We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Italy Farm Stay
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ristorante La Panoramica 89(Pescasseroli)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Valle del Lupo(Pescasseroli)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Paradiso(Pescasseroli)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Valle dell'oro(Pescasseroli)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Orso Bianco(Pescasseroli)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Iris(Pescasseroli)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Il Bucaneve(Pescasseroli)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
139
33
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
33
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastaother guestshorseback ridingfarm staytruffle huntinghomemade winecheese makingthe busin townthree nightsorganic foodlovely familymeal timeshis wifehand drawn mapbeautiful surroundingssurrounding area
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2008

The waterfall hike provided at Italy Farmstay by Antonello Siragusa was absolute fun and excitement. The high Appinnine canyon that we hiked was beautiful and filled with pristine cascades and intriguing caves, cliffs, and trail layout. The views were spectacular! The hike was both enticing and challenging, and the breathtaking waterfall and natural formations made this hike a rush for all of us. This was an awesome way to end our most enjoyable stay at Antonello's farm. We definately plan on returning to this area some day and when we do we certainly will take this hike again. Fantastico!
Richard Daun

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank silvawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We stayed but a few days and thoroughly enjoyed our R&R from the hectic life of backpacking across Europe. The farmstay is simple but adequate and is a work in progress. This adds to the charm. The situation with the owners and the staff seemed a bit funny though and it was quite an awkward atmosphere. IMO this was due to both parties, not just one. The soul of the whole operation, although he probably isn't aware is the sweet welcoming Guiseppe. What a gem! He taught us Italian (he speaks very little English), patience, how to search for wild asparagus and to appreciate life (with a bit of his homemade vino!). Without him I think the farm would be a little dull and meeting him was the highlight of our whole trip to Italy! My only regret is that I had to leave in a hurry (to get a lift into town) and couldn't say a proper goodbye.

For a bit of peace and tranquility and the rare opportunity to sample 50 euro cent Italian coffees in town and surround yourself with proper "locals", this is the place. Oh and the staff at Pizza shop in town are also very lovely and reinstated our faith in the friendliness of Italian people.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This was by far the most memorable experience in a three week trip to Italy...and perhaps of my life to date. Antonello's farm is magic. From the organic fields of fruits, veggies, olive trees, and vineyard, to the hiking, sunrises, and Thursday market; from the fresh eggs and goats' milk at breakfast, to the homemade wine, bread, and olive oil; from the generosity and sweet spirit of Antonello and his family, to the locals not quite used to having tourists come their way, this is truly a gem.

I considered staying for the whole three weeks (we started our trip here for four days), and then considered just going back to Sora instead of back home, but I figured my husband might get upset. Please feel free to contact me with any questions!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sorainmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

We decided to start our holiday in Italy at Italy Farm Stay, thinking it would be a great place to unwind, and adjust to the time difference from North America - and we couldn't have made a better choice! All the positive reviews we had read about it prior to leaving were 100% accurate - which can so often NOT be case - sometimes when expectations are high, they rarely live up to their billing. In the case of Italy Farm Stay, however, this was not the case.

All our arrangements prior to arrival were made via email with Antonello, who always responded promptly to our enquiries and provided us with detailed information about how to find them once we arrived. That said -- we still managed to lose our way once in the nearby town of Sora, but as promised, we gave Antonello a call and he immediately drove into town to guide us up into the beautiful hills to his home. (Antonello speaks fluent English for those of you who many be concerned about a language barrier).

Upon check in, we were welcomed by his mother Maria, who prepared us some bread with olive oil and a glass of wine - just what the doctor ordered after our lengthy journey. Antonello gave us a quick tour of the farm, and we were immediately charmed - not only by the magnificent scenery surrounding us for 360 degrees - but by the atmosphere on the farm itself, where we also met his friendly father, Guiesspe, who was working in the barn feeding the farm animals. We were also advised of the many side trips available for a small fee - guided hikes to a local waterfall, horseback riding excursions, outdoor yoga, learning how to make cheese and pasta, etc. If we'd had more time, we certainly would have partaken in a few more of these activities, but our self-guided tours in the area were also memorable - a hike up into the hills with a most spectacular view of the valley below, and a trip into nearby Sora on market day (Thursdays).

We opted to stay on the farm for dinner for two of our three nights there (9 euros per person for a delicious home cooked meal), where we sat at the family table with Antonello, other guests, and the friendly volunteers who help keep things running smoothly on the farm. Although we are two late 40-somethings, we felt right at home breaking bread and drinking vino with younger travellers! I will always remember the feeling of camaraderie we had sitting around the dinner table - it was as if we'd all known each other far longer than 48 hours!

We stayed in Room #1 - very roomy and clean, with a large ensuite bathroom -- my only complaint, and it's a minor one which we made adjustments for, was that the shower stall only had one door - we eventually figured out a way to take a shower without soaking the floor though!

I would heartily recommend Italy Farm Stay if you're looking for a true taste of the REAL Italy - it's a lovely alternative to the tourist saturated towns of Tuscany and the larger main cities of Italy. It's the perfect place to unwind and put your feet up in the hammock, drink in the fresh mountain air, and gaze upon the stunning landscape around you....all for superb value. Do keep in mind, however, that this is not a place to stay if you're looking for luxury (not an issue for us!) -- but if you ARE comfortable with getting your shoes dirty, interacting with the friendly local people, and enjoying a unique, relaxed and memorable experience, do not hesitate to book a vacation at Italy Farm Stay - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

If you are looking for something unique while in Italy consider staying here. Italyfarmstay is a great base to explore this very little traveled part of Italy. While you are only 2.5 hours from Rome, you will not find yourself neck deep in tourists. The farm is a couple of kilometers (a nice walk) above the town of Sora. We especially enjoyed the walk up to the church and ancient castle high above the city as well as the old town atmosphere below. At the farmstay itself, there are lots of things to do and in general, a very laid back feel. Antonello, the host, has set up a number of guided tours and activities in the area from horseback riding and paragliding to cheese making. The cheese making tour is your chance to see how it has been done for hundreds, maybe thousands of years at a small sheep farm right down the road from the farmstay. In addition, the hiking in the national park is excellent. There are waterfalls and rocky gorges which would attract throngs of hikers elsewhere but here they are unknown and unspoiled. The rooms (5 available) are very comfortable and Antonello's parents are very gracious. Maria is an excellent cook and homestyle meals can be arranged during your stay. Understand that this area is not touristy so cabs and shuttle buses are not to be found. Be prepared to stretch your legs, rent a bike or arrange rides with Antonello to access some of the other things the area has to offer. From Sora itself, frequent trains and buses connect you quickly to Rome and Naples. We were not looking to see all the famous sights in Italy. Instead we wanted to get away for a while and relax and we found the perfect place for it at Italy Farm Stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews