We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay!”
Review of Somerset Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Arms
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My partner, little boy (3months old) and I had a wonderful stay here in January 2013, on our way up to family in Bristol. Cate, Roy and staff were very welcoming and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.
The Somerset Arms has a lovelly atmosphere, great great great food which is locally sourced which is wonderful. The rooms where exactly what we asked for - comfortable,clean and even a choice of big tub or shower, as well as a very comfortable baby cot for my little one. We had a wonderful stay and will be returing in the summer for this years Summerfest! Thank-you for a wonderful stay Somerset Arms. I look forward to our next visit.
Claire

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_catrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    36
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
92
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have just returned from a one nights stay in the Somerset arms situated in maiden Bradley. The small hotel (pub with rooms) was very easy to find (even in snow!) and very warm and welcoming. We were given room 1 which had a lovely free standing bath and was a perfect size equipped with tv/DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and bathroom with a hot, powerful shower. The lady (Cate) showed us straight to our room and was very efficient yet polite and un-intrusive. We ate downstairs which was very quiet (due to snow perhaps) but the fire was going to warm the room. The menu was full of tempting delights and deciding on what to order was quite a challenge. We both decided to go for creamy home made soup, served with delicious warm bread to start and duck breast with jus,with red cabbage and dauphinois potatoes served on the side. It was all cooked perfectly, nicely presented and VERY tasty. We were too full for a desserts but the options looked tasty including brownies and sticky toffee pudding. All dinner service by Cate was again very polite and easy going. We slept very well and the bedding/pillows were very comfy and clean. We awoke to a delicious, perfectly proportioned full English breakfast and toast, with a selection of cereals and jams on offer. The resident dog sat with us quietly enjoying the attention he was getting! We would definitely consider returning here if we decided to visit longleat safari park which is only a few miles away. Lovely place. Lovely food. Lovely hosts.

Room Tip: The rooms with the freestanding baths are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had Sunday lunch at the Somerset Arms after a walk in Stourhead National Trust on a cold but sunny day. The pub is friendly with plenty of locals stopping for a drink or lunch. The decor is unpretentious and but has the real feel of an old pub. The most important point is that the food was excellent. I had the devilled chicken livers and my partner had goats cheese for starters. Both were great and the chicken livers the best I have ever tasted. We both had roast dinners for mains and they were excellent,delicious, freshly made,plentiful, and hot. The food was served at a leisurely pace by attentive,friendly staff. We will definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 662George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We arrived on a Friday evening for the weekend. We were shown to our bedroom which was lovely and clean with a funky bath in the room which was different but i liked it! The room had an en-suite with a shower. Lovely comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities on hand plus tv and dvd player. The rooms have central heating which is adjustable! We had booked the Christmas menu for Friday night and and we were not disappointed. Roy is an amazing chef, the food is cooked to order and is so fresh. Breakfast was no disappointment either! We set off for Longleat which was a ten minute drive away, then into Frome which is a pretty town. On arrival back we ate off the menu and just as we thought the food couldn't get any better we were pleasantly surprised! I would highly recommend the fishcakes then the steak with scallops, absolutely outstanding food! A friendly pub with a relaxed atmosphere, we loved chilling in front of the open fires! Thank you for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at The Somerset Arms on the night of Saturday 17th November. Having spent the afternoon in the Spa at Centreparcs, we made our way to Maiden Bradley. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and were asked if we were going to be eating in the restaurant which we had already decided to do. The food was absolutely delicious, freshly cooked and nicely presented. The full English the next morning was absolutely divine - I haven't tasted bacon like that for years! Overall, a really lovely stay and a place that we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spuddy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

we stayed here in May and found everything to be fantastic the welcome was very friendly and professional the room was gorgeous beautiful bedding and huge shower we travelled with 3 children and they kindly placed 3 single beds in our room saving us having to pay for 2 rooms which most places insist on doing which splits up the family. we arrived on a night when they weren't doing dinner which was slightly disappointing because we heard sooo many good reviews about it but hey thats my fault and breakfast was certainly scumptious. would definitly recommend the somerset arms to anyone visiting the area. infact we are planning our next visit for March 2013 can't wait will make sure to check in on a night that dinner is being served. Happy Days

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillianb392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A first trip to the area and three nights at the Somerset Arms, ideally situated for Longleat and nearby National Trust properties.
The hosts are so very welcoming and helpful with excellent food to match, to compliment the superb full English, the dinner menu and standard of served food is delicious, which we enjoyed on two occasions.

We occupied room 2 which it must be said was very comfortable and bed/linen brilliant for a good nights sleep.However, the room could do with a little TLC decor wise and small things like a waste bin in the room not just the bathroom would be an easy adition to make it the perfect stay.These very small items were far outweighed by the above comments on the food and the genial hosts.

Room Tip: From other comments, the rooms with free standing baths may have an edge over Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MXX85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maiden Bradley
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
550 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
840 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#2 of 3 in Horningsham
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
311 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 24 in Warminster
145 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Arms

Property: Somerset Arms
Address: Church Street, Maiden Bradley BA12 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Maiden Bradley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maiden Bradley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Arms is a pub-with-rooms, ideally located four miles from Longleat and Stourhead and only 25 minutes from the World Heritage city of Bath. Offering a relaxed, informal setting serving exceptional food, traditional cask ales, fine wines and expertly-shaken cocktails, as well as luxurious newly refurbished rooms with every creature comfort. Beautiful design, great food, excellent service and a warm welcome await you at The Somerset Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Somerset Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Arms Hotel Maiden Bradley
Somerset Arms Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing