loving and caring for them. The woodland gardens at Kilmokea are not formal in any way - in places it is a wilderness (the nearby JFK Arboretum is much more "orderly"). Which makes it all the more attractive. Because there is planning in the apparently wild growth. Colours complement each other and often contrasting plants are planted together for superb visual effect. The cunning planting regime also assures that the gardens are colourful for most of the year, with both early and late flowering plants and trees. Extraudinarily rare and tender plants rub shoulders with the beauty of Irish woodland life where mosses and lichens cover the natural habitat, proving the purity of the air at Kilmokea.
We placed this sign up in the garden cafe, on the entrance door and on the green gate leading into the gardens last summer because of the intense lack of rain and hot temperatures;

The Woodland Gardens in July & August

During this amazing heat wave we would like to advise you that due to the intense heat and total lack of rain, we are carefully watering from our well in the evenings. Some plants are struggling, and they apologise, but they are doing their best!
The months of April and May are absolutely amazing in the Woodland Garden. The Camellias, Rhododendrons and Azaleas both species and hybrids take it in turn to flower throughout the season. They have handsome foliage and magnificent inflorescences. The Candelabra Primulas, red, pink, purple and glorious yellow provide a carpet of colour lining the winding paths.
At this time of year there is much lush growth in the woodland garden. The intense colours of the Rhododendrons and their friends are over. They are replaced by an assortment of Greens and Browns with a splash of purple Iris and Pink climbing Roses. The jungle atmosphere of the Woodland is created by The Giant Gunnera, Lycricrytum Americanus (skunk Cabbage) , Dixonia Tree Furns, Myrtus Apiculatas and The tallest Metasequoia glyptostroboides in Ireland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The gardens are out of control. Lots of work needs to be done clearing the growth so that visitors can see the flowers. The Italian garden was of more interest than the rest.

Thank SeniorMoments2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilmokea Gardens also viewed

County Wexford, Province of Leinster
Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to Kilmokea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing