We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Somerset Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Our room was large and comfortable even with two children sleeping in the fold-out beds. The room had nice decor and the bathroom was well done with a huge shower! Owners friendly and extremely helpful, and breakfast was great. This is a perfect location for visiting Longleat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J3FFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

!We were regulars at this pub when the previous owners with the Great Dane were in it. We visited recently and found it had completely changed. Gone was the gastro pub and its wonderful food, the nice decor now looks tired and the food is very average - dont bother driving a long way to eat here

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BhenjI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Really convenient for all the local sights. Lovely rooms, recommend 1 or 3 which have a double ended bath in the room as well as a shower room. Breakfast was great and local products are used. The owner/chef cooked is a fabulous Sunday lunch and they had musicians on St Patricks Day. Would thoroughly recommend and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southofenglandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The owners and staff are lovely and welcoming with nothing being too much trouble. The food is fantastic and great value, there really is no need to leave the building. Perfect location for visiiting Longleat and the other attractions of Wiltshire & Somerset.Will definitely stay here again & can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lime01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My partner, little boy (3months old) and I had a wonderful stay here in January 2013, on our way up to family in Bristol. Cate, Roy and staff were very welcoming and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.
The Somerset Arms has a lovelly atmosphere, great great great food which is locally sourced which is wonderful. The rooms where exactly what we asked for - comfortable,clean and even a choice of big tub or shower, as well as a very comfortable baby cot for my little one. We had a wonderful stay and will be returing in the summer for this years Summerfest! Thank-you for a wonderful stay Somerset Arms. I look forward to our next visit.
Claire

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_catrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have just returned from a one nights stay in the Somerset arms situated in maiden Bradley. The small hotel (pub with rooms) was very easy to find (even in snow!) and very warm and welcoming. We were given room 1 which had a lovely free standing bath and was a perfect size equipped with tv/DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and bathroom with a hot, powerful shower. The lady (Cate) showed us straight to our room and was very efficient yet polite and un-intrusive. We ate downstairs which was very quiet (due to snow perhaps) but the fire was going to warm the room. The menu was full of tempting delights and deciding on what to order was quite a challenge. We both decided to go for creamy home made soup, served with delicious warm bread to start and duck breast with jus,with red cabbage and dauphinois potatoes served on the side. It was all cooked perfectly, nicely presented and VERY tasty. We were too full for a desserts but the options looked tasty including brownies and sticky toffee pudding. All dinner service by Cate was again very polite and easy going. We slept very well and the bedding/pillows were very comfy and clean. We awoke to a delicious, perfectly proportioned full English breakfast and toast, with a selection of cereals and jams on offer. The resident dog sat with us quietly enjoying the attention he was getting! We would definitely consider returning here if we decided to visit longleat safari park which is only a few miles away. Lovely place. Lovely food. Lovely hosts.

Room Tip: The rooms with the freestanding baths are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had Sunday lunch at the Somerset Arms after a walk in Stourhead National Trust on a cold but sunny day. The pub is friendly with plenty of locals stopping for a drink or lunch. The decor is unpretentious and but has the real feel of an old pub. The most important point is that the food was excellent. I had the devilled chicken livers and my partner had goats cheese for starters. Both were great and the chicken livers the best I have ever tasted. We both had roast dinners for mains and they were excellent,delicious, freshly made,plentiful, and hot. The food was served at a leisurely pace by attentive,friendly staff. We will definately go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 662George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maiden Bradley
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
606 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
872 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#2 of 3 in Horningsham
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
147 reviews
4.3 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
332 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#10 of 24 in Warminster
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Arms

Address: Church Street, Maiden Bradley BA12 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Maiden Bradley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maiden Bradley
Price Range: £62 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Arms is a pub-with-rooms, ideally located four miles from Longleat and Stourhead and only 25 minutes from the World Heritage city of Bath. Offering a relaxed, informal setting serving exceptional food, traditional cask ales, fine wines and expertly-shaken cocktails, as well as luxurious newly refurbished rooms with every creature comfort. Beautiful design, great food, excellent service and a warm welcome await you at The Somerset Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Somerset Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Arms Hotel Maiden Bradley
Somerset Arms Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing