We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmokea Country Manor & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 Campile B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very warm and welcoming.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Wonderful stay. Mark and Emma are excellent hosts, very helpful and accommodating. The Magnolia room was very comfortable with a great view over the gardens, we slept like babies. Our meals were excellent in the cozy dining room with great service. Mark could not have been more helpful with directions and recommendations. The gardens are amazing, full of history! I wish we had spent two nights. I have recommended this house to other family members and friends.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    6
    9
    2
See reviews for
13
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Kilmokea is the most amazing Country house I have ever stayed from the warm welcome I received from both Mark and Emma Hewlett and their three boys on the many trips I have made to their beautiful home, to the excellent cuisine on offer every evening in the perfectly decorated dining room.The bedrooms are individually decorated,with a real focus on relaxation, I stayed in the Lily which I loved, with its lovely antique furniture which perfectly compliments the house perfectly. The last time I visited was when they had given their house over to a Charity for a fundraising event, The Hewletts have cracked the code to the perfect hospitality as everything about this wonderful home is splendid. I would highly recommend you to come visit this beatiful home providing hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Lily room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John368Waterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed here last weekend, the room was beautiful and very comfortable. The gardens were nice and had a lot of work put into them, they must have been magnificent in their day!!
For a house with prices they charge, I would have thought the breakfast choice of full Irish (or a mixture) or eggs with smoked salmon was not an adequate choice.
I know it's a country house but the cockerels and peacocks at 4am would take a bit of getting used to!!
I think it is too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rocman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here, Kilmokea House, overnight in early March 2012. (Would love to have had two nights). It is a tranquil country house and the hosts Emma and Mark made us very welcome and went to alot of trouble to show us local attractions (such as Tintern abbey and the Hook head lighthouse) on a map. Their own garden is lovely for a wander. Upon booking, we were upgraded to the 'Rose Room' and it was very comfortable. It is obvious that a lot of care has gone in to making this a welcoming country house. Good breakfast. Michelle (Dublin)

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked out the self catering accommodation to go away for my Dad's 70th. There were 11 of us including a 3 year old and 2 small dogs. We had a great time and used it as a base to visit local sites and amenities. Some of the highlights for us;

Lovely welcome on arrival - personal and friendly.
Rooms were great LOADS of space, homely decor, great bathrooms etc.
SUPER swimming pool.
BEAUTIFUL naturally set gardens, not my thing but so interesting.
Quiet and peaceful.
Very good value for the weekend.

We'd had not one issue with our stay, all was terrific. I'd recommend it and we'll be back. If your looking for a quiet weekend to 'catch up with yourself', I'd heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Great space, nice facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephenc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I have delayed in writing this review as I can't quite put my finger on the cause of the mild disappointment we both felt. Maybe the brilliant website and the Hidden Ireland website led us to expect too much, but I notice a review from a couple of years ago that seems to express the same ambivalence. I can't escape feeling that it is a little overpriced for what you get and where it is.

Less than an hour from Rosslare we arrived straight from the ferry. Mark and Emma were delightful, although she seemed rather distracted. Maybe she was thinking about the meal we had later that evening. Really beautiful rack of lamb and quality service, but 50 euros per head plus wine (a good wine list). Mark spent a lot of time with us in the morning explaining all the local things to see and do and providing maps which was very helpful.

The house is beautiful: large, stylish and with bags of character with comfy sofas, lots of books and little touches like newspapers which we appreciated. We had been upgraded and the room was spacious and comfortable but we couldn't open any of the windows which rather got to me. There is a garden open to the public which we walked around which was mostly woodland and somehow disappointing. There is a large comservatory used by visitors to the garden, where we had a nice breakfast, but it wasn't very cosy for residents. There was a gift shop which looked as though no-one ever bought anything. We didn't use the spa facilities.

I would recommend Kilmokea to lovers of good food and the sort of character the house offers and who don't mind paying slightly over the odds, staying more than one night to get the best from the place.

Room Tip: the website has pictures of all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hollySalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Just spent the weekend at Kilmokea House and had a wonderful time. Great hospitality from Emma & Mark and the staff. We stayed in the Rose Room, which was lovely and cosy with a fantastic view of the garden. We had two beautiful dinners, an amazing rack of lamb cooked perfectly and fantastic monk fish. The gardens are definetly worth taking in and you can see that they are well loved and cared for. All in all we had a super time and we'll be back again. This is a great place to chill out, relax into the couch in front of a nice big fire after a day taking in the local sights.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campile
4.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.0 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
6.6 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
5.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
8.3 mi away
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballinaboola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmokea Country Manor & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmokea Country Manor & Gardens

Property: Kilmokea Country Manor & Gardens
Address: Great Island | Campile, New Ross, Campile, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Campile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Campile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kilmokea Country Manor & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at Kilmokea, your energetic young hosts will feed you with enthusiasm, beauty and home grown food in their fine house and fabulous gardens. With its heritage gardens and long history, Mark and Emma could not be more gracious, welcoming and so very helpful. The Kilmokea experience includes a cosy up by the log fire and savour a delicacy of sweet treats with Afternoon Tea on arrival. Indulge in a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool open from April to September Awake each morning to a deliciously fresh breakfast and make the most of the magnificent gardens that span seven acres of stunning woodland where peacocks strut by the Italian loggia, paths and bridges leading past a trout lake and you can watch coastal birds swoop over the estuary. As well as a Jacuzzi & sauna, there is a gym & tennis court for those looking to keep active. Bedrooms in the main house are in relaxed good taste: thick carpets, lovely beds, smart antiques, delicate fabrics to match their floral names. The rooms in the converted courtyard suite are simpler but just as inviting. Our self catering options are available all year around and our outdoor leisure facilities remain open for our guests to enjoy. We welcome you one and all to this remarkable oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilmokea Country Manor & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmokea Country Manor & Gardens Ireland/Campile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing