We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Warminster(Warminster)(Great Value!)
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishopstrow House(Warminster)
US$237
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wincanton(Wincanton)(Great Value!)
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
US$179
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Babington House(Babington)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Inn(Gillingham)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
106
38
8
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
38
8
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubextra bedexcellent hospitalityopen firefull englishcouple of nightslongleat safari parksurrounding countrysideovernight staytea and coffeea lovely stayfeature bathstourheadlandladywiltshireshampootoddler
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The Somerset Arms is a fantastic place to stay. It is family friendly and caters for everyones needs. The people that visit are so friendly it`s almost like going into your local.
We were fortunate to stay for 3 nights. The food is amazing and the service is good and the staff are friendly to the point that we felt we were leaving friends behind when our stay was over.
Roy and Kate are so hospitable they can`t do enough to make you feel more welcome.
We would highly recommend the Somerset Arms to anyone and will be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Very nice clean and large room (4) lovely monsoon shower. Roy and Cat are very pleasant hosts, food excellent and would recommend and will be back again
(locals in bar were very welcoming)
Bonous of free wifi is good

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken_posch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for 1 night en route to Devon and really couldn't find fault with it. Roy and Cate were perfect hosts, friendly and welcoming throughout. Our room was gorgeous - very tasteful. We worried a little about the fact that there wasn't an alternative eating place in the village and wondered if the lack of competition might allow for lower standards. Dinner was, however, excellent and our final bill was extremely reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Negatives first....Erm there wasn't any!! Stayed last night for one night, room was fine, maybe heading towards a lick of paint soon but it added to the character of a lovely old building! If walls could talk eh? A really comfy bed dressed with lovely fresh clean linen! A nice powerful shower and nice fresh clean towels! A nice quiet and comfy sleep!

The bar and restaurant was clean tidy with a couple of big open fires, I could imagine nice cosy place on a cold winters night! I had the 16oz steak in the evening (diet starts tomorrow) it was superb with plenty of chips and trimmings! All very well presented too! I opted for a bacon and sausage sandwich in the morning, delicious!

Kate and crew certainly know how to make your stay both comfy and pleasurable! Thankyou.

Finally, if your into live folk music, Tuesday night is the night!!

5*

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorkchopLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

i spent one night while visiting friends staying at centre parcs. the young man who checked me in was friendly and showed me to my lovely room. the decor was tasteful and reflected the character building. the bed was lovely, comfortable and clean. the free standing bath was amazing, equally so the shower. yes the water took a while to come through hot, but what would you expect in an old building. there are a few bench marks i have when staying in rooms, and this is the first that has come up to expectations. ie. the hand towels are never big enough for drying long hair....i got it here......a plug near or under the mirror for hair drying....i got it here.The landlord Roy was friendly and his breakfast topped the stay off. plenty of refills and toast. i actually got a REAL mushroom ( not tinned!!) and perfectly cooked eggs. i wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accomodation.a real little gem in a country location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews