We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Nestled in The Dunes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled in The Dunes
The Dunes Nestled in The Dunes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Nestled in The Dunes
The Dunes
Nestled in The Dunes
Hobbit House
View of Dunes from cottage
View from front door
Small lobby lounge with double sided wood burner
Main Lounge to relax, plenty of entertainment
Relaxing, cosy ample seating
Cosy Double Sided wood burner
Romantic Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Private and quiet Master bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
second bedroom double bed
Morning Horse Riding
Ballinesker Beach
Ballinesker Beach
Beach- sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Curracloe, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cld777
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous Cottage”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful Cottage with wonderful character, in an ideal location on the beach. Made to feel welcome and had an amazing holiday with my young family and will return in warmer weather

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Hi Catherine
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the cottage and look forward to welcoming you back again
All The Best
Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary K
1 review
“"The Perfect Find for the Ideal Escape"”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a wee gem of a property. It is truly stunning and is situated in the most amazing location. It's so picturesque. Nestled behind the sand dunes, and a stones throw from miles of sandy shorelines.
The cottage is very comfortable and homely and the decor adds to the charm of the property. It is very well equipped which allowed for a very comfortable stay.
It's an ideal location for children. Our children spent most of their days exploring the sand dunes, playing on the fabulous beach and swimming in the sea (wet suits were a must). Their is a huge selection of kids DVD's available at the cottage which was a lovely option to have at night time.
This property is a truly wonder place to escape to, a chance to recharge the batteries and enjoy quality family time.
We would highly recommend this property for its location, character and uniqueness. We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surprise of seeing such a picturesque property nestled behind the dunes, location is amazing and the property is so homely and comfortable
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you Hilary for taking the time to review The Dunes
We are delighted that you and the family had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and apple site your lovely comments.
Táimid ag tnúth le fáilte a chur roimh tú ar ais sa todhchaí
Go léir is Fearr
Deirdre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT185
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - An ideal place to get away from it all. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found The Dunes to be a fantastic place to relax and get away from it all. The cottage is extremely comfortable and the kitchen is as fully equipped as it possibly could be. There is also access to WI-FI and satellite television for those who can't do without. An extensive garden surrounding the cottage made it perfect for us as we had our two dogs with us. It is most obvious that Deidre has put a huge amount of work into catering for every possible need and making the cottage as comfortable as possible. As a location, you could hope for nothing more, with the beautiful Curracloe beach literally on your doorstep and the beach walks, especially at night a sight to behold. All in all, a perfect place to re-energise the batteries. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Hi John
Thank you for your lovely review, it is great to hear the cottage is being used exactly as we intended with enjoyable walks on the beach with your dogs. That's what we enjoy most when we stay .
We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for being such lovely guests
With Best Regards
Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola P
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing location, very peaceful.”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage is lovely comfortable, and has some very nice touches around the place. The beds were very comfortable. Well equipped generally, you wouldn't need to bring anything. The woodburner is lovely as we were there in November, but you have to be fast not to set the fire alarm off! The beach really is stunning great for long walks. There is feel about the cottage of being in someone's home, not a bad thing, just a comment.

Would definitely revisit. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Hi Nicola
Thank you for your lovely review, we `are pleased you enjoyed the cottage. We are having the thatch replaced next spring so when you return you will see a lovely new thatch. All the best Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
683mick
Cavan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful beach side gem”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have rented quite a few holiday homes but this really was one of the best. The location alone is just wonderful. In two minutes you are on the spectacular Curracloe beach that even the most dedicated couch potato couldn't help themselves walking and walking and walking. After which you can sleep like a baby in the cosy and beautifully maintained cob cottage that is The Dunes. The owners have done a very tasteful restoration, all perfectly in keeping with such a period cottage. Everything you could need was provided and anything you could want is pretty much a short drive away in the town of Wexford which seems to be thriving. We would recommend this house without hesitation. Michael and Orlagh

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and character of the house
Liked least: The awkwardness of the wood burner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Dear Michael & Orlagh
Thank you for your lovely review, it is really is warming to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and I agree that we are so privileged to be close to one of the most beautiful beaches in Ireland. 'Orlagh' your work is lovely I can imagine how wonderful it is to experience so many lovely places and then have a wonderful talent to produce such beautiful memories.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Many thanks again for taking the time to review The Dunes
Dee & Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire place and the location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Dear Meike
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review> We are so pleased you had a good holiday at The Dunes and thank you fro the lovely photo of your family enjoying The Hook Lighthouse.
We would love to welcome you back when next in Ireland
All The Best
Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
H i Daniel
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Dunes and all your lovely comments.
We are so pleased that you and the children had a good week despite the Irish weather.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Le gach dea-mhéin
Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing