We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For those who want the "real" experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Italycountrystay Via Piana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pescosolido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Italycountrystay Via Piana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rogersville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For those who want the "real" experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

If you want to experience the countryside and get the feel of Italy in a more intimate way, then this is likely the place for you. It is not the easiest place to find but (a highlight topic of our trip) when we asked for help in Sora, someone (a stranger picking up his child from school) had us FOLLOW him to the main house. Everyone, it seems, knows Antonello. Ahem. ;-)

As said by others, the rooms/apt at Via Piana are basic but VERY CLEAN and well-kept. The key situation to get in and then turn on the electricity is simultaneously charming and cumbersome but definitely not a deal-breaker! Construction is ongoing and, while we were not bothered by it, you might want to inquire about status to see if there might be early morning activities.

We had a problem with the hot water going out the last day we were there so we got moved to the main location into a private en-suite room. Very large, very clean.

We enjoyed the big "family atmosphere" and the variety of volunteers and guests. We also did the 5 a.m. cheese-making adventure and that now gets to be a STORY which, in our opinion, is what traveling is all about. We did a cooking class with Maria and that was fun -- and you'd BETTER roll that dough out the way she wants. LOL

This is not your usual tourist location and just what we hoped for in that regard. If you need internet access, you will need to come to the family house as there is none that I know of currently at Via Piana. Since Antonello is working on V.P., that may change with access so check if that is important to you.

Sora was much more than we expected and in a good way. The market was outstanding and we found the people VERY friendly. Something we missed as we got further into our trip and hit some of the larger areas.

So, again, if you are looking for a more unique, off-the-beaten-path experience, this is likely the place for you to consider.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mendinfences868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

My stay at Via Piana (http://www.italycountrystay.com/index.html) in Pescosolido was been wonderful. This rustic B & B is located at the edge of the Abruzzi National Park in the mountainous Italian countryside. It's a perfect way to experience a non-touristic side of Italy but still easily accessible via a short (2 hours) and inexpensive (5 €) bus from Rome. There's no need for a car since there's a small grocery store five minutes up the road and frequent buses to and from downtown Sora. Also, Anna, the sweet and helpful manager, is happy to pick-up and drop-off guests from the bus station in Sora on days of their arrival and departure. Activities include hiking to a castle ruin and a nearby waterfall, horseback riding, visiting a cheese-making shepherd, and wandering through the weekly open-air market in Sora.

Guests have access to a charming kitchen and common room with an old pizza oven, which is great for cooking with the delicious, local produce and a place to meet other guests from all over. The area is famous for truffles. I've also been buying incredible homemade wine and olive oil from the welcoming neighbors. Via Piana's rooms are clean and comfortable with stunning views. There's also free WiFi.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliseryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you’re looking for somewhere to stay in Italy that is fairly near Rome (about two hours’ bus journey away) but surrounded by heartbreakingly beautiful mountain scenery; if you want to escape from the tourist trail and get to know an Italy and a community where most people make (and sell) their own wine and grow their own vegetables; and if you’re prepared to fend for yourselves a little (hiring a car would certainly be a good idea if you don’t like walking) and you see a holiday as an opportunity to get a little bit fitter, then Via Piana is definitely the place for you.

It’s a complex of separate rooms, decorated and furnished in an elegantly rustic Italian style, and you share the small but perfectly-formed communal kitchen with the other guests. Every outdoor step you take will probably be uphill or downhill. If you’re happy to chat to fellow-guests and even sit round the dinner table with them or on the terrace under the stars enjoying some local wine and fighting over the communal guitar (and bongos), you’ll have a great time.

And you’re not left entirely to your own devices. Via Piana is presided over by Anna, who is a fount of local knowledge, and whose understandable love for the area will soon convince you as well. She is full of suggestions about what is good to do and see in the area and will even pick you up from the bus-stop in the nearby town of Sora when you first arrive. She will point you in the direction of many local amenities that perhaps you might not have come across on your own, including a sheep farm where they make (and sell) pecorino and ricotta twice a day in a way that probably hasn’t changed in two hundred years.

Nearby also is the Lazio-Abruzzi National Park, which contains the village of Opi, set high up on a hill, and from whose walls I saw the most beautiful valley I think I’ve ever seen (and from one of whose shops we bought some of the most intensely-flavoured honey I’ve ever tasted). Closer to home is the village of Campoli-Appenina, where a once-captive bear roams wild in a wooded crater protected by a high railing. The search is currently on for a suitable Mrs. Bear. Finally, there are very good value-for-money restaurants to try out, including the redoubtable Park Bridge Pizzeria in Pescosolido, where the pizzas are so big you could almost sail down the river on them.

I suppose I wouldn’t recommend Via Piana to families with very small children, only because you’d always be worrying about them falling down steps. That probably goes for elderly grandparents too. You can go shopping in Sora, two miles away, where you will also find supermarkets for those moments when your halo slips and you want to buy some decadent, resolutely non-organic or non-local produce. So really, you have the best of several worlds when you visit Via Piana, and I hope we go back there soon.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ArYBryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

This place is awesome. The staff is warm and welcoming and incredibly helpful. I was traveling on my own and I had the sense of being welcomed into a large family. Anna (the manager) is wonderful--she picked us up from the bus stop and also drove us to the nearby city (Sora) when we needed to go there for something. At Via Piana, there is a kitchen where people can cook and eat together. There is a small grocery store just five minutes' walk away. It's quite close to Rome, you just take a cheap bus ride, 1 1/2 hours maybe. Also they have a washing machine for a very reasonable price, which is really nice! And the bed I stayed in was good. Everything is very clean and fresh.

The surrounding area is gorgeous. The little town is charming. The vista from my window was incredible--green hills and colorful little houses scattered about. There are some nice hikes you can take, one to a waterfall and one to a castle, and a very strenuous overnight hike up a mountain which is rewarding when you get to the top! :-P

I am seriously considering returning here next summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgecricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nara, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

I stay in hot summer, but comfortable wind came to nice single room that huge and hand made. Anna was great and kindly everything.I'd like to go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kojiotani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

If I could only pick one place to stay in Italy (which was my situation) I would pick Via Piana in Pescosolido. It is an ideal location for many reasons. I was initially attracted to it because it was only two hours from Rome and Naples. As a young Latin teacher, I prized the opportunity to visit the ancient sites (Rome, Pompeii, National Archaelogical Museum of Naples) while also having somewhere safe and peaceful to return to at the end of my adventures. The bus service from nearby Sora to Rome is frequent and reliable, and the schedule is very well explained by signs at Via Piana.

After staying there for almost two weeks, however, I discovered that the location is truly ideal in and of itself. It would be hard to find such a naturally beautiful slice of Italy anywhere else. At Via Piana you are literally at the foot of the Apennine Mountains. A look off the terrace or out of almost any window offers a view of the mountains sweeping straight up to the sky. There are clear lakes to swim in and waterfalls to hike to. I also got to take advantage of one of the horseback rides offered by the B&B and experience the area in completely different wonderful way. We rode through the mountains to a castle in nearby Abruzzo National Park. Really, there is so much to do in the area, I hardly had time to go elsewhere. I did not want to leave!

Along with all the benefits of rural Italy, Via Piana also offers the comforts of home. There is free wireless available for all the guests, a kitchen for everyone’s use, and a completely considerate hostess, Anna. l could tell that she really wanted me and the other guests to enjoy ourselves, and took time out of her day to drive us to local spots like the lake, the store, and the pizzeria. It was the perfect touch.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbecker975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

A lot of things have already been said about this place but I want to emphasize: Beautiful countryside, beautiful people, attentive and friendly service. Anna was great, very approachable and responsive, always with a smile. Our room was spacious, had a great view of Sora and the valley below. Electricity in the room, hot water in the common shower, and storage for our bags, charming old windows and doors, rustic accents and decor everywhere. This place is intentionally minimalist, authentic to its surroundings and history and a refreshing change of pace from Rome or other big tourist centers. NOT a plush B&B for those used to being spoiled. Keep moving until you see a Hilton. This IS, however, a treat for travel-weary backpackers or families looking for the authentic Italian country experience.
Walk everywhere and experience the slow pace of the countryside firsthand. Within 20 minutes you can be at the Italian Farmstay and playing with farm animals, picking fresh fruit from their trees and swapping travel stories with other foreigners or volunteers. Local points of interest are easily accessible via bus which Anna will help you navigate with timetables, maps, and personal experience.
We had a great time and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edeurmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pescosolido hotels
0.5 mi away
Italy Farm Stay
Italy Farm Stay
#1 of 2 in Pescosolido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Al Colle
B&B Al Colle
#1 of 3 in Pescosolido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Codarda
La Codarda
#2 of 3 in Pescosolido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Italycountrystay Via Piana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Italycountrystay Via Piana

Property: Italycountrystay Via Piana
Address: Via Piana | Forcella, 03030 Pescosolido, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Pescosolido
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Pescosolido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Guesthouse in a quiet area in the countryside next to the Abruzzi National Park. We offer Activities such as horseriding through a river and up the mountains to a castle in the Roveto valley.Enjoy a relaxing stay in a non touristy area two hours from Rome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Italycountrystay Via Piana Italy/Pescosolido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing